We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doubt I'll be back”
Review of BG Urban Grill

BG Urban Grill
Ranked #141 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: High quality goods that are good for the body and pleasing to the palate. Feel good food.BG Urban Grill Whistler offers patrons a European culinary experience, all centered on innovative meal creations. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon delights or dinner are available for enjoyment on site or available for pick up. Menu includes full breakfast made with fresh ingredients, a variety of appetizers, pub style food from burgers to pizza's, and a dinner service with a varied selection of globally inspired entrees.- Half Price on all appies from 3-6 everyday
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“doubt I'll be back”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Weak service from a server who just didn't know how to properly serve people (e.g. you refill water glasses - you don't bring new ones when the old ones are empty). Butter chicken wrap that was only tasty when there was a chicken bite - the rest was just dry rice, though it looked nice. And you know how you can judge a place by the way they maintain their bathrooms? It was dirty, half-stuck posters obviously covering holes in the walls, and (most disgustingly) three sanitary napkin metal disposal receptacles sitting on a ledge beside the sink - ugh.

There are lots of other places in Whistler. Go to one of them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    100
    122
    90
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Whistler for Drinks”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

ALL beers, wine, etc are $4.75. Most wine in Whistler is about double that price..and this is a decent pour!! A "sleeve" (which I think is 16 oz) of beer is included in this deal. They have a great $12.99 lunch which is a burger and beer (wine may be substituted) . The menu has many items, all of which are reasonably priced. We loved that it was NOT crowded, had good food, nice atmosphere, decent service as well as clean washrooms. The manager is very attentive and the servers pleasant. Give it a try..especially for lunch and apres ski! We ate and drank at this restaurant 4 times while we were in Whistler.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Appalling Service”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food was edible but the service was appalling. The staff spend a lot of time standing around doing nothing. I paid by credit card and a tip had already been added to the bill and the machine asked what percentage tip you'd like to leave. The end result was our waitress got a "double" tip for non-existent service (we had to wait almost 20 minutes in an empty restaurant for someone to take our order). I asked for my tip back and she explained that the tip is automatically added to bills over $100 so I'd like to know why the machine asks you to chose a tip percentage. I'm sure many others have made this mistake and not noticed. Also, someone needs to clean the toilets - they are disgusting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“two very different experiences”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been in this place many times - in particular I like the Tomato Pasta soup they serve at lunch - excellent. I spoke to the manager when I was there several times between December 27/2012 and Jan 06/2013 and commented about how good my experiences have always been over the last couple of years. I have frequented this place many times, summer and winter so on those visits I must say it is a good VFM(Value for money) HOWEVER, I decided to go there for dinner Jan 5th with family in tow. After a long walk to get there we were told there was a pub crawl and there was no room(there was in the so called 'reserved' area) and to come back after 8 PM - now, the area was empty that they were reserving (it was 7PM) and people YOU NEVER turn away customers in that way - customer service 101!! There were 3 of us and it would not have taken much to accommodate us 3 people in a corner - I have worked in the service industry for 3 decades and would never turn customers away - what made it worse was when I commented to the server "you're actually turning customers away" he shrugged his shoulders. Given that Whistler businesses rely on tourists it does not encourage one to want to come back!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gulfislandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place after immediately arriving in whistler. I desperately craved a burger and I was not disappointed.
I rarely finish a plate including fries but this was too delicious to pass up.
Prices were good, staff were nice, wasn't too busy but tables placed spaciously away from each other.
Great lunch venue :)
And wine is not ridiculously priced here like it can be at other whistler venues! Line up ladies! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGUB2013, Manager at BG Urban Grill, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Shelley Kate Y,
Glad you had a chance to try our burgers and wine! Come back and join us when you are in town next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BG Urban Grill also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to BG Urban Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing