We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Nita Lake Lodge(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Legends(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$178
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crystal Lodge Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$165
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$184
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adara Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveler rating
678
214
54
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
214
54
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rooftop hot tubmountain viewfull kitchenwhistler villagesushi villageheated bathroom floorstwo bedroom suiteperfect locationtop flooraveda productsliving areabike parkwell equipped kitchenfabulous hotelfront desk staffgreat roomoff season
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 966 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Returned to the Sundial because I was so impressed by the room lay out. We enjoyed a bedroom, kitchen and living room with views of the Whistler gondola and mountains. Really comfortable bed and heated rock floor in the bath makes your bare feet feel good. Decor and furnishing are cosy, neat and new looking. Really nice staff.

We booked the day before when we decided to add a few more days to our Vancouver vacation. That meant that the only rooms open were facing the noisy side of the hotel. This meant cool views of everything going on right in the center of the activity. My wife said she felt like we were in the middle of a bee hive.

One night was kind of loud with music playing and party goers in the restaurant and bars below us. But, the second night we heard almost nothing.

Next time we will be sure to book a room on the quiet side and forgot the views.

Whistler is like being in one big party. We like it a bit more quiet. The last time we dined at the Westin and enjoyed the break from the bustle of places crowded with people.

Wish we had brought swimsuits for the jacuzzi and -- we learned -- the pool available at the hotel next door.

The best thing is the great summer price we got. They also give a break for returning guests. Really -- the room likes like a $400 a night place.

You can park for free across the street, but I paid the $20 a night for the convenience of having our car near by.

If you want to be in the center of everything Whistler, set your sights with the Sundial.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garjog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family stayed at the sundial for two nights end of July. We had suite 802, a two bedroom with kitchen. I have two teenagers and we never felt in each others way. We arrived hours before the 4pm checkin and were told that our room was available which was such a nice welcome. When we all walked into the room my kids gasped with delight at their first site. Modern decor including slate tile flooring, black appliances including DW, Fridge, microwave, bar height table with four chairs, fully stocked cupboards and appliances. The open living room could easily accommodate us four in two armed chairs and the sofa sleeper as well as more guests if we chose to entertain. Also provided were gas f/p and flat screen. The views of the mountain from the two living room windows were beautiful and we also had a village view from the master bedroom.
The beds were very comfortable - the pillows were fluffy wonderful. The kids fought over who would get the queen bedroom but decided to take turns. Come to find out one child actually preferred the sofa sleeper in the end!
The queen bedroom is a bit of a closet. One side is pushed up against a wall and the other side accommodates a dresser, luggage rack and tower fan. Not a lot of floor space. No windows either. If a couple shared this room one would have to climb over the other to exit the bed.
The king bedroom was huge! A large double window with a beautiful view, dresser, chair and seperate entry to the bathroom.
The bathtub was so long! One of the largest I've seen for a hotel. I was very tempted to try the tub but chose the hotub on the roof. Both times we visited the hotub it was empty. It was like a secluded oasis. A new wood fence wrapped around the large spa area for both privacy and ambiance, the flooring was nicely done so you weren't walking on tar paper or roofing material. Planters with flowers everywhere. Outdoor shower. But the view was spectacular especially at night. One could watch the mountain bikers on their decent at the base of whistler during the day.
The service was wonderful. From the clerks that greeted us upon arrival and allowing us an early checkin, to the maid that did my sink dishes (kind of embarrassing since I had a DW) and the other personnel that always warmly greeted us and were eager to answer questions. I especially liked feeling alone on the 8th floor and the non-intrusiveness of the employees. They were always available if needed and eager to assist yet appreciating our privacy. One night we decided to run up for a hotub which closed in 15minutes (11pm) and we decided to push our luck and ended up getting a full hour in before we took our wrinkled selves to the room! It's nice to not have uptight staff!
So only a couple of mentions: you must keep your room key with you or you run the chance of being locked in the stairwell where no one can here you knocking! This happened twice to us - thank goodness for cell phones!
Another issue was only one AC unit for the whole suite! We had the AC cranked the whole time. It is located by the sofa sleeper aka living room. Perhaps supplying one more fan for the master besides the one in the queen bedroom would be a simple solution.
And a word of warning: garbage pickup is Monday morning :(. Regardless of being as high as the 8th floor you cannot escape the sounds of the truck doing its business. When we stYed at the Executive two years prior we had the same early morning wakeup. It seems that street noise that loud bounces off the walls! Remember your earplugs & make sure your windows are closed.
The location in the village was excellent. I would definately, with no hesitation stay there again! I love Whistler in the summer!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank MAMARIGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fantastic two bedroom suite with kitchenette and balcony. Room for the whole family. Right in the village so walking distance to everything. Polished professional staff. Only down side, onsite parking not high enough to accomodate a truck with canopy and roof racks, so quite a walk to non-secured parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excllent appartment like hotel, that has access to restaurants, but does not cater directly itself. The view from our rooms was fantastic, directly on the reputed Whistler bike park. The latter has a reputation but technically speaking is not leading anymore given some of the bike parks in France and Switzerland. The personnel is very friendly and helpful, though one wonders about being in Australia, as the "Down under" dialect is quite preponderant. The rooms were kept very tidy and clean. Definitely will return to stay at the Sundial in the heart of Whistler for some skiing.
The only downside are the rather loud, predominantly boozed people wandering across the street during night. Noisy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Sundial Boutique Hotel in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. We were very pleased with the suite overall although a few touches could drastically improve the experience.

The kitchen is very well stocked with all the things you can think of to cook meals in the suite, from all the basic utensils and equipment, down to the salt, pepper, a variety of tea bags and great coffee! However, in the second room with twin beds, air conditioning was not connected and so we had to open the windows to get some fresh air. This would have been OK except that our suite was facing the village and the noise of late night partiers prevented us from sleeping until the wee hours, although the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Another negative was the very dim light with no light in the closets, making it very difficult to reach inside for clothes when it is dark.

The suite inside was clean but I noticed a bottle of water filled with cigarette butts on the balcony in the corner behind the door. Not a pleasant sight, for sure. I do not expect housekeeping to clean the balcony and make it spotless but this is something that should be removed for sure.

The location though is great, being close to the village and all its action and the Upper Village. It is also across the Carleton Lodge where you can book many tours so very convenient.

I would definitely go back to the hotel despite these little inconveniences as it is great value for what you pay for. I would make sure this time to bring ear plugs if it is summer time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews