We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stagette”
Review of Tantalus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed there recently for a stagette on the recommendation of someone who had stayed there last year and had a fabulous experience. It's very close to the Village, just a 5 minute walk. We stayed in a suite with 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms, which was great to house us and enough bathrooms for us to get ready for our evenings out. The beds are very comfortable and the decor is rustic, perfect for a Whistler weekend getaway. We had a great time overall. I would stay there with a big group again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FancyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a group with five families, including 9 kids 8yrs and under. We had a great time together. Rented the Mountain View room one evening and ordered in dinner, which turned out a great success, since it was raining hard. Were here during Cranxworks week and the resort was packed with young mountain bikers. When arriving we worried a bit it might turn into a party place. But that never happened.
Pool and 2 hot tubs were clean. There is also a sauna adjacent to the pool.
We would stay here again, even when not as as group.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caneuropeanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kartika k, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the tame to share your experience. We are delighted to read you and your family had a great time at our property and found our Mountain View room adequate to hold your event. This year we had the biggest Crankworks ever, and I am happy you had the opportunity to enjoy it as well.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back again.

Warm regards,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom deluxe suite (room 501 to be exact). The building itself is somewhat old and you can see some of that in the room, but overall, it is a comfortable and clean place. It is very quite and the pool/hot tub are a nice addition. Parking is a little overpriced given that the lodge is on the edge of the village. We stayed at the Holiday Inn in the middle of the village and parking was cheaper there.

Overall, it is a nice condo and we really enjoyed it. I would go back. One thing to note though is if you are coming during the winter season (we visited during the summer for the Ironman Race), it is a little bit of a walk to the gondolas. However, most places in the village would also be a walk. Just be prepared to carry your skis/boards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kartika k, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and have taken note of your comments. This year we will continue with our room upgrades and will start the process of renovating our bathrooms next Monday.

It is true we are 200mts walk away from the Gondola, but offer a complimentary Ski Shuttle Service, which leaves from our Hotel Lobby to the base of Spring Lane (which leads to the Whistler Gondola). This service is only available during the Winter months.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year for the Ironman or perhaps to enjoy a weekend of ski at our resort.

Warm regards,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just what we needed. This hotel was a recommendation from a local in Vancouver !!! It was rather confusing at first with the choices, but we made the right one staying at the Tantalus. The room was great, 2 bed x 2 bath, the rooms are a little tired but just fine. the Kitchen well stocked for cooking....It had enough of everything for a comfortable stay, and stay we did, an extra night! Loved the Free Wifi - thank you for that. We look forward to another holiday there from Australia this time next year ! Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angsana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kartika k, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and your family back next year for another great Summer in Whistler.

Warm regards,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

When an error was made by the company that had booked us at this hotel the front desk did an exceptional job of finding the error and fixing it. We were on the top floor with a flight of stairs but they had a houseman help us with all our luggage and coolers. This is an older property but clean and suited us very well especially considering the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryInVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to read our team was able to fix your reservation and it turned out to be a memorable stay. Rest assure your comments and recognition will be shared with the team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our 2nd year in a row staying at the Tantalus and we were assigned the same room as last year so it felt like home right away. We spent one week at the hotel and had 4 teen boys and hubby and I and the room was spacious enough to accommodate all of us. 2 teens had to sleep on the pull out sofa bed and said it was comfortable enough - no complaints. The 2 bathrooms were a must and having full kitchen facility was necessary to keep the food cost down. Whistler is an expensive place to eat out.

The boys enjoyed the pool and hot tubs several times along with the sauna. It's close enough to the village to walk back and forth ( a short hilly 5 minute walk - hill both ways). Free, secure bike storage on site too. Very helpful and friendly staff.

There were enough dishes in the room for 6 people so after every meal we had to do a load in the dishwasher so that we had dishes for the next meal. 3 grocery stores nearby - the IGA in the Village, The Grocery Store in the Village and Nestor's Market a short ride up the highway (Nestor's Market is slightly more reasonable in price and had a great selection of food but you need a car to get there if your hauling grocery bags).

Buy liquor in the government store - other stores had very inflated pricing.

All in all an excellent week. I highly recommend The Tantalus Lodge for a family stay. Reasonable price, very comfortable and spacious rooms.

Room Tip: If you have a larger family, request a premier suite - very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-S-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Tantalus. We appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rudi
Interim General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked two separate rooms for my family through the central reservation system. Tantalus Lodge seemed like a good fit for us, and this turned out to be absolutely true. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The rooms were conveniently located on the same floor but not side-by-side. They were clean and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for our own cooking.
The kids really enjoyed the pool and spent a considerable amount of time there. I personally enjoyed the hot tub. The location of the resort lodge was not in the noisy center of the village, which pleased us. Whenever we wanted to get to the village itself, it only required a short walk (5 minutes). The only negative issue was the high cost of the daily parking fee. This should be lowered for those people who are staying for three or more days.
Overall, a great stay, and I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Whistler.

Room Tip: While there is no view from the back units, thry are probably quieter than the ones facing the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kartika k, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy you found our spacious rooms comfortable.

Our friendly staff and I, look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,835 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $135 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing