We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An evening with the wife on our anniversary (sort of)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aura Restaurant

Aura Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Aura Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh. Casual. Local. Inspired and influenced by our people, our place and our produce, AURA creates a casual and comfortable dining experience in a unique lakeside setting. Whether it's freshly-caught salmon from the west coast of BC or black trumped mushrooms foraged from the forest around us, we create unforgettable dishes using lovingly-harvested seasonal ingredients and then we share it with friends. Fresh and local, Chef Dean celebrates all things BC. We are passionately committed to offering the freshest ingredients by presenting a seasonal menu that is locally focused and globally artistic, cultivating a healthy relationship between our plates and our planet. Served lakeside and with a smile, join us at AURA for breakfast, dinner or your next special event.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An evening with the wife on our anniversary (sort of)”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent last evening at the AURA restaurant at Nita Lake Lodge in Whistler for our 16th Anniversary (a week early but none the less).
The restaurant is elegant and the view was spectacular !
The service and the meal were impeccable, the wait staff knew their stuff, from the wine to the meal to the dessert everything was just perfect. Thank you for a wonderful evening for my wife and myself in celebration of our special day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    63
    33
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

3 of us had the 3 course, one had the 5 course. What fantastic food. Properly portioned with organic, hand picked ingredients from the area. Beautiful views of the lake. Lovely ambience. Great service with respect to knowledge and timing. Excellent drinks, try the Conception!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ivanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were recommended this place for a special tasting menu at Canadian dollars 35 for 3 courses. The meal was freshly prepared using local ingredients including wild garlic used for the exceptional starter of wilted leeks ,wild garlic leaves and flowers plus puree with a soft poached egg. The main course we chose steak which was cooked to perfection and to our choice with fingerling potatoes and diced salsa with red wine jus. For dessert my friend chose fresh raspberry meringue on pineapple with wild sorrel sorbet, whilst I chose chocolate and hazelnut tart with banana (wafers) and hay icecream. We also had freshly baked bread and butter. There was plenty of choice. Service was exceptional and the waitress took a lot of care to explain what the dishes comprised of. Our table overlooked the lake which was frozen at the time of our visit April 2014. The restaurant is situated in the Nita Lake Lodge Hotel which also looked fantastic. If you are in the area and want a special meal I highly recommend it There is also a la carte menu or a 5 course tasting menu. Plenty of choice of wines which being Canada are not cheap by European standards but I am sure would be of a good quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikerbabe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice setting, but disappointing meal and service.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently dined at Aura. It was off-season but that is no excuse for the service or the food.My wife ordered steak medium and it was rare and not very tasty. My kids ordered ice cream with chocolate sauce, it didn't come with sauce. We asked for plum sauce and the waitress brought us a1steak sauce . We were one of the few tables in the entire restaurant yet the wait staff was not very attentive. For the price I would have to say it was very disappointing although a beautiful setting of the lake and Hotel Nita was worth seeing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlccorkmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We strive to provide all our guests with an attentive, delicious and customized dining experience in a relaxed setting and we are truly sorry that this was not the case during your visit to Aura. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment.
I have passed your comments on to our food and beverage team who would love the opportunity to follow up with you. Please contact myself or our Food and Beverage Director, Stephanie Noel, on stephanie@nitalakeldoge.com or by calling 604-966-5706. We look forward to connecting with you soon.
Kindest Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager - Nita Lake Lodge - nancy@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had drinks and the Charcuterie plate in the lounge. Service was excellent and sitting by the fire looking out at the lake was a great break. Dinner was the Chef's Tasting Menu. The steak tartar on the potato chip, and the crab cake were mouth watering. The duck breast and it was the best duck I've ever tasted. Wine was paired at the recommendation of the Manager and the choices were perfect. I recommend this for a lovely evening with especially great food and wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aura Restaurant also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Aura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing