We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good value for decent accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horstman House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horstman House
Ranked #2 of 16 Whistler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good value for decent accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent three nights at Horstman House. Very comfortable, though not extraordinary. One BR unit was small, but ok for two people. Excellent value. Easy bus to to slopes and good facilities overall. Hot tub and pool were great ways to end the day. Location was quiet, though noise from upstairs carries. Maintenace/housekeeping was fine. Would come and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsoccercoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    51
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
55
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A recent ski vacation in Whistler was enhanced by the service and quality of this hotel. It is a condominium that is rented out to vacationers by the night, week or longer. So the suites are fully serviced with kitchen including full appliances, dishes and cutlery, separate living and sleeping rooms. The lobby area includes kids game area, pool table, ski storage and luggage storage and lockers with bathroom and showers. Parking is secure and free. The staff is cheerful, friendly and helpful. On departure day, you can check out, ski all day, then return to the property to shower, change clothes, retrieve your stored belongings and car. It is located a short distance from Whistler Village, where many shops and restaurants are located but there is free bus service to the front door and the buses run q10 minutes early morning until late evening. You can ski in from the nearest runs but not out to the lifts. It is a premium property and not inexpensive, especially on weekends, but good value for the money if booked early. There is no on-site cafe or food sales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougofCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Horstman House. The location is on the free bus route, and the rooms were clean and attractive. We had a two bedroom suite, however the walls are not noise proof so voices/ music travels through. Wifi did work but was a little on the slow side. The hot tub was great at the end of a day, but the bubble jets were not working so well. In all we enjoyed our stay and if your looking for a nice place on a smaller budget I would recommend Horstman House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Decent mountain themed condo, but nothing wow. Basic kitchen with basic appliances for maximizing revenues net of expenses to owners.

Wifi did not work on first day, but on day 2 and 3 after much complaining.

Nice hottub.

Solid value for families and budget conscious couples that wish to avoid the overpriced hotels nearer to the lifts.

In Whistler you get what you pay for. You pay less, you get less.

One slow elevator only. I can only imagine the slow speed during a busy weekend.

Everything average. Nothing wow but nothing mediocre either !

Room Tip: Pick a top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WordTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
348 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at Horstman House several times and always enjoyed our stay. The staff is pleasant and the rooms comfortable. Plus they have a great outside hot tub, small pool, and a workout room. It is nice to have a place with a kitchen as food prices in town are high. But they have several great food stores in town (a 15 minute walk).

Room Tip: Pick one on the mountain side. And away from the workout room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Horstman House Lodge. We are pleased to hear that once again you had a great stay with us and found the staff pleasant and the room to be comfortable. Those new pillow top mattresses definitely help with the comfort level!

We want to thank you again for your continued patronage of The Horstman House and Whistler Premier.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From our arrival to our departure, when we were not skiing, we were relaxing and recharging in the wonderfully furnished 1-bedroom home away from home. We loved the proximity of the Horstman to the Village, bus line and being able to end the last run of the day "at home"
We well definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_E_Dyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House. We are pleased to hear you had great stay with us and enjoyed the location and quality of room #203.

We also really like how the ski out on 'Home Run' from Blackcomb Mountain leads conveniently right to our back door and ski locker area!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Thank you for choosing Whistler Premier and the Horstman House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location! Close to the gym, and pool/hot tub. Feels really big for a 1 bedroom. Very clean with a nice view. Love the layout and fireplace. Very quiet too. I will definitely be coming back to Horstman House and staying in room 203.

Room Tip: Close to the spa and other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for putting up a review of your with us at The Horstman House in room #203. We are happy to hear you found the location excellent, the room spacious and would choose to stay with us again.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
1.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 2,201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#5 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horstman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horstman House

Property: Horstman House
Address: 4653 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horstman House 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horstman House is a luxury "boutique" condominium hotel located right on Blackcomb Mountain. This intimate mountain retreat only has 51 suites, but has the same amenities as properties twice the size. Make your Whistler vacation truly special, stay at the Horstman House and treat yourself.Ski-In to complex.Outdoor Hot Tub.Fitness Room.Games Room.Outdoor Pool.Elevators.Gas Fireplace.Full Kitchen.Washer / Dryer.Located on Free Shuttle Route.Free Wireless Internet Front Desk.Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Horstman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horstman House Hotel Whistler
Horstman Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing