We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to sit and socialise.”
Review of The Mix by Ric's - CLOSED

The Mix by Ric's
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit and socialise.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Was taken back by the $10 drink price first but the realized that all drinks are doubles. Great location on the stroll. Sat for a few evening drinks on the patio. Service was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamWise16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    47
    11
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Mussels and Caesars”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

One of my absolute favourite dishes is moules mariniere and this was among the best I've ever had. The caesars were pretty good too - though if you're a vegetarian let them know when you order as the garnish included chorizo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipaFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were seated after waiting a couple minutes. The table had not been cleaned of the previous meals. We waited over 5 minutes without anyone coming by to clear the table or bringing menus. I had to wave someone over to clear the table. He did not bring menus, so I got up and found them myself. After sitting for almost 15 minutes someone finally came by with drink menus and to take our orders. The food was fairly quick to arrive, and was really good. The second round of drinks took almost 15 minutes to get served. I wouldn't recommend going here if you are in any sort of hurry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiLove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Sour Experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Perhaps I could have given The Mix by Ric's 3 stars had our experience not been marred by the most dour service I've received in years. While I'm not one for the obsequious "My name is ... and I'll be your server tonight," civility and warmth do go a long way to a dining experience. Our server did not smile, maintain eye contact, offer suggestions, or even indicate what tapas she had just placed on the table. Our order came out in a bizarre manner, with my husband receiving all the items he had ordered, two tapas and a salad, while the rest of us awaited our meal for awhile. She did not inquire whether we were sharing the tapas so this truly made no sense.
The food itself was adequate with the stars of the show being the spaghetti with kobe meatballs, sticky chili chicken, and the scallop and wild mushroom risotto. The salads were fresh and well prepared. The tomato tarts were terrible. They were served as the last item and came out burnt. I rarely send items back to the kitchen but did so with these. The next batch came out better but consisted largely of mushy dough. I had expected a thin tart covered in tomato and cheese. These were heavy and not particularly tasty.
In short, skip this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Good Food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant on the main drag in Whistler Village has delicious, reasonably priced food, comfortable outdoor seating, and it's great for people watching. We recommend the mushroom risotto and the vegetarian burger which had guacamole.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mix by Ric's also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing