We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location, Nice Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountainside Lodge
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Mountainside Lodge has a great location - a stones throw away from both the Blackcomb and Whistler gondolas.

The hotel itself is nice and simple. If you're looking for a nice hotel, good value, and a location that is close to the lifts the Mountainside Lodge should work for you.However, don't expect 5 star service... I found the staff to be friendly, but not very helpful.

Again, if you just need a place to sleep and are planning on spending most of your time on the slopes and in the village the Mountainside Lodge is a great option.

Tip: the best italian restaurant is located at the base of this hotel and is awesome. Book a reservation it books up very fast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    141
    52
    16
    19
See reviews for
81
129
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a great experience at the Mountainside Lodge for the Whistler Film Festival.
The kitchen was sufficiently supplied with the basics, the room space was great and the double headed steam equipped shower was an unexpected bonus. The bed and bedding as good or better as many more expensive hotel rooms. The staff was responsive, helpful and cheerful. Very affordable shoulder season experience! I’ll do it again

Room Tip: Steam Shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed up at Mountainside Lodge Whistler by accident. Executive Inn sent us over there to use their internet to book online because the rate was cheaper! Big mistake. I guess the two are affiliated some way. Anyway... we got an incredible room for a great price. The steam room suite was clean, comfortable and located close to all amenities. We loved chatting with Marilyn the lady at the front desk. She was polite, courteous and made us feel very comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeandJuaneta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as a romantic getaway without the kiddos. Got a great off-season deal, and really felt we got a fantastic room for the money. The full kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and utensils, it was so nice to have a normal size fridge, a stove, and a dishwasher! We even used the oven to bake cinnamon rolls. It was great to have the table in the dining area too. Our studio had a murphy bed, and since the other reviews on it were good, I wasn't too nervous. Turns out it was the best hotel bed I have slept on in a long time. Fireplace was awesome, woke up to light snow in the morning. The only downside is it was really loud noise from the street. Sounded like the windows were open even though they weren't. Not the best for sleeping in. Maybe this could be remedied by requesting a room away from the street side? We will be coming back someday, and as long as we can get a room away from the street, we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is actually a time share where the owners rent the studios on occasion. A fully equipped kitchen, a dining area and a living room with a fireplace. The murphy bed seemed a little odd but was very comfortable and very easy to handle, much better than most fold-out couches. You can picture it in ski season with four skiers and lots of boots. The location is great at one end of the village within walking distance of most things. There's a parking garage and a sauna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here one night for a chance just to see Whistler. My room was on the first floor with a murphy bed and that really set off alarm bells for me initially, but being on the first floor was not a problem at all and the murphy bed was fun! The studio room I was in had a kitchen area against the wall, eating area for at least four people (not sure why 4 people would be eating in a studio hotel room) and then there was a step down to a living room with a couch and a murphy bed that came down from the wall - very cool! (You remove the pillows from the couch and the murphy bed folds down on top of the couch) The bed was as comfortable as your "normal" bed. The living room also had a fireplace. The room was clean and the free Wifi worked great. One negative is the parking charge of $18. Although most hotels in Whistler Village area charge for parking, the price seemed steep considering it was the off-season and there were about 10 cars in the parking garage. This is not downtown Vancouver! Another negative is the lobby and front desk area is really small, so every time you leave the hotel you pass by the front desk, directly by it. I'm the type where after I check-in, I do not want to see or have to say hi to the front desk!

The location of the hotel is outstanding. It is very close to the Whistler Village and appeared to be close to the ski lifts (was not there during the ski season). In the Village area there are a lot of restaurants to choose from and a grocery store which was handy to get groceries and put them in the fridge in the room. In all a good stay and would recommend it, as long as you are prepared to pay for parking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Easy to find driving in from Vancouver. Check in was painless, reception staff friendly & helpful.
Pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, full kitchen & good size bathroom. Pull down wall bed was comfortable. Everything you'd need was in the room. Would be happy and comfortable in this hotel for more than a night.
Parking was expensive in underground car park, but although checkout was 11am we were allowed to stay in the car park which enabled us to look around Whistler before moving on.
Plenty of restaurants, bars & shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobharris01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#5 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#9 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 2,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Executive Inn At Whistler Village
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#14 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge

Property: Mountainside Lodge
Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Mountainside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing