We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location -- Would Definitely Stay There Again”
Review of Mountainside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountainside Lodge
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I received a gift of a week-long timeshare stay at the Mountainside Lodge in July. It was our first visit to Whistler. Our friends had been to Whistler, but always in the winter with snow. So, we were not really sure what to expect in the summer. Our introduction to the Lodge was wonderful. As soon as the van dropped us off in front of the Lodge, two of the staff members helped us carry our luggage up the stairs to the lobby. We later discovered there was an elevator in the parking garage, but we were impressed with how helpful and attentive they were. We were checked in without any trouble, and the friendly lady at the front desk even showed us a coupon at the back of the weekly newspaper that would give us a discount on groceries from the IGA Supermarket. It was a smooth check-in. We had a one-bedroom place on the corner. We overlooked the pool. To the left, we had a view of the beautiful mountain and to the right, we could watch the bicyclists going down the hill. There was a full-kitchen, including a dishwasher. We had two televisions and a DVD player. We went to the Whistler Public Library and borrowed DVDs from their collection to watch in the room. The location of the Mountainside Lodge is terrific. It's steps away from places to eat, the Whistler Cinema, and so close to the gondola that'll take you to the "Peak to Peak." And, it's also close to the Upper Village. I liked that it was far enough away from the slightly more crowded (but never packed) Lower Village, but so close and convenient that you could walk just a few minutes and be right there, amidst the shops and restaurants. They also had free wi-fi, a great plus. And, the breakfast nook in the kitchen was very useful. We also had a room with a hot tub, so that was nice. The room was cleaned well, and, in fact, when we checked in, they asked us what time we preferred our room to be cleaned every day. We were staying as timeshare guests, but we were never ever pressured or even approached to attend a sales talk. We had a fantastic time in Whistler and enjoyed the beauty of the area. Summer turned out to be a great time to visit, and we're looking forward to our next stay. I'd definitely recommend the Mountainside Lodge. We strolled through other hotels while in Whistler, and some of them were quite nice, but, price wise and location wise, I think the Mountainside Lodge is an excellent deal and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloha056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 361 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

I booked a loft suite for my wife and daughter. The room is very clean with enough space for three or even four people and the suite even had two complete baths. Aside from the A/C there were two fans just in case it gets hot upstairs especially during the summer months. The loft upstairs even had a sauna. There is a functional kitchen, a sofa bed in the living room with a fireplace. The location is right in the village with lots of good restaurants and once you parked your car in their underground parking (for a fee ), I found no need to use the car as everything was just within walking distance. There is a pool and a hot tub on site as well as an Italian restaurant although a bit on the pricey side. If ever I go back to Whistler, I would not hesitate to book a loft suite again at this hotel, even if only there's two people.

Room Tip: The loft suites are on the 5th floor so the noise from the street was not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavite57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel was brilliantly centred in the middle of Whistler near the gondola and amenities. This comes at a price however because the Saturday night was incredibly loud due to the revellers. I didn't get to sleep until 2am because of the shouting. The room was very hot as well (I was on floor 5) and the air con (though very effective) was too loud to keep on all night. There was only one elevator for the hotel which was a bit annoying, though there weren't many stairs to climb thankfully. Bring ear plugs and that will solve most of these nuances.

The male desk clerk was super helpful and even printed us off a $5 gondola voucher. The room was great with a sauna and jacuzzi to relax in. There was a great kitchen to use as well.

Room Tip: Bring your Ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcdlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for 7 days in a loft. 2 adults upstairs in the loft bed (gets hot during the summer but they give you a fan which helps) and 1 kid on the pullout couch. Newer furniture was nice. Location, free WiFi, heated pool and spa were key. You could not find a nicer staff from the front desk to housekeeping. Shower temps were hot and cold without any warning. Overall its a solid place to stay especially with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This was our 7th trip to Whistler, and we've stayed somewhere different each time because we haven't found a perfect option.

This was probably the best so far, and the one we'd most likely return to.

We had a loft unit for 2 people. For a 10 day stay, it was a bit cramped for us, with no storage for bike gear and clothing. We had one closet filled with our bags, and my husband used the lower bathroom for hanging bike armor. Clothes were mostly on the floor in the loft, as there's no dresser up there (probably for safety reasons).

Shelves and drawers (on the lower level) were mostly filled with extra blankets for the extra 4 people who could sleep here. If you actually had 6 people staying in this room, you'd want to choose people you really like, or make it a short trip. :-)

As for noise, we didn't hear anything at all if we closed the windows and turned on the AC. Otherwise, it's as noisy as anywhere in Whistler. Seriously, even a 10 minute walk from the village you will still be woken up at 2am by drunk partiers screaming in the streets, or big delivery trucks at 8am. It's Whistler.

We were frustrated with housekeeping for the first few days. It seemed they wouldn't clean the room unless they found you at home so they could ask you if you wanted it cleaned. We'd be gone for hours, come home to warm up and dry out (weather was bad this trip), and as soon as we came back, they'd be walking in to clean the room (after the quietest possible knock, why do hotels do that?). Or they'd come around at 8am looking to clean (again with a faint "tap, tap, tap", why bother knocking at all if you're going to be so quiet as to not disturb the occupants? This seems to be a universal hotel behaviour, not isolated to the MSL). We started putting the DND tag up when we were in the room, and taking it off when we were out so they'd know when to clean, and we had no more problems after that.

If they took out the sauna and replaced it with in room laundry, and somehow added a couple of dressers, I think this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We got a secret suite deal through the whistler.com website, basically you find out about the hotel's amenities and its location but they don't give you the name...you just have to risk it! We only paid $79 for our room which included two queen size beds, fireplace, fully equipped kitchen and jacuzzi bath. The room
was large enough for a family.

The hotel includes outdoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Both pool and hot tub were really clean and not too crowded. Hotel staff were friendly and you're in a great location here, lots of bars/pubs/restaurants and gondola 2 minute walk. For the price we paid we have to give 5*.

However, if you are paying their normal price for a room $150+ in the summer and I hate to think of the prices in the winter, you will be disappointed with the price you paid. Being in a busy location it was really noisy and I'm definitely not a light sleeper! Shower in bathroom went from boiling hot to freezing cold. Also you have to pay $16 a day for their parking!! But as I said we found a bargain, see if you can too!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_T149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked our room online and were happy with what we paid. The room was clean and having the full kitchen was a great feature as we were able to choose what meals we wanted to eat out and what we wanted to make at the hotel. We arrived early as we were going ziplining that day, and the hotel was very accomodating and the girl at the front counter was friendly and helpful.

We didn't feel comfortable using the jetted tub in the room as it was discoloured and, although it seemed well-cleaned, we just couldn't bring ourselves to try it. There was some mildew in the silicone around the shower tiles, so not perfect, but still usuable.

We enjoyed the pool and the hottub, both outdoors, but didn't try the sauna. There were plastic glasses in the room so we brought our drinks down from the room without breaking the no glass rule.

I would stay here again BUT I would definitely bring ear plugs as it is very, very loud. The work trucks come early and seem to stay around all morning with their noise and back up horns. If people walk by either in the hall or on the street you can hear every word they are saying (we were on the third floor - maybe it's better if you are higher up???).

Room Tip: try for a room higher than the third floor to cut down on the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Blackcomb Lodge
Blackcomb Lodge
#21 of 49 in Whistler
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge

Address: 4417 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range: $190 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountainside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing