We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit better than a Frat house”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackcomb Lodge
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bit better than a Frat house”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This Hotel has potential to be good., . But is definitely not. I compare it to going to stay with you 18 year old son at his first apartment he shares with 4 frat buddies...

Complaints
- Hotel appears to not own a vacuum. The hallways were disgusting.
- Daily room service consists of dropping off the odd towel if you are lucky ( they do not restock tea or coffee, sweep or vacuum or provide upkeep in any way. They did attempt to make the bed once, I think, but at first look I though my 6 year old had been playing with the covers. No kidding..)
- cleanliness of the room was questionable at best upon check-in and rooms have been harshly treated with little or no upkeep
- kitchen is poorly stocked (one 4 inch fry pan, one 1quart pot,) really just intended for heating up stuff in microwave. (Hence 18 up year old comments)

Good attempts, but...
- as with all staff in whistler, they are young men and women from out of country looking for a good time. They were all pleasant and keen but clearly poorly trained and supported (I have been a consultant to the hospitality industry and know what I speak of here) Housekeeping manager should be fired.
- our rental stuff wandered off from the front desk and it took 45 minutes to relocate - nice guys at the rental shop found stuff that "didn't look like ours..." So we got it back.
- no water for two days due to repairs from 10 to 2.... Need I say more here.......
- frat parties- hotel does make a valiant attempt to keep things quiet after 10 and we only had issues on night. They were very clear about letting them know of issues so it would seem this is an ongoing problem for them. (The issues we had made me embarrassed to be a Canadian... Some very negative racial slurs coming from the room when we asked them to turn down the music at 11:30...)
- no table for eating. You can see it from the photos but it didn't dawn on me that there was nowhere to eat other than sitting on the floor in the suite we had. We had 3 kids so it was a bit challenging.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone UNLESS you get it very cheap and don't really plan on eating here other than the odd frozen pizza or KD. There is way better value than this place at whistler.

Room Tip: They promised rooms facing away from the main streets for us because we had kids, which didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    164
    94
    54
    36
See reviews for
139
104
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

First trip to Whistler and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. In heart of village, easy access to restaurants and nightlife, quick 5 minute walk to the lifts/gondola. Ski rentals right in the lobby - couldn't be easier. Not the fanciest rooms around but sufficient for a ski vacation. Shower could have been better but that's the only real complaint. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooFace0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We are happy to hear that we were able to help make your first ski vacation in Whistler an experience to remember.
Hopefully we do see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Never been to whistler and I didn’t know what to expect. As soon as we arrived it was clear to me this place was built in 5 minutes for the Olympics and used as a hotel to this day. In theory I think that’s great but in practice it made for a ghetto hotel room and lousy sleep.

Here’s the positives: location was amazing. 2 minute walk to the gondola and even less than that to food, bars and shops.
Here’s the bad: If you couldn’t drop a pillow in the middle of a college party DO NOT STAY HERE! I also wouldn’t recommend it if you have children and don’t want them to hear what a bunch of drunks yell in the middle of the night.

In defense of the hotel they can’t control the crowd in the street and I don’t think you’d be safe from the noise no matter which ‘heart of the village’ hotel you stayed at. But they could have built a better building with even a mild amount of sound proofing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank 29_going_on_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We are sorry to read about the impact the outside noise had during your time here. We will be passing along your concerns in regards to the sound proofing to the building owners. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience and feedback such as this is very important to us.

The Blackcomb Lodge opened for business in 1982 and underwent a major renovation in 2004. It was the second hotel built in the main Whistler Village. None of the Village infrastructure other than the Olympic Plaza were built for the games.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Property: Blackcomb Lodge
Address: 4220 Gateway Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best address in Whistler! The Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas, art galleries and night life surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is located just a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bedding configurations designed to accommodate both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing