We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tips if you stay here...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountainside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountainside Lodge
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tips if you stay here...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We are Shell owners and have stayed here twice. The first time in a 1 bedroom, this time in a loft suite. Here are some (hopefully) helpful tips if you book here during the summer:

1. If the sound of kids screaming, having fun, for long periods of time annoys you, ask for a room on the side of the mountainside pool. If you room overlooks the Executive hotels pool, you will hear kids in the pool all day and all night. They don't enforce the curfew.

2. Beware of the very thin walls. You can hear everything happening around you, especially in a loft.

3. If possible, book the 1 bedroom, even if there's just 2 of you. So much nicer.

4. The bedding here is like paper mache, everytime you move, you wake up. Or, just drink lots of wine before going to bed and it won't matter :-)

5. If you have a loft, bring a sleep mask. There is a skylight in the bedroom loft and it never gets really dark because of street lights. And when it starts getting light outside, the entire unit lights up. But, beware, when you try and put your sleep mask on I'm the am, the paper mache sheets will wake you up.

6. If given room 311, ask to move pronto! The window has some sort of problem and creaks ALL THE TIME. It can't be fixed, it will just drive you nuts. Also, the ceiling fan in bedroom makes more noise than a train. Earplugs may work.

Now the good.....LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. Steller location. Staff is amazing and the full kitchens rock. Fireplace, jacuzzi tub, sauna, flat screen TVs. Parking. Restaurant.

Enjoy!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    153
    56
    17
    20
See reviews for
88
137
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to travel to Whistler. My friend and I stayed there during crankworx in August of 2013. Was everything I expected. This is the second time I have stayed for that reason alone. Full kitchen is great if you wanna have a cozy breakfast inside. When i say full kitchen i mean full. There was everything we needed (besides food) to make ribs we bought on our way in. Nothing like good homemade food when your travelling! Parking was great, value is great, and staff is great. I thought checkout time was 1:00, since that is when parking expires. When I woke up at 10:50 and realized it was at 11:00, I ran down to the lobby and told the attendant, who was more than happy to tell me to take my time, which allowed us to throw something together for breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the second time that we stayed here and we can truly recommend the Mountainside Lodge. We had a Loft Suite which had all the amenities needed. It can easily sleep six people and the two bathrooms are a blessing.

The kitchenette is well equipped and preparing meals are easy.

The Lodge is situated in the heart of the village and within walking distance of most of the attractions in Whistler. We never used our car during our stay.

Whistler is awesome in summer as well as in winter. We hope our next stay will be in winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time stay at this hotel. We stayed right across the street from this place last year at the Pan Pacific, and this was every bit as nice. The room was on the 4th floor with very nice view of the pool area as well as the mountainside... the room was two floors (Loft Suite) with a Sofa bed and Trundel on the bottom floor with full bath (with jet tub! which is perfect for me as I need a bath every morning for back pain) and kitchen, and a full queen bed and sauna w/ full bathroom in the loft and the Pan was only a queen Murphy bed and one bath, with the room located on the 2nd floor with no view (other than the flags flown out front and the tar and gravel roof) but both were the same price. We will likely return in the future sometime, and staying here again is a no brainer!

I'm not knocking the Pan, it was awesome as well, just this one was SO much larger, and had a jet tub and sauna, as well as being able to sleep more people.

My only negative comment (and I had to struggle to come up with something) would be the sofa bed mattress. It sagged to the middle and was a little too thin... but that's typical of a sofa bed, and no one should expect more out of one of these... however, it was still better than my home mattress (which really sux!) Other than that, it was awesome!

The staff were all friendly and very helpful ! (can only remember one name: Kayla, she was great ... sorry for not remembering the others)

Pool was nice and warm which was great, cuz it was windy and rainy almost the whole time we were there.

As with other comments I'd read before booking, make sure you know which hotel you're booking with... when we arrived there was someone who was complaining that they thought they booked the mountainside but actually they booked the Executive. I knew this going into booking, and made sure which place I was booking into...

Didn't eat at the hotel, although I'd heard prior it was excellent.

GE

Room Tip: We stayed in room 412 Loft Suite .... but I think any room overlooking the pool would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the Mountainside Lodge through Expedia.ca for a Saturday night in July. I made a mistake in our booked arrival date and showed up one night early. The hotel was full, but we were able to stay at another hotel in the village for the night and asked for a refund or partial refund since we had to travel the next day (Saturday). We provided a day's notice regarding the change and the hotel, and the village were quite busy. Checking the next day the hotel was full but a refund had been denied with the manager citing their policy of more than 3 days notice necessary. I take from this that they choose to rent the room out receiving, I think unfairly, the extra rent or were not inclined to offer to sell the room and refund any difference in costs.

I am disappointed since we had had in the past many winter and summer family vacation nights spent at this hotel. The other hotels in the village that night and during our trip were quite accommodating. I would be reluctant to book again with the policy they currently have. This was the only disappointment during our great vacation to BC, visiting many of the places we used to hike, ski and travel during our years of living and visiting the west with our children.

Room Tip: My tip would be to ensure if the cancellation policy is needed a schedule change can easily happen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeanneJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Mountainside Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Mike and Anne,

We are so sorry to hear about the refund issue you encountered. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will do our best to prevent any similar experiences in the future. Thank you for taking the time to provide this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night and really enjoyed it.

The location of this hotel is excellent. You are literally 50 metres from the main walkway right through the Lower Village of Whistler which has tonnes of restaurants, stores, pubs, night-clubs and many excursion companies. The Upper Village is a short walk away so if you are debating between staying at one or the other, it likely doesn't matter as you can access both easily. Choosing where to stay in town will depend on your intended activities though. (The chair lifts are a short walk away too.)

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as we wanted to go out for dinner and see the town. The menu looked good and a tad on the expensive side.

The room was great. We stayed in 310. This has a pool view and had a bit more than a "peek-a-boo" view of the slopes. The wall-bed was comfortable. The kitchen is all you need if you want to stay in for your meals and/or have some extra drinks/snacks on hand. It contains all the dishes, cutlery, etc that you will need as well as stove and microwave. Everything was clean and in good shape. If you are considering a longer stay, this would be a good place to do it.

The service was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't consider room service so cannot comment on that.

Other:
-Parking is provided by a "third party" and costs $18/night underground. We were told that we have to vacate the underground parking lot by 1pm or we may get a ticket which the hotel has no control over. There is parking in large outdoor lots too. Lot 4 and 5 which is a fairly short distance away is free and if you drop your bags off first will not be a huge trek. Do not expect these lots to be available as they can get full easily. Lots 1-3 are pay parking and closer to the hotel.
-Lockers are provided in the hotel for sporting gear
-Check-out is 11AM but we easily had it changed to 12PM. We asked for later but they had already "reached thier daily quota for later check-outs". This mean that if you want a later check-out you should likely ask for one as soon as you book the room or arrive for check-in.

WE ENJOY HELPING FELLOW TRAVELLERS. IF YOU FIND THIS REVIEW HELPFUL, PLEASE GIVE US A HELPFUL VOTE.

ps- I have been to 10 different mountain resort villages in Western North America in both summer and winter and I enjoy Whistler the most, for both seasons.

Cheers,
Spencer and Holli

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SpenceAndHolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I consistently come back to Mountainside. The staff are all wonderful, and they even remember us from 2 years back. We would recommend staying in the loft suite, it has your own personal sauna! Where else can you find that in Whistler? Perfect location near everything. Pool area is so relaxing. Pillows are fluffy. Rooms are always clean. Mountainside has never disappointed us.

Room Tip: Choose a loft suite! Best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
0.0 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn At Whistler Village
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge

Property: Mountainside Lodge
Address: 4417 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountainside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing