We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great trip”
Review of Legends

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Legends
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another Great trip”
Reviewed January 23, 2009

This was our second stay at Legends and it was as good as the first. We checked in around 9pm and our room was ready and all our prepaid tickets were handed to us upon checkin. The kitchen had everything we needed and the dishes were clean. Once again the convenience of being able to go from the ski slopes to the ski locker and down to the hot tub in under 15 minutes makes this place the perfect location. We ate in the room for lunch every day to save on cost. We took all of our food with us from the US. I will say though that the ski runs to Creekside are a bit advanced for the novice skier. I would recommend just skiing to the top of the Creekside Gondola and then taking that to the bottom. We were their on a 3 day US holiday and the place was completely booked. We ended up on the Dusty's Bar side of the complex over the pool. On saturday night we could hear the live band, though not terribly loud it wasn't, completely quiet. If you have to have complete quiet then make sure you get a room on the opposite side from Dusty's. Those rooms are the even numbered rooms. Fortunately our two children (7/8) were so tired from skiing they didn't notice the noise. I would stay here again with my family due to the quality of the room, the full kitchen, fast wireless internet, washer/dryer and slope convenience. We did ride the Peak 2 Peak gondola a few times. It is much better than going all the way too the bottom and back up again. If you are thinking about going to Whistler in Feb 09 the Peak lift on Whistler mountain and the Symphony areas may still be closed due to avalanche concerns.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — THe room was on the Dusty's side of the complex
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4enginewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    172
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
283
88
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed at Legends Creekside for a quick ski trip at Whistler. In the past we've always preferred to stay in the main village just for convenience to lifts, restaurants, etc. but this time decided to stay at Creekside which is smaller alternative to the main Whistler Village. Legends was fantastic! I can't imaging a more convenient location to ski lifts (and we have visited many, many ski resorts). The lift ticket office/customer service is in the same building as Legends; just buy the tickets and walk about 20 yards to the Creekside Gondola which takes you to mid-mountain and then from there you take a quick quad to the top and the new peak-to-peak gondola. Legends is a fractional ownership condo with a full time front desk, nice lobby, underground parking ($15/day for non-owners), ski lockers, pool, jacuzzis, small movie theater, game room, etc. Very well kept with just a few minor maintenance things needing attention but nothing that impacted our stay. The 1-bedroom was small but has a full kitchen and definitely roomy enough for 2 of us and could fit another 2 if you don't mind being cozy. Not fancy but very comfortable. While it isn't in the main village there is a "mini-village" at Creekside with a few bars, restaurants, etc and a surprisingly well-stocked grocery store just a short walk from Legends. Dusty's BBQ right at Legends has great pub-grub and we had a great steak dinner at the ChopHouse. We ended up really liking the Creekside area - smaller, quieter, and still just a short drive/bus to the main Whistler Village.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank SeaKatOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Our stay was July 19,20,21, 2008. We frequent the ski resorts when we vacation on our motorcycles. Apex, Silverstar, Sun Peaks, etc. These resorts are usually quiet and we need the hot tub after a 600+ km day of biking. We booked Legends specificly for the great ADULT hot tub (which was only supposed to be closed for repairs untill the next morning) and the young people / family hot tub and pool. We knew there would be children present. Our arrival was met with a 1 1/4 hour wait for our room. The desk people were very indifferent about this problem. We booked a 2 bedroom suite with king beds (not budget stuff) because we were 2 couples, and imediately found one room made up as 2 single beds. Our freinds didn't want to bother hose keeping to come and fix it. The suite was a very nice otherwise. The only other problem was the hot tub. I was the parent of small children a few years ago. Bed time was no later than 8pm. I guess parents today like their kids awake til 11pm. This so happens to be when the hotel closes the pool area. So much for a relaxing time in the hot tub. We spent Saturday going to Pemberton, Lilloet and Cache Creek. When we got back to Legends Saturday evening, we found only a couple of people in the family hot tub. The ADULT tub was still closed. We quite enjoyed our selves anyways. Sunday was the trip to Pemberton and Darcy followed by shopping in Whistler Village. We got back on Sunday afternoon, the ADULT tub STILL closed, there were no less than 6 children under the age of 7 in the hot tub. I know it isn't safe for kids this young to be in there, but These parents seem to know better. I didn't have a problem with the 10 year olds playing with a nerf ball around the pool area, this is the stuff that kids do. Two of the children were in diapers and one child prodegy, I'm guessing 2 years old, should have been in one. She was wearing a bright yellow one piece and got really quiet for a few moments. when she returned to her delightful sugar filled self, she stood up on the seat revealling a brown streak up her backside. The mother seemed only slightly suprised by this. She sauntered over, removed the tea bag from the hot tub, wrapped her in a towel and left. I immediatly went to the front desk to notify them. We expected it to be closed for the cleaning, but when we went back an hour later to lounge around in the sun we found it still open and still full of children and adults. We went back to the front desk to find new people there. We were too angry to wait for the manager to come back from break. WE LEFT THE NEXT MORNING AND WON'T BE BACK. We're going to stick with the small resorts.

  • Liked — The room was clean and top notch.
  • Disliked — Front desk staff and there unwillingness to make bad situations better.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed here on our honeymoon and although it wasnt for skiing it was still a perfect hotel. Loved the swimming pool and the views from the hotel are amazing and it easy to find.

  • Liked — Queen sized bed!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank looneyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Spent two nights at Legends on April 11 and 12 for some last minute spring skiing. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The kitchen was well equipped, the rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The bed was amazing. Clean and very comfortable. The hotel staff was very helpful. The location is excellent, right at the Creek Side Gondola. From lobby to peak is about 20 minutes. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel that takes you into Whistler village, so there is no need to drive while you are there. One night we got in late and ordered pizza for dinner. They delivered it right to your hotel door. The hotel is well organized. they have a locker off the lobby to store your skis and there is a door from the locker that opens right up to the gondola. How convenient is that? Overall amazing experience and this will be my future choice of stay at Whistler.

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean, great location
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vsaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We booked our stay at the Legends thru the Seatle Ski Show in the fall. We commited to a presentation (not a lot of pressure-90 minutes) on the time share with Intrawest, exchange for a very good rate for a 3 night stay. When we arrived at the hotel, we bumped up to a 2 bd suite, it was quite large and very nice, over looking the gondola at the foot of the mountain. We were not in the Whistler Village, but the Creekside area, it suited us fine, as we could be on the hill skiing less than 10 minutes fom our room. It was easy to use the ski lockers, EDGE cards (offering discounts for skiing, shopping --AND we could charge meals, activities right to our cards) The pool was nice, hot tub was great. Dusty's right next door was fun and had great food.
The bus system was easy to use throughout the Whistler area, no reason to drive around once you arrive at the hotel.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank jennstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We visited Whistler from 20-25 January 08.

The resort was less crowded than the previous weekend, and we saw plenty of guests on their way out upon arrival. Our 3-BR condo in the Legends complex (Room 202) was ideal for us. We shared with another family with 3 small children and a relative to take care of the kids. If you're looking for fancy furniture and sleeping arrangements, look elsewhere. If you're looking for bargain-priced, ski-in ski-out accommodations, Legends will fit the bill. The condo was clean and contained many of the essentials of home (dishwasher/dish soap, laundry detergent, pots, pans, silverware, etc). Salt/pepper was curiously absent, though. Furniture was basic but comfortable. The beds didn't exactly meet our group's configuration, but we made due. The staff was nice, but I agree with past reviews that recommend an increase in staff. The staff was hustling and trying to please all the incoming and outgoing guests, but there were only 2 (outstanding) employees to do the work. I could imagine a long wait if you arrived with many others at the same time. They provided complimentary high chairs and a pack-n-play for the kids. The hot tubs (1 adult, one family) and pool were great. The kids room was a little sparse but a nice place to keep the kids happy and busy. Finally, everything was enhanced by the amazing terrain and awesome size of Whistler-Blackcomb. If you're a serious skier or boarder, then Legends will be more than comfortable for you.

The Creekside area was perfect for us. It is much cheaper than some older village options in our price range, and offers easy access to the Creekside goldola. If you have shaky skiers (Green trail skiers only), be aware that they may have to ride the Creekside Gondola down the mountain to get home each day. They keep it open well after it closes for riders going up the mountain.

Also, if you're planning your ski vacation, remember that ski-in ski-out is not extremely important at a large resort serviced mainly by gondolas, since you will have to take off and carry all of your equipment anyway. While it was nice to stay so close to the slopes, there was still some lugging of equipment to do. If you find nice accommodations that are a little further from the slopes, I think the extra distance may be worth the decreased cost, as long as you're reasonably close to the lift/gondola. But you definitely couldn't walk out the door, snap your skis on, and go.

One general Whistler comment: The Perimeter bus ride is not the length it is advertised on the webpage. I would plan at least 3 hours for the trip, not including any stops at local hotels. It's a nice ride, and the system for dropping off the riders is excellent. It just takes a longer time than I expected.

Recommendations: 1) Inquire about the view from the balcony, and try to get a unit that is not near the end of the hallway like 202. Overlooking the pool or facing the mountains is ideal. 2) Bring as many groceries with you as you can if you want to fix your own meals. The prices/selection at the convenient Creekside grocery store are reasonable, but Canadian food prices are more expensive than US prices to begin with. If I were driving from the USA, I would definitely load the car up with legal food products (no meat or fresh vegetables allowed through customs). 3) If I were single or married without kids, the energy and activities of the Village would appeal to me more than the quiet Creekside. Creekside is perfect for large groups who want to hang out together (at Dusty's), or families who want to relax after the day's skiing.

  • Liked — Location, condo amenities
  • Disliked — Fanciness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,836 reviews
2.2 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,688 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
2.1 mi away
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends

Property: Legends
Address: 2036 London Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#10 Family Hotel in Whistler
#12 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legends 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Creekside Village, Legends offers a little something for everyone. Features include suites with full kitchens and living areas, a fitness centre, an outdoor pool, two hot tubs (one family specific), a children's games room, a media room with a large screen television and an alpine club lounge. With the Creekside Village just steps away access to many other amenities are endless, with a grocery store, liquor store, ski/board rental shop, Whistler Kids programs, a post office, Starbucks and a few shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Legends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing