We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Staff, Convenient Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legends

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legends
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2007

Spent a week at Legends at Creekside(Mar. 16-23, 2007). Staff was very nice, and helpful. Room - a one-bedroom unit - was comfortable, with full kitchen, washer-dryer, and gas fireplace. Nothing fancy in the bathroom, but clean. Although each unit is individually owned, mine was spacely decorated - not much local flavor. Make sure to request a room off of the street - was awoken on two nights, once by snowplows at 4:30 a.m. for about a half-hour, and another night, same time, for trash pickup. Bus into the village was very convenient - pickup right outside of the hotel, and costing $1.50 each way(runs every 10-15 minutes). Pool and hottubs were pleasant. Gondola was right adjacent to lodge. Only constant negative was food - Dusty's was fair to poor, with LOUD music. Only a few other food choices within walking distance. Location, staff, and convenience would bring me back.

  • Liked — Slopeside location.
  • Disliked — Street traffic noise was audible.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    170
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
275
84
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey - Channel Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

Stayed at Legends for 10 days from the 7th February. The location can't be beaten, it's a stone's throw from the Ski Lockers to the base of the Creekside Gondola, and even closer to Dusty's if that's your thing. 7 of us (all lads, one on the pull out sofa) stayed in a three bedroom condo (Rm 401) which was a corner room overlooking the Gondola and Dusty's. There are many mentions in previous reviews of the noise from Dusty's but we didn't experience any problem at all, perhaps this was due to it being winter and having all the window's closed, but you couldn't get a room closer than ours to Dusty's and the only time we heard any noise was on a friday when they had a band on but it wasn't loud enough to keep you awake. We also never heard any noise from the hallways or ajoining rooms. The rooms were all very well furnished and the washing and drying facilites in the condo proved very useful. The swimming pool and 2 hot tubs are great for jumping in after a day on the slopes and they provide enough towels for that purpose. I wouldn't worry about not being in the Village, it's only $1.50 on the bus or a 3 min taxi ride for $10, both from the front door of the hotel, anyway there's Japanese, Chinese, a diner, pizza, ribs and burgers etc at Dusty's and Mexican nearby in Creekside and the best run on Whistler Mountain (Franz's) straight to your doorstep, oh and no line ups for the Gondola, unlike in the village. I can only guess that the poor ratings are down to the potential noise from Dusty's and having to pay for baby cots, neither affected us, we were impressed with the whole facility and would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Closeness to Gondola and hot tubs
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave-Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

Having arrived in Whistler on a snowy Christmas Eve, we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and promptly checked in. We rented two two-bedroom apartments, and found them quite comfortable for four adults each.

Although our room did not have the best of views (it was overlooking the edge of the forest and a building site), our friends had a lovely view of the ski slope and the gondola.

The location of this hotel is great. The bus stop to the main village (which is a 3 or 4 km trip) is right outside the front door, and the gondola is right outside the back door.

The one thing we found rather disappointing is the cleaning staff. They don't really put much of an effort into cleaning your rooms, other than arranging your bath towels and making the bed. Another downside is that the rooms seem a little damp.

As we arrived on Christmas Eve and stayed into the New Year, it would have been quite nice to see some Christmas decorations in the apartments.

In general, we had a pleasant experience... although it would have been even better had there been a restaurant and a bar area in the foyer of the hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location!
  • Disliked — Cleaning Services
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Keen_TravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2007

We stayed at Legends in early December of 2006 for 3 nights - a couple of things went horribly wrong. First, on the website they say they have cribs (we have a 2 year old) - they don't - what they do is give you the info for a place that will rent you a crib for $20/night....not the end of the world but hey $20 is $20. In fairness, the did ultimiately refund us the rental cost.

The WORST part was the noise - when we booked they knew we had a young child, yet they put us right above Dusty's. There is no soundproofing in this building!! We heard everything going on in that bar until they shut down at 2:00 am. 3 nights in a row this happened and they made no attempt to move us. Also, within the rooms themselves, sound proofing does not exist. Even at low volume, you can hear the TV on in the next room - once the little one was asleep, we had to be ridiculously quiet in order to keep him sleeping.

I have written back to them 4 times and am assured that the appropriate managers have been informed.....yeah, sure.

Anyway, bottom line - if you have a family or if you value sleep - do NOT stay at Legends at Whistler!

  • Liked — The location was good
  • Disliked — No room sound proofing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay on the side AWAY from Dusty's
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigdawg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

When our two daughters decided to go to Disneyland for Spring Break, my wife and I decided to make our first trip to Whistler. Legends was priced right and easy to arrange over the web. The hotel itself was great. We did not want to stay in the Village, as we prefer the relative quiet of a location such as Creekside.

Besides, in Creekside there is a VERY complete grocery store, liquor store, ski rental pick-up, etc. right across the pedestrian overpass from Legends (two minutes, really). Legends itself is about as close to the Creekside Gondola as you can get, and their ski equipment storage is simple and efficient. The Village is 5-8 minutes away by private car (not counting the time it will take you to find a parking place, which can be quite a while--and a walk).

The BIG (I said BIG!) problem with Legends is Dusty's, the tavern/bar/restaurant directly in the crook of Legends' arm. Do not believe anything the Legends staff tells you about the noise from Dusty's. We heard it all, before, during, and after: The excuses from the staff--and the extremely loud music that started up at about 10:30 on Friday night. It was simply impossible to sleep. The bass on the place's amplifiers literally vibrated our room, keeping us up 'til the wee, small hours of the morning.

If Legends can guarantee you a room on the "other" side of the hotel from Dusty's, then by all means, snap it up. But otherwise, if you are over forty and don't feel like actually immersing yourself in the clamor at Dusty's, look for an alternative. (That's what we are doing right now....)

  • Liked — location, location, location....
  • Disliked — Their neighbor, Dusty's!
  • Tips/Secrets — Even earplugs won't help...
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

This place is a far sight better and a nice change from the Delta Whilster Village Suites.

Legends has a huge kitchen that you could actually use, they don't ding you for small individual boxes of Tide for the washer and dryer and instead provide you with a container of detergent, the bathroom and kitchen have heated floors, the beds were excellent, if it says it's a two bedroom, or a one bedroom with den, they are (unlike others hotels that create these weird connected adjoining room structures and call them two bedrooms), the location is fab, parking is underground and secured, and the front desk is very helpful.

I will say that we were there during a mountain bike festival and our online booking got screwed up and they gave away our two bedroom and instead we had to have a one bedroom with den. However, they were very apologetic, gave us the one bedroom with den at a deep discount, offered to move us (literally) the next day to a two bedroom, and gave us a bottle of wine for our trouble.

Amenities included lovely large balconies, large pool area with multiple hot tubs, an outdoor barbecue area that was well-used, etc. Soundproofing seemed to be quite good because I don't remember hearing anyone in the halls or in the other rooms.

WE will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MichRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.1 mi away
First Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Lodge
#9 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends

Property: Legends
Address: 2036 London Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#10 Family Hotel in Whistler
#12 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legends 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Creekside Village, Legends offers a little something for everyone. Features include suites with full kitchens and living areas, a fitness centre, an outdoor pool, two hot tubs (one family specific), a children's games room, a media room with a large screen television and an alpine club lounge. With the Creekside Village just steps away access to many other amenities are endless, with a grocery store, liquor store, ski/board rental shop, Whistler Kids programs, a post office, Starbucks and a few shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Legends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing