We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sundial or Pan Pacific?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundial Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Sundial or Pan Pacific?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Whistler magic…
If you are tossing up which of Whistler’s three areas to stay in, my vote is for the Village as it gives you the very best of the Whistler experience. The village stroll is based on a European Alpine streetscape and is full of fabulous shops, bars and restaurants. The downside is there is a lot of fun to be had in this part of town so if you need to be in bed early for whatever reason, then opt for the quieter, high end, Upper Village. I wouldn’t bother considering Creekside unless you want to be completely removed from all of Whistler’s most alluring scenery and action.
If you do choose the village then for me there are only two options (because of noise considerations) and I’ve just stayed at both; The Sundial and the Pan Pacific Mountainside. Both are at the bottom of the gondolas and both have amazing views. The Pan Pacific is larger and has more amenities such as the shuttle which drops you where you want to go, allowing you to explore the outer reaches of Whistler. The Sundial has larger rooms but they are not as modern as The Pan Pacific and the décor could definitely do with a chic makeover. The Sundial has rooms with private hot tubs where the Pan Pacific has one pool/hot tub area only where lots of younger revellers tend to hang out which could be a bit intimidating for families.
In summary if you want great value and good times then head for the Pan Pacific but if you want a smaller more family orientated place choose the Sundial where the staff really take customer service seriously. Either way, request a high floor to combat the noise and be captivated by that magical Whistler scenery.

Room Tip: Like everywhere in Whistler, noise can be an issue. Ask for a high floor and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moo628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    166
    40
    7
    5
See reviews for
247
292
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I spent several days at this hotel over spring break. The hotel was very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again with one major change... I would not stay on the mountain side of the hotel.

While the view of the ski operations and the mountain were nice, that side of the hotel also faces several night spots that were loud until nearly 2:00 am on several of the days we were there. After a full day on the slopes I really enjoy peace-and-quiet to get a good night sleep to be ready to go the next morning.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone with the caveat of not staying on the mountain side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Four of us (adults) shared a one bedroom suite at the Sundial recently and would definitely return.
The location is just a few steps away from the lifts/gondola up Blackcomb and Whistler Mtns. so couldn't have been more convenient. The staff were fabulous. We arrived early and we basically parked for two days for the price of one, we were able to access our room early, and there were no extra charges. The rooms were well-appointed and comfortable, with a good kitchen.

The pool wasn't open because it was still winter season so we checked out the hot tub. It is small and the five people already in it pretty much filled it, so we didn't use it. The only other negative is that the pull out bed had a slope -- the couple that slept on it put the mattress on the floor and were then comfortable.

Room Tip: It was quiet when we stayed, but there are pubs nearby (as there are everywhere in Whistler) so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastalpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Yes this is high end, yes it is worth it, but if you are local and need to weatch your dollars, try post/pre ski or gold times, i just contacted them and we worked out dates, we had the delux suite with on patio balcony, and was welcomed with chocolates and champagne. Every person i emailed or spoke to were wonderful!!!! thi sis a gem

Room Tip: again, ask when the prices are good for locals, and love ths hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkham409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have been to Whistler on a previous occasion & had stayed right at other end of village so had always wanted to stay here if we came back & this place certainly didn't disappoint us. The location is fantastic - view of mountain is awesome even from a village view apartment. Kitchen facilities are great & laundry wasn't too bad. The front desk could not be faulted, really helpful with your ski and nothing was ever too much trouble. All staff incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Practically the closest place to drop off our 5 year old to whistler kids' 5 day ski camp in front of Carlton's Lodge next door. Yes this is an expensive place to stay but if you can afford it, it is worth every penny. The wonderful staff at front desk, the bellman, housekeepers and so on just are as friendly and helpful as can be. I am particularly impressed by this young Aussie, Nick at front desk, who is the most wonderful young man you can meet.
I need to point out the convenience of being in the center of Whistler village. Anything you want to do or any major restaurants are within minutes. If you want Chinese food, it is in the hotel. If you want something fancy, go to Araxi in 5 minutes. The views of whistler and blackcomb are breathtaking.
Only one thing that can make it better experience: washer and dryer in the units ( at least in the higher end units). Or at least washer and dryer on every floor to make it more convenient to clean ski clothings.
Noise was not a big deal because we were on the 7th floor and a non issue except fridays.

Room Tip: higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manny2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just wrapped up a 7 night stay. Like the majority of other reviewers, we had a great stay. The kitchen had all the necessities and with two groceries within a short walking distance, it was nice being able to eat in and cook whenever we wanted. The coin operated laundry in the basement was also a great convenience. If you're staying for a week or more, pack lite and just do a load mid-trip. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat as you can easily access Whistler or Blackcomb mountains depending on your whim each morning. The hotel also offers free DVD rentals at the front desk - a nice sized collection to pick from. The rooftop hot tub can get a little crowded at prime après ski time (fits 7-8 max) but its nice and hot and hard to beat after a long day on the slopes. The only issue we had was spotty Internet service, which was frustrating but hard to complain too much given that there wasn't a separate charge for it like some hotels. We were on the top floor so noise wasn't too much of a factor. The hot tub crowd at the neighboring Pan Pacific can get a little loud, but we also had our windows cracked which funneled noise in. In short, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonsense100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Boutique Hotel

Property: Sundial Boutique Hotel
Address: 4340 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#9 Family Hotel in Whistler
#11 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundial Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundial Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village right next to the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. This location in Whistler Village makes it convenient for shopping, dining, and enjoying all the entertainment Whistler has to offer. All 49 luxurious one and two bedroom suites feature master bedrooms, full kitchens, flat screen tv's and gas fireplaces, including eight suites with private outdoor hot tubs. Personal service is not just a philosophy here, but a part of the way each day unfolds. Sundial Boutique Hotel suites provide breathtaking views of the mountains, and complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, local phone calls, roof top hot tub, and ski concierge services ensure you have all the modern conveniences of home. Outdoor heated pool access is provided in the summer months (June - September) and the rooftop hot tub is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sundial Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Boutique Whistler
Hotel Sundial Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing