We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOT TUB HEAVEN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“HOT TUB HEAVEN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

After quite a rocky start in terms of our booking not being what we thought, the staff at the Sundial proved they are committed to guest satisfaction and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. In the end they pretty much exceeded our expectations. They were all friendly, helpful and professional. While we were there we moved rooms a few times and this gave us a good overview of what the hotel has to offer. First and foremost the location is almost unbeatable. You are at the foot of the Gondolas and after a hard day on the piste it is a short stroll back where the staff takes your skis and stores them for you. I don’t know why this makes such a difference but it does. Secondly the rooms are spacious and well equipped and most have stunning views of the mountains. The only thing we really, really missed was a washer/dryer or a drying cupboard. Even if a couple of apartments had them and there was an extra charge I would pay it because hanging out in the basement doing loads of washing is not my idea of holiday fun (although I did meet some very nice guests down there). Thirdly the apartments with hot tubs are quite a bit more expensive but in the first few days it was so worth it- sitting there with a wine overlooking the jaw-dropping beauty of Whistler and Blackcomb is a great cure for those screaming muscles and actually quite an unforgettable experience. The only thing you need to be aware of is that Whistler is a party town and if you don’t want to be in or hear it you need to ask for a quiet apartment, and make sure you are very clear about which one you have booked. Lastly, the hotel is brilliantly serviced by several restaurants in the same building. We frequented Blacks Pub and found the staff (go Aussies!) and the food excellent. The view is great and you are almost on the snow and even better on the weekend of the Talus ski festival the hotel has a platform where guests can get very close to the action. The manager, Chris went out of his way to accommodate us and we found ourselves really hoping (along with every single Canadian!) his beloved Canucks came through for him. All up the Sundial and Blacks are excellent places to hang your helmet.

Room Tip: if you choose a particular apartment from the website, be very specific about which apartment you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    177
    46
    8
    6
See reviews for
278
303
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

It has all the amenities of an appartment but with the benefits of a Hotel, could be better it they have a front access to the skiing slopes and the restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evazquezvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the large suites, with a jacuzzi outside looking over blackcombe and whistler moutain that was truely spectacular. The remote controlled fires in the room were fab and it was a short walk to the ski lifts. We stayed over Christmas and New Year and it really was a holiday to remember.

We were disappointed by the service. There was an Australian girl working there who was fab but outside of that helping you to book lessons etc was more of a chore than a service. What was interesting was that the most miserable of the bunch appeared to be the manager himself! We paid a fortune for one of the rooms there opting for the best but were berated when we asked for a new paper map, as we'd already had one the other day! Once when we wanted to book a lesson we were told to go and queue there as it would take a long time to phone up and do it. The foyer in the reception also is awful we were worried that this might be a sign of things to come it is very tired. Also the check in time of 4pm was a bit problematic. We turned up having already stayed in Vancouver and if we had known about the checkin time we would have come later.

The rooms are fab though and the location is second to none, but the service is poor. Also bear in mind that there is no room service, which is OK at first but not for 10 days which is the period we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
I really appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us this past Christmas and New Years. I have noted your concerns regarding the service you received, and I will work with our guest service team to ensure these are addressed. I was happy to hear you enjoyed the hot tub suites, location of the hotel and that it was a holiday to remember. It would have been great to have met you to discuss your experience as I am on site. As you are a valued guest and in a continuing effort to strive for excellence, your comments are greatly appreciated. I hope that you will give the Sundial team another opportunity to provide you with the true Sundial Boutique Hotel Experience that so many of our loyal guests have come to know and love. Should you have any questions or additional concerns please contact me directly at david@sundialhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel was really nice and clean and the location was excellent. The problem that we encountered was the construction going on right outside the hotel. Loud jack hammering and heavy equipment working away all day starting at 8:00am. I had mentioned to the front desk that it would be considerate to guests if they posted on their website that the construction was right outside the hotel so people had the option to stay somewhere else prior to booking. The reply I received is " we pretty much called most of the guests" I must have been left off this list. Overall the room was great (besides the noise) but because of the simple over cite of not notifying us about the construction I would not return to this hotel, there are many other hotels in whistler.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dozer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced noise during your stay, due to the current improvements being done in village square. Upon receiving confirmation of the extent of the project we immediately took action by placing notices on our websites, contacting all our partners and guests and making room moves where possible. I understand this information was not received by yourself so we will be taking further action to ensure all future guests are informed. Thank you again for your feedback.

Should you have any questions or additional concerns please contact me directly at david@sundialhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great hotel, lovely rooms, in good order and v comfy, very friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel and we plan to stay here again next time we go skiing, such a nice hotel, 2 mins walk from the lifts and kids ski school, hotel ski valet was a real bonus. Well done all.

Room Tip: Avoid the 00 rooms as they are oppostie the elevators, although we did have one of these and, apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Well_Travelled_Mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our family loved this hotel. The location was amazing close to everything. Our room was spectacular with a view of the big air and the stage for the Telus ski and snowboard festival. Loved the balcony and kitchen. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with any questions we had. I thought the welcome note and chocolates added a personal touch. The decor of the room was lovely, and the size of the room was good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had such a wonderful experience staying at the Sundial Hotel. The room is clean, contemporary decorated, and very spacious. There's free wifi service which is very helpful especially for people not from the area. The suites come with a kitchen and a large living room area. There is a full refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, coffeemaker, and microwave-very convenient since there's a local grocery store within a five minute walk. The rooftop hot tub is a wonderful, relaxing way to view the spectacular mountain views. The hotel is conveniently located in the village, a short walking distance to the ski lifts, many great restaurants, and shops. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. A great boutique hotel with all the comforts of home. 

Room Tip: There are always events happening at Whistler. Check the front prior to booking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybo1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Boutique Hotel

Property: Sundial Boutique Hotel
Address: 4340 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#9 Family Hotel in Whistler
#11 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundial Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundial Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village right next to the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. This location in Whistler Village makes it convenient for shopping, dining, and enjoying all the entertainment Whistler has to offer. All 49 luxurious one and two bedroom suites feature master bedrooms, full kitchens, flat screen tv's and gas fireplaces, including eight suites with private outdoor hot tubs. Personal service is not just a philosophy here, but a part of the way each day unfolds. Sundial Boutique Hotel suites provide breathtaking views of the mountains, and complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, local phone calls, roof top hot tub, and ski concierge services ensure you have all the modern conveniences of home. Outdoor heated pool access is provided in the summer months (June - September) and the rooftop hot tub is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundial Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Boutique Whistler
Hotel Sundial Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing