We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tantalus comes up TOPS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tantalus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tantalus comes up TOPS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Upon arrival into Whistler Village on Greyhound, the complimentaty Tantalus Shuttle promptly collected and took us to the Lodge which is 1min Drive away.
The Lodge offers this Free shuttle back and forth to Whistler village non stop between 0830 and 1630 daily. FANTASTIC!

Tantalus is probably the only Lodge that caters for large groups at low cost due to the availability of 2 Bedroom suites with full Kitchen (incl dishwasher)
Bedroom 1 - 1 x King Bed.
Bedroom 2 - 2 x Single Beds.
Lounge - 1 x Double Sofa Bed and trundler upon request.
So it can comfortably fit 7 people.
Very economical way of staying in Whistler if you have a large number of people in your group.

The suite was clean and tidy. Lots of wine glasses etc so there was no need to have to ring Guest Services to hassle them for more.

There is a fire place that you can use. You purchase log burners at CAD$4 each. Each log burns for a few hours. There is central heating anyway. We had the fire going as it added to the yule time feel :)

HOWEVER... THE BEST ATTRIBUTE THE TANTALUS OFFERED ME WAS THE.....
OUTDOOR JACUZZI's and POOL. (with complimentary towels)
Magic Magic Magic. Sitting in a hot tub outside with snow and alpine all around. I am excited because this was my first white xmas.

Tantalus also offered - Complinetary Hot Chocolate to warm your frost bitten lips.

All in all, a comfortable stay with Friendly and helpfull staff.

Well done Tantalus and Staff!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globalmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    142
    62
    25
    9
See reviews for
135
43
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

Went on a spring ski trip with members of my family (March 23rd - 4 nights). The location is walking distance to village and gondola (5-7 minutes) and shuttle is available. Parking (which is an additional charge) was full upon our arrival. However, the staff allowed me to park in front of the resort entrance. The ski equipment room is accessed via your room key. It is conveniently located directly in front of the resort where you would take the shuttle or walk to the village/gondolas. We had a room on the back side facing a wall of trees. I don't recall there being a noise problem. While I've read many people say that the rooms are large, by Colorado standards I found them to be smaller. Having been our only visit to Whistler I can't comment on the size versus others at Whistler. There was still plenty of room but for six people in a two bedroom it might be a little tight. We had a party of four. Full kitchen is somewhat small but well equipped. The rooms themselves were clean but showed some use. The balcony (which we did not use extensively) was large ad faced the front of the resort. I noticed the balcony is not really shared but connected to the next unit. If you were staying with a party requiring two units this might be a consideration. I rated this above average because it had everything we needed, was a good value in the spring, had good service, and a good location.

Oh, did I mention the skiing was very good? Minor detail but it was the reason we came. Plenty of room to spread out if a particular line gets crowded. If you haven't been to Whistler it's hard not to be impressed. We are planning to come back and stay here again.

  • Liked — location, service
  • Disliked — could use update
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marriedwithchildren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agassiz, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Booked the morning that we were due to arrive through Whistler Accommodations, and paid $100 per night. When we checked in they wanted $16 per day parking, but gave it to us for nothing when I complained that no-one had warned me about that charge. Parking is not connected to the lobby, is underground and a bit of a walk. There are two views - out the front faces the highway and you can see some mountains, but not the gondola or ski area or townsite. The view out the back faces a steep mountainside full of trees. It would be quieter. Everything was clean, we got a 2BR room for the price of a 1BR. Balcony was nice, but someone was smoking below us. The first thing I smelled when I woke up was cigarette smoke from someone below. Kitchen was nice and had everything you needed. The furniture in the livingroom was quite ragged. I'm sure the bed was only a double although the girl at the front desk insisted it was a queen. It sagged to the middle and was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever paid to sleep in. There's no AC so we had to have the windows open for fresh air. We are used to traffic noise, but we couldn't believe how loud it was. It didn't die down either. At 2.00 a.m. there was some happy partyers on a nearby balcony yelling and arguing. At around 6.00 a.m. people made all kinds of noise in the parking lot below us. The front desk was nice enought and offered to move us to a back room, but I suspected the bed wouldn't be any better, so we checked out and paid $50 more to stay at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler. Their comfy king bed was a dream to sleep on and it was so quiet all night...

  • Liked — The balcony and kitchen.
  • Disliked — The traffic noise and lumpy bed.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MomVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

The Tantalus is a great option if you are looking for a casual yet convenient retreat in Whistler. Our room was a large 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite with a fully stocked brand new kitchen! There is no restaurant in the hotel, so this was very handy. It was perfect for the family!

In the wintertime, there is a hotel van that runs too and from the village very frequently, which is only about a 5 minute walk away anyways - short, but not a great walk in ski boots.

The hotel is in the process of renovations, but it appears as if most places in Whistler currently are. The pool and hot-tubs are clean and in excellent condition as well.

We believe we had excellent value for what we paid - ( ~$170 per night for 5 people in Whistler on a weekend).

  • Liked — excellent value, friendly staff, services available, clean
  • Disliked — older property, 4pm check in
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

We had 14 nights at Tantalus in early February 2008. We were a group of 3 middle-aged blokes from Australia and all expert skiers.

The unit was large, had a double room with en-suite, and a second room with 2 single beds. There was a second bathroom, a well equipped kitchen (except cutting knives) and a large living/dining room with a fireplace. We were at the back of the building on the fourth floor and had a balcony facing the trees. Very quiet. We even had a couple of bobcats visit every night. We used the pool and hot tubs often. The unit was clean and daily room service was good, but a bit miserly with the soap replacement.

The staff were friendly and efficient. The very frequent minibus to and from the village was welcome. The location was great. A 5-10 minute walk to the Whistler gondola and the rest of the village. Over a small hill and in a quiet spot opposite the driving range.

First reaction was that it was a bit tired. It's good 3 star. Who really needs glitz and pretension? We were there to ski, eat, sleep and have a good time. And we did! We were very happy with the stay, would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SydneyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

Having stayed at the Tantalus a couple of times over the last few years I can say we found it extremely good value for money.

There were 5 of us, 2 in a twin room, 2 in a double room and myself on the pull out double bed in the living room.

The surroundings were basic but the view from the balcony fantastic and if you are looking for somewhere to simply rest your head at the end of the day then this would be a great choice.

We spent all day and evening out and about in Whistler and it was perfectly adequate and at a great location at only a 5 minute walk from the main Village pedestrian area.

  • Liked — It's location and great value for money.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything !
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merce70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

Me and my family (5 adults and 2 kids) stayed in the tantalus for an 8 night stay for 2008 new years eve.

We booked a two room apartment and it was great, 2 single beds in each one and and a medium size living room which had a nice sofa/bed you can easily accomodate 6 adults with no problems.

We had a full kitchen, microwave, oven, refrigerator etc. and a dining room for 6, trust the photos in the website.

The Lodge also has nice facilities, like pool, sauna, a locker room for skis and equipment, parking (for a $16 fee) and more

The two most important things its the friendly staff and the location just a 7 minute walk to the lifts and the town, and inf you don want to walk there is a shuttle.

Great location, for a fair price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — They dont have machine washers/dryers in room just in in basement
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LivetoTravel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Property: Tantalus Lodge
Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing