We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant with innovstive kitchen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aura Restaurant

Aura Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Aura Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh. Casual. Local. Inspired and influenced by our people, our place and our produce, AURA creates a casual and comfortable dining experience in a unique lakeside setting. Whether it's freshly-caught salmon from the west coast of BC or black trumped mushrooms foraged from the forest around us, we create unforgettable dishes using lovingly-harvested seasonal ingredients and then we share it with friends. Fresh and local, Chef Dean celebrates all things BC. We are passionately committed to offering the freshest ingredients by presenting a seasonal menu that is locally focused and globally artistic, cultivating a healthy relationship between our plates and our planet. Served lakeside and with a smile, join us at AURA for breakfast, dinner or your next special event.
Allerød
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with innovstive kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had dinner here two evenings. The first evening we had the tasting menu, CAD 69,- which is great value for money. Good recommendation as to wines to go with the menu. We decided to book table for our second evening - and a special menu was made for us. The staff is very competent and we really liked the style of the kitchen, which we found to be inspired by the Nordic kitchen.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    61
    33
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal with a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at Nita Lodge and were excited about the opportunity to try Aura. We were sitting on our balcony and notice the Chef and Kitchen staff on the roof about 4 PM. They were harvesting herbs and fresh vegetables and little did we know at the time this would be used in our meal.

We were seated inside the restaurant next to a set of double doors open to the outdoors. What a stunning view of Nita Lake.

We were offered water and cocktails and were given time to review the wine list and menu. When the waiter returned with our cocktails he explained the features of the evening and asked if we had any questions with the menu. He took our wine order and let us ponder the menu and features. His timing between visits was perfect. We had trouble selecting our meal as the menu was excellent and we wanted to try it all. The meals are prepared with organic and local being a main theme and this really appeals to us. The pacing of the meal was excellent. It created an experience that would last into the evening. We were there for over 2 hours but this was perfect and an experience we will cherish for a long time. We enjoyed it so much that we planned on a second visit the following night.

In the end we planned on extended meals as we wanted to try everything that was on the menu over our weekend stay. We really enjoyed the Chef's creations. We managed to get all of the appetizers over our stay and they were all wonderful.

I could go on and on...you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sparky-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stopped off for lunch mid-way through a circular walk from Whistler and what a surprise 'deep fried crispy poached egg. Unique in my 40 year dining experience! So impressed by lunch that we went back in the evening for dinner. beautiful setting for a romantic dinner even after 40 years of marriage. The Moon Curser Tempranillo was excellent well accompanied by the Sable fish and the steak. Recommendation 1: always choose the wine first and then decide what might go well will it! Recommendation 2 eat at Nita lake Lodge if you get half a chance.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Communal Dinner with wine pairings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I attended the Wine-makers dinner featuring Summer Hill Winery from Kelowna. The dinner included a five course meal with pairings from Summer Hill. The CEO of Summer Hill, Ezra Cipes, did a fantastic job of pairing wines with the food. Each food course was amazing. The tuna tostados, and the lobster with halibut were my favourites. Chef, Paul Moran explained each food course. Wow- he has some great international experience. In some instances we were given two wines to try with each course, and we gave our feedback with each one. Any of the wines were good, and it was great to have Ezra Cipes explain them in detail. The dinner included a good mix of international travellers, locals, honeymooning couples, and just foodies in general. Very reasonable prices. In fact, this restaurant could have charged double the price and it would still be good value. Really, really good food in a beautiful location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NitaManager, Manager at Aura Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We were delighted that you could join us for this special event and are pleased to hear that you had the memorable dining experience that we strive to provide to all our valued guests.
Kind Regards,
Stephanie Noel, Restaurant and Lounge Manager, stephanie@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A perfect meal with a perfect view!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

As we were staying at Nita Lake Lodge, we decided to eat at Aura on our first night in Whistler. We sat on the patio, and because it was getting late, we were given a heater and soft blankets in case we got cold. We had a stunning view of Nita Lake to enjoy as we ate our perfectly cooked tenderloin steaks with chive mash and vegetables. The bar is incredibly well stocked and the service was really good- our server was friendly, gave us plenty of time and was 'invisible' whilst tending to the table- many times she refilled our water glasses without us noticing! An excellent restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aura Restaurant also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Aura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing