We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY average”
Review of Tantalus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY average”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Booked with Blue Air Miles. I only needed one bedroom, but was booked into a two bedroom, two bathroom rather tawdry suite. Their suggested price was $180/night, plus taxes, plus $16 parking (outside). If I wanted internet, there was an additional charge. The halls were worn, and most of the insuite furniture was old, dated and in mediocre condition. The fireplace required a $4 presto log, should a fire be needed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wiedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    142
    62
    26
    9
See reviews for
136
43
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pacific northwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stay at all types of accomodations from luxury to budget and are not particularly picky. The rooms here were very dirty. The bath towels had dirt and smudges on them; it looked like perhaps the staff had re-folded some used towels rather than replace them with fresh ones for the new guests. Paint was peeling in various locations throughout the rooms---a much smaller complaint compared to the overall dirtiness, but still. The kitchen, and therefore the adjoining dining/living area had a peculiar, unpleasant odor.

The location is in no way a "three minute walk" from the slopes, not even for athletic, energetic people. The walk is uphill, and can't be done in ski boots with or without gear. I would not stay here again, regardless of the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank outdoortype88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends (in our 30s) and had the best time. The location is perfect. Less than 5 minutes walk from the village centre and lifts, but in a quieter location (I've stayed on the village stroll before and was kept up at night by drunken idiots pouring out of the bars and hollering round the village!). It also has a great sized pool (rather than some teeny weeny ones like in some other properties).

The rooms themselves have recently been renovated and are really nice and very clean. They are also a great size compared to other condos we've been to.

It's also a relatively small property - so not hundreds and hundreds of rooms.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel and would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

It's not a very good location. Everyone seems to say that it's only 5 minutes for the gondola, and that the shuttle runs every 5 minutes, but it's not a 24/7 shuttle and it's certainly not a 5 minute walk from the gondola. Especially in ski boots. In fact, it's about a 5 minute walk from where the shuttle drops you off!

A lot of times you'll find yourself walking over a fairly large hill in order to get to and from the hotel. Getting groceries is a pain as well since the only store that's in walking distance is still pretty far and carrying an adequate amount of groceries back to the room is a total pain. We ended up having to hit the store almost every day and after a long day on the slopes it's not really what I enjoy doing. This really boiled down to location.

The hotel itself is so so. The kitchen was ok, but the coffee packets were too small for the peculator they had so we had to buy are own filters and coffee. Don't expect a complimentary fresh brew. This alone was pretty disappointing on the first morning. The bedrooms we had were gross. I had a sheet that was burnt by some sort of iron and the place had an odd smell to it. The shampoo bottles looked like they were re-filled using old emptied bottles from the previous guest. Again small things that just gave me that yukky feeling.

Bottom line; you get what you pay for I guess. I for one will not go back to this hotel. It was pretty crusty overall and the service wasn't anything special. Location is the worst in Whistler as far as I'm concerned. Doing it all over I'd spring a little extra cash and stay closer to the village. I have a feeling even a few 100 more would get you a much much nicer place in a MUCH more convenience location with better amenities. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We have just spent 2 nights at Tantalus(Sept 1st-3rd) and were impressed with our accomodation choice. It was our first trip to Whistler and we really didnt know where to stay but I came across this hotel on the website www.whistlerblackcomb.com and read a few reviews about it prior to making our decision.Staff at reception were helpful and courteous and allowed us into our rooms 1 hr earlier than book in time.We stayed on the third floor down the end of a corridor looking out over the tennis courts and pool area.The 2 bedrooms were large and the entire suite was large with plenty of storage.Our suite had a fully equipped kitchen and balcony with alpine views. The walk into the village was about 5 mins(much closer than I thought) and relaxing.The outdoor pool and spa(hot,hot,hot) was a bonus..hard to get our daughter out of it at the end of the long days trekking the peak of Whistler!!!! Parking is $16 per night plus tax but you can park overnight at one of the Village Carpark lots for free..if you dont mind the 15 min walk back.Suit yourself. We will be back in winter to stay here.It would be much quieter than staying in the heart of the village I'm sure.Oh and free wireless in the lobby if you have your laptop(bonus).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IWASP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband and our 9 year old stayed at the Tantalus for 11 nights from 25th March 2009 travelling with Skiworld. We thougth we couldn't afford Whistler until we found this hotel. Don't be put off by it not being located right on the slopes. There is an excellent shuttle minibus that always seems to be there for you or you can walk to the lifts or village which is only 5 minutes away. The rooms were spacious and well kitted out. In fact we even had dinner in on a few nights as it was so comfortable. There is a ski locker room just outside reception and a welcoming fire within. The staff were really helpful as they all are in Canada and you even get a free newspaper every day.
2 years ago we stayed at the Lake Louise Inn and found the Tantalus to have much nicer room and better amenities.
As this is at the budget end of the market you do get teenagers and school groups staying so it is well worth checking Canadian school holiday dates and calling the hotel to ask about any large groups booked in during your stay. We asked for a top floor, end of corridor room to minimise noise and got what we wanted.
Despite there being no restaurant, just a few vending machines, it is easy to do breakfast in your room. If you know Whistler, you will know that there are many restaurants to choose from. For a cheap, eat with the kids night go to the Spaghetti Factory and for a romantic dinner for 2, try Umbertos Camino.
We will definitley stay here again and would recommend it if you don't want to break the bank.
Be aware that the Olympics come to Whistler in 2010 so it may be best to avoid it then.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Upon arrival into Whistler Village on Greyhound, the complimentaty Tantalus Shuttle promptly collected and took us to the Lodge which is 1min Drive away.
The Lodge offers this Free shuttle back and forth to Whistler village non stop between 0830 and 1630 daily. FANTASTIC!

Tantalus is probably the only Lodge that caters for large groups at low cost due to the availability of 2 Bedroom suites with full Kitchen (incl dishwasher)
Bedroom 1 - 1 x King Bed.
Bedroom 2 - 2 x Single Beds.
Lounge - 1 x Double Sofa Bed and trundler upon request.
So it can comfortably fit 7 people.
Very economical way of staying in Whistler if you have a large number of people in your group.

The suite was clean and tidy. Lots of wine glasses etc so there was no need to have to ring Guest Services to hassle them for more.

There is a fire place that you can use. You purchase log burners at CAD$4 each. Each log burns for a few hours. There is central heating anyway. We had the fire going as it added to the yule time feel :)

HOWEVER... THE BEST ATTRIBUTE THE TANTALUS OFFERED ME WAS THE.....
OUTDOOR JACUZZI's and POOL. (with complimentary towels)
Magic Magic Magic. Sitting in a hot tub outside with snow and alpine all around. I am excited because this was my first white xmas.

Tantalus also offered - Complinetary Hot Chocolate to warm your frost bitten lips.

All in all, a comfortable stay with Friendly and helpfull staff.

Well done Tantalus and Staff!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globalmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Property: Tantalus Lodge
Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Vacatia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing