We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLIDERS!”
Review of Aura Restaurant

Aura Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Aura Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 192 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh. Casual. Local. Inspired and influenced by our people, our place and our produce, AURA creates a casual and comfortable dining experience in a unique lakeside setting. Whether it's freshly-caught salmon from the west coast of BC or black trumped mushrooms foraged from the forest around us, we create unforgettable dishes using lovingly-harvested seasonal ingredients and then we share it with friends. Fresh and local, Chef Dean celebrates all things BC. We are passionately committed to offering the freshest ingredients by presenting a seasonal menu that is locally focused and globally artistic, cultivating a healthy relationship between our plates and our planet. Served lakeside and with a smile, join us at AURA for breakfast, dinner or your next special event.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“SLIDERS!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This sliders (at $5!!) are delicious! The amount of fries that came with it were for an entree! The food here is great. The drinks - even what is on special- is good. Worth a stop- we were lucky staying at the hotel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank runash202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    69
    35
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rather austere.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Aura Restaurant didn't do much for us. We were seated beside a wooden pillar in a space which was catching a cold breeze from the restaurant entrance. I am not sure what the background noise was but it was either a lift going up and down or the noise from the wind. Either way it made me feel even colder. The restaurant needs some decor changes - perhaps some lights such as chandeliers from the ceiling rather than spotlights; some rugs, mats, carpet or something to soften the wooden floors; some background music; some colour. It is all drab brown. I wont mention the food except to say that it was rather expensive and after the first night we found other places to eat. sorry Aura but my opinion was asked for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nothing Special for Breakfast”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My comments only refer to breakfast. We didn't try a lunch or diner at Aura.

The sign at the front says " Please wait to be seated ". However, there is no hostess, so you might be waiting for some time. After a minute or two, we just wandered in. There were only two wait staff on duty and they were running the whole morning to try to keep up.

They were very pleasant and friendly, but perplexed in their pursuit to keep up. There was no salt or pepper at our table, so we just borrowed it from another. Our croissant arrived with no butter, jam or honey. We asked for some jam.

The breakfast itself was ok, nothing wrong with it. But nothing memorable either. The price for a hotel was perhaps a dollar or two lower then one might find elsewhere. Perhaps that was their plan - hire less staff and offer lower prices. I will say it didn't give us confidence to try another meal at Aura.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quiet fine dining”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just finished a good evening at Aura. They have a $44 three course menu that is a very good deal for whistler peak season. My husband had that and I ordered another entree, sharing the appetizer and dessert. To much food with wonderful service. Would go back again when looking for a quiet peaceful evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolynschut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Really great dining experiences in Aura”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed two breakfasts and one dinner in Aura and were really impressed with the quality of the food. A great menu with nice variety, very good service and a cozy space.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bagwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aura Restaurant also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Aura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing