We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good and some not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tantalus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
“Some good and some not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The price, location and kitchenette is very good.
We liked the shuttle, the size of the rooms.
We were not impress buy most of the staff, the doors were letting the cold in the room and the piping was very noisy. This was my second year there, I might go back for the values, the location and finally on the last day there was a younger girl at the front desk who credited our parking, as it was not supposed to be an extra. She probably saved my vote for another years. Avoid room facing the pool if you want peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank louisv213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Although I am happy to read you had an overall enjoyable stay, I would be interested to hear more about your experience with our team. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused by my team. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    142
    62
    25
    9
See reviews for
135
43
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Overall a great place to stay if you are looking for a place to put your stuff, have a good tub and place to rest your head. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. A short distance to Whistler Village makes it very accessible to all the activities and attractions. Things for them to work on would be a hotter sauna, stronger coffee in the rooms and in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakedPotato375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is refreshing to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of your suggestions and will make sure to share your comments with my team.

We look forward to your next ski vacation.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Have just spent 6 nights here,family of 4. Value accom for families is hard to find close to the lifts so this was ideal for us with 2 teenagers, plenty of room, a good kitchen friendly staff ( including very friendly and accommodating shuttle bus drivers even though you don't really need the shuttle) A rowdy party did keep us awake one night but staff got onto it and that could happen anywhere. I would be quite happy to stay here again and probably will.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read you found good value on our offer and that our team was able to meet your service expectations.

Feel free to contact us directly to book your next visit.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Lodge is rather dated but the clean and comfortable rooms and the wonderful outdoor pool and 2 hot tubs made for an excellent stay. The free shuttle was very convenient if the 5 minute walk to all the restaurants and lifts was too much after a day of skiing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We will make sure they are shared with our team.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Although a bit older, this was still good value for money. Only a short walk to the main Whistler Village, which made things much quieter. Stayed in a double bedroom (myself, wife & 14yo son) & had plenty of space - it was great to be able to have a wood burning fire place! Staff were friendly & helpful, storing our luggage on day of checkout until we departed. All utensils, etc. are provided, but we were only here overnight, so simply ate out in the main Village. Only negative comment was that walking here from the Village to check in with heavy snow, there was no obvious sign directing us to reception from the roadway - we actually walked right past.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianDuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay. I am happy to read your stay was satisfactory, and that my team was able to meet your expectations. I have also taken note of the signage commentary to consider it in future upgrades.

We look forward to welcome you and your family back.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travelled during Christmas break and found the hotel to be somewhat dated and disappointing for the surprisingly high price. Even then, some of the hidden charges were even more annoying given the price -- e.g., charging for a presto log, parking.

The rooms need updating. Some of the basics were lacking – worn out pans, non-functioning microwave, broken tea-pot, worn out TV remote, poorly functioning fireplace. But, when we notified the staff, they did respond quickly. It is convenient to the lifts.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CudaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and please accept our sincere apologies for deviating from our usual standards of customer service. I would be interested in communicating with you personally to further discuss your experience.

Please feel free to contact me directly at luis.rivero@deltahotels.com or 604-932-4146.

Warm regards,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Tantalus lodge was a great value, nice staff, good location. Older but good value.

Food at Whistler restaurants in the main village were all disappointing and very expensive for what we're used to with a family of 5. Not sure what happened to all the good food places from the 80's 90's and early 00's when I've been up to Whistler many times before, but I'd rather spend my money elsewhere after the poor food.
One restaurant in the main st breakfast for 5, basic breakfasts for all 5 of us, was over $ 80.00 and the food was terrible.
Too bad for what used to be such a fine resort.
We thought we'd get a deal at Old Spaghetti Factory and then they even mucked up our meal!!!

I hope this message gets passed on. BYOFTC Bring your own food to cook!!!

Scott Stinson
Seattle Wa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read you enjoyed our facilities, and it is unfortunate that your enjoyment was overshadowed by the Food & Beverage offering in Whistler . We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again as I am sure we can provide you with suggestions of some great places to dine out.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,


Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#12 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Property: Tantalus Lodge
Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing