We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quality of the apartment surprised us and really contributed to our stay”
Review of Greystone Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greystone Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The quality of the apartment surprised us and really contributed to our stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

What's really inportant to understand here is that each apartment is quite differently appointed as they are independently owned. Our apartment (223, 224) was a cracker! I have great respect for anyone that is willing to appoint their short term rental so nicely with everything from big fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries, a high end kitchen and superbly comfortable beds and bedding. My wife nearly whooped with joy when she realised the apartment also had its own washer and dryer.

We stayed at Greystone for a week. It was the quiet week in January - after the North American vacation break - and felt we almost had the whole thing to ourselves. The hot tubs proved a hit, as did the ski in ski out thing with the downstair ski lockers after we got ourselves worked out.

Biggest critism is the overall access to Whistler village. The trip to get groceries was a bit of a drag as the free shuttles, as good as they are, don't get you near enough the store without transferring to another shuttle. 4 shuttles in total to get to the grocery store is a pain the rear end. In the end we'd hop on the shuttle to get down to the shops then catch a cab with our groceries to get home. It was also faster to walk from the Whistler Village bus stop to Greystone Lodge than catch the bus as the Greystone stop was one of the last stops on its circle route. Faster still was catching the bus at Whistler and hopping off at the first stop (base of Blackcombe) and walking up the ski slope to the lodge. Once we knew the best way to get to and from Whistler Village our location mattered much less to us. The upside to our location was that it was nice and quiet.

Views from the apartment were nearly 270 degrees of Winter Wonderland. I don't think we could have asked for anything better.

I just hope that me raving about Greystone and naming the specific apartment number doesn't create such demand that we find it hard to book it again! We will definitely be back but next time for much longer.

Tip: we paid for private transport to get from Vancouver airport to Whister and back. It was really expensive (about $400 including tips) each way. I think you would be far better off renting a car from Vancouver airport - Greystone has parking. It would be cheaper than $800 and it would mean that you wouldnt have the issues we had with getting groceries etc back to the apartment.

Hope this helps folks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Greystone Lodge and the unit that you stayed in. We are happy that you enjoyed the amenities such as the ski lockers, pool and hot tubs, and took notice of the free underground parking you'll most likely use on your next visit.

With regards to the free shuttles, I personally took the shuttle from Greystone to the Village yesterday. Although not timed going from Greystone to the Village, I imagine it was less than 5 minutes to getting dropped off at the Village Turn around. From the Village turn around to the Greystone Lodge I timed it. It took exactly 8 minutes! That said, I can imagine that it may take longer with more people in the resort. To be fair there was a 10-15 minute wait at the turn around as I just missed the Shuttle. Taking all of this into account and the fact it was free, I think it is a great convenience to guests of Greystone Lodge. If you are in a rush to get to the village there are taxis as you have mentioned.

See you next time -All the best,

Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals - Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
stay@greystone-lodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    34
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
70
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Blackcomb Lodge 1 week and I am very satisfied. The lodge is very clean and cozy. There is a outdoor pool and hot tub as well as an indoor hot tub. It is a ski-in Ski-out place. The ski lockers are a little old but that didn't ruin my stay. There was a fire place in our unit as well as a large TV and a 2 smaller ones. There is also a very well equipped kitchen. A great place for kids because it's easy for them to get down to ski school!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frog_in_swizterland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your week at Greystone Lodge and look forward to your return visit in the future. All the best -Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd. - Proudly Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
stay@greystone-lodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Greystone Lodge for three nights in early January in a two bedroom unit. It was big enough to accommodate six people comfortably. The room was very nice with all the modern conveniences. The lodge was a five minute walk to the village and we were able to ski right from our door. It was the perfect location and a very pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Greystone Lodge and look forward to your return visit! All the best -Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd. Proudly Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
stay@greystone-lodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked Greystone on the recommendation of friends and have been very pleased with the experience we had. Ski-in and ski-out, free WIFI, free covered parking were just a couple of features we appreciated. The condo itself was very well equipped and clean though a bit dated. We will rent again ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge. Free covered parking is something that is hard to find in Whistler. We look forward to your return visit! All the best -Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd. - Proudly Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
stay@greystone-lodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were looking for a last minute rental over the 2011 US Thanksgiving weekend and ended up staying in unit 207 at Greystone. This year (2012) we came to Whistler for the same weekend again, and chose to stay at the exact same place.
After reading the negative review below I find it necessary to say that before choosing to stay at a place like Greystone one needs to understand the difference between a condo hotel, which Greystone is, and a full service hotel, like Hilton or Four Seasons, which Greystone is not. You do not get a full service desk, daily room service, a restaurant, a souvenir shop or a pool with sauna here (although there is a hot tub), what you do get instead is spacious condo style accommodations (size might vary) with everything you need for a comfortable stay at a very reasonable price, with helpful service when you need it (we didn't end up needing anything either time as the unit had everything we needed). In short, staying in a condo hotel is more like renting a fully furnished hotel style appointed apartment for a few days. We had a two-bedroom/two bathroom unit in a great condition at half the cost of what our friends staying at the Four Seasons next door (a 5 minute walk) were paying for their room about 1/3 the size of what we had.
Since each unit in a condo hotel is individually own and decorated (Acer Vacations only provides general reservation and maintenance service at Greystone), and may differ in size, layout and furnishings, you should always check the actual pictures, layout and description of the unit you are reserving, as this is exactly what you will be getting here compared to _an_ available room/suite of _the_ type you reserved you’d be staying in at a regular hotel. Our unit looked spacious, spotless and well appointed on the pictures, and that’s exactly what it was in real life.
There is nothing wrong with Greystone’s location either. Yes, it is in the so called Upper Village, which is just a quieter part of Whistler a bit away (about 15-20 minutes on foot, or a few minutes by frequently running public shuttle, or by car, if you are so inclined) from all the hustle and bustle of Main Village where all the shops and restaurants and whatever night life Whistler provides are (and where you should be staying if you want a watering hole within 1 minute crawl from your door), yet it is still only a couple of minutes away from the nearest lift.
In short, we had a great stay at Greystone both times we've been there, and will likely stay here again when we come to Whistler – our type likes certainty in life. Don’t know what else I could add to this.

Room Tip: make sure to carefully check unit description before you rent as they are all (by definition) differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vadim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Greystone Lodge and for taking the time to explain to possible guests what to expect when staying here. We look forward to your return. All the best -Clint Goyette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I made the big mistake of booking for a Greystone Lodge online, which was based on misleading information. The overall description was that of wireless and other amenities. They did not clearly indicate the type of room choices, so you just get allocated whatever.
Our whatever was room 314 (refer the other one star rating on this site).
We could not request an alternatively once we arrived and realized we had been had. We could also not cancel, so we were stuck with this.
Firstly, we had to wait for half an hour for someone at reception to arrive.
The room was a huge shock and I was deeply angry at how I was ripped off by this Lodge.
I don't care that the owner is a Scrooge. The other owners should take them to task for such behavior as the ratings affect all of them.
Picture a cheap and nasty hotel room. Add to this two single beds pulled together with two single duvets sort of put on it. Three pillows. Gaze upon the fact there is no fridge. So forget about using the two wine glasses they provided. Two packets of coffee for the entire stay. No wireless. A geyser so small only one person can enjoy a hot shower. Then there is no cleaning service whatsoever. Heaven knows why they have some cutlery as there is no dishwashing soap nor is there anywhere to wash dishes except inside the bathroom.
Now imagine walking around in the lodge in the hope of finding some comfortable escape from this room where you share the balcony with another room that looks directly at your beds so you cannot enjoy the views due to lack of privacy.
No decent lounge, no friendly lights on. No library. No sauna. No definitely a very long walk from the Village so even the location does not redeem this.
I always try and write about something positive about properties, but the lack of interest from this owner does not warrant such effort from me.

Room Tip: Do not choose this room or this Lodge unless you can confirm exactly the room you get and have an op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nomad1966A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is unfortunate that your stay what not what you had expected from the property or property manager you used to book Greystone Lodge. Although we do not manage the unit that you stayed in I would like to make something clear for future guests of Greystone Lodge:

Any guest looking to book a unit at Greystone Lodge should understand the following:

1. Greystone Lodge is NOT a full service hotel.

2. Units are individually owned, renovated and decorated as per the Owners preferences. Bed configurations are different from unit to unit. Get a full description of the unit you are renting and photos specific to the unit.

3. The level of housekeeping service is entirely up to the private owner or rental manager you have booked through. Ask them to provide exactly what you should expect during your stay.

4. The Front Desk is not operated 24hrs as a regular hotel. (See Front Desk Hours below)

5. Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd. is the largest property manager in Greystone Lodge and they operate the front desk. If the unit you have rented is not under the management of Acer Vacation Rentals Ltd. then their ability to deal with issues regarding housekeeping and other unit related issues are very limited. You need to have the contact information for the company/owner you rented through at all times!

6. Be sure to know who the Property Manager or Owner is that you have rented through whether you have booked directly with them or through a third party. This is very important. Ask them where they are located and what their check-in procedure. Check-in procedures vary from company to company and owner to owner. Be sure to know how to contact them in the event of an issue with the unit you have rented.

7. We do not list our units on Craigslist!

8. Ask for photos of the unit that you rented! That way you will know if there is a kitchen or not.

With regards to the Front Desk hours: During the off season and summer months the front desk is staffed on weekends only. This allows the rates for Greystone Lodge to stay affordable while providing Front Desk services during high-traffic periods as well as check-in and check-out times. Summer Front Desk hours are Friday 3:30pm-6pm, Saturday 9am-11am and 3pm-6pm, and Sunday 9am-11am. Winter hours are from 8:30am-11am and 3:30pm-6pm 7 days a week.

Your experience is not what we wish for any guest of Greystone Lodge or Whistler. We hope that our response helps future guests to understand the type of lodging and services we offer and how to make the best of their stay in Whistler.

Best regards,

Clint Goyette
Acer Vacation Rentals - Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
stay@greystone-lodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We rented suite 214 from web-site www.at-blackcomb.com and were thrilled with every aspect of this condo unit.This building is perfect for people who have small children or want a quiet non party atmosphere.We had the patio door wide open all night and all I could hear was the wind rustling the leaves on a tree,.No screaming drunks ,fowl language or loud music like in the village.The condo is extremly well equiped and clean.We loved the books, decor and the salt water pool.I would never stay in the village again after being spoiled in this condo.The owner is extremly organized and pays attention to detail.This unit is a 1 bedroom with a lovely deck overlooking the pool,hot tub and bbque area.We are a family of 4 with two teenage girls and the living space had ample seating and room.My daughter was impressed with how comfortable the lazy boy queen size pull out couch was.All the beds were comfortable with ample pillows and different weights of blankets.The pictures on the web-site do not do this unit the justice it deserves.There is even a picnic table by the bbque which we utilized every day.Thank-You Sheila it felt like a home .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raeann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVRWhistler, Manager at Greystone Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Greystone Lodge and unit 214. We look forward to your return visit! All the best. Clint Goyette - Acer Vacation Rentals - Proudly Managing the Greystone Lodge Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.6 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Lodge

Property: Greystone Lodge
Address: 4905 Spearhead Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greystone Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greystone Lodge provides some of the finest affordable family oriented ski-in ski-out accommodations Whistler Canada. Greystone Lodge is located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain next to the Wizard Express and Magic Chair lifts. A boutique style condo complex with only 50 units makes Greystone Lodge one of the smaller vacation rental locations in the Benchlands neighbourhood in Whistler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Greystone Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystone Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing