We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap party hotel in great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackcomb Lodge
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap party hotel in great location”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Strong points:
- This hotel is in a great location and it is not too expensive

Medium points:
- The staff are pretty friendly.

Weak points:
- Because it is inexpensive, it attracts the wrong crowd. There were kids partying and smoking marijuana in the room next to us. Thanks to the ventilation, you could smell it throughout our room too.
- The room was poorly cleaned and there was even some graffiti on the wall.
- Sheets and towels were not clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnagiDonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for posting a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests.

One of the issues that every hotel in Whistler faces is what type of crowd shows up during our numerous events. Some of the long weekends and events like Crankworx bring a younger element to town that are here looking to party. We have a 25 and older policy in place so that there must be a guest staying in the room who is 25 years old and has provided a valid credit card. This is in place to deter the exact type guest/situation described in the review. Unfortunately it is impossible to avoid this type of guest 100% of the time. Our staff does deal with these issues now and again and it definitely helps when guests bring such problems to the attention of our front desk. We are sorry that such a guest was disruptive to your stay.

We are pleased to hear, however, that you liked the location of the lodge and found the staff to be friendly. I have brought your concerns regarding the cleanliness of your room to the attention of our housekeeping manager to discuss with his staff as we want to avoid such situations in the future.

Thank you for staying with Whistler Premier and The Blackcomb Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    164
    94
    54
    36
See reviews for
138
104
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
331 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A friend and i spent two nights here right in the middle of a gigantic yoga gathering. Whistler was hopping! Blackcomb Lodge was a good choice and one of the only places we could get into. It is right on the central village (lower) square, so well located and feels very European. Our room overlooked the square so it was noisy for a while but quietened down. I expect the back rooms would be much quieter. Windows opened for air but the a/c unit was really efficient and not too noisy or erratic, as many are. There is a small balcony but no balcony furniture. Our suite (but only one room, really) was well furnished with good kitchen equipment, a sofa and chair, and very comfy beds. Flat-screen TV, good lighting, and a well-appointed bathroom. Fluffy towels. Everything was clean. We had two emergencies when staff needed to come to our door and they were super-fast. They took time to answer all our touristy questions. They let us stay extra-long in the parkade and they looked for my lost earring! The lodge advertises itself as "lodge and spa" but the pool and hottub are in the basement, very close to the parking area, which is also a public area, and so my friend would not use the facility. It's mostly concrete and not at all attractive. That was our only complaint. I would gladly stay here again. It was great to be so central.

Room Tip: A room at the back would probably be quieter than overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Blackcomb Lodge during the 'Wonderlust' yoga festival. It was definitely a busy weekend! We are pleased to hear that you felt it was a good choice and that when you did require assistance our staff were prompt in its delivery. It also nice to read that you found the amenities and room matched your needs.

We are sorry that one of your party felt pool area was unsatisfactory. The pool itself is painted concrete but the pool deck and whirlpool are tiled. In the summer I can understand the lack of appeal for an indoor pool but many guests do appreciate it and choose the lodge as it is the only indoor pool area in town located at a hotel.

Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Situated less than 5 mins from the lifts, its convenient for the main lifts. Buses drop off at rear and a 10 second walkto the hotel. Skis are looked after downstairs in the hire shop. I was at the back and heard no noise from anything at the front even with the bands playing live. WiFi was fine and the room was clean and presentable at all times. Would I stay again yes!! says it all really.

Room Tip: It was quiet at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. As you mention the lodge is conveniently located 5 minutes by foot away from the ski lifts and right by where the airport and Vancouver coaches drop off guests.

At numerous times during the year there are free live bands playing out in front of the hotel in the Village Square. They never go much past 7pm (other than during the Olympics) so guests shouldn't expect loud music when trying to get some much needed rest after their day on the ski hill.

We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Due to staff incompetence or inexperience, I had a very unpleasant experience and would not stay here again. My reservation was for a one night stay arriving on August 6. When I arrived, the receptionist stated there was no record of my reservation. Then, he managed to find it on August 5. He admitted that it had been entered wrong and he would have a room for me shortly. Unfortunately, no clean room was available and he asked me to return in a few hours. I picked up my room key three hours later and went to stash my stuff. The key would not work. I returned to the front desk where I was told that I obviously didn't know how to work the key, but he would rekey the card for room 210. I then pointed out that he had written 212 on the paperwork. I dropped off my suitcase, checked to be sure the air conditioner was on and then went to dinner. I returned to a steaming hot room. The air conditioner was burned out and generated heat rather than cold air. Housekeeping verified that it was broken. I called the front desk and the receptionist told me, "Oh yes, that room doesn't have a working unit." It was a known problem before I was even assigned the room. I was moved to a new room at 10:00 PM. After setting in, I went to clean up - no wash clothes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
In reading your review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge it does sounds like almost every thing that could have been mishandled was. For this we must apologize for the poor experience you encountered. We completely agree that this was unacceptable and this has been discussed in meetings among management and brought up with all staff as unacceptable practice.

Again sorry for unfortunate experience you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Blackcomb Lodge before and it is truly an excellent facility ... the location is "second to none", in the heart of vibrant Whistler Village.

The lodge and the suites are well maintained and comfortable ... the place to stay for your Spring, Winter and Fall vacations in Whistler/Blackcomb.

Our recent stay on August 5th revealed the only shortcoming of Blackcomb Lodge ... it is not air conditioned!!

"Yes", the temperatures in Whistler and British Columbia were warm, but the Lodge and our room/suite was even warmer! We asked for a fan and it was delivered at 8:45pm (4 hours after our request) which wasn't in time to cool the unit down for a good nights' sleep.

I will stay her again but never again in the summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JADickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your experience while staying at the Blackcomb Lodge. We are glad to read that it sounds like you had good time staying with us other than the air conditioning situation and warm temperatures.

It has definitely been a challenging summer with the very hot days and lack of air conditioning in the rooms. This was especially true in the studio loft suites where the lofts don't have any air flow. Fortunately for next summer there is plan in place to install proper air conditioning in all the units including the loft areas. Unfortunately this doesn't do anything for guests who stayed this year and we apologize for any discomfort you experienced while staying with us.

We hope to see you again in the future and thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Pemier Resorts for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Location is nice but. . . . . .

The common areas of this hotel where uncomfortably hot.
Upon arriving I wasn't told about paying for parking until after I parked.
Our room wasn't cleaned daily and when it was there was no clean towels.
The elevator is very slow. We found garbage from other guests under the furniture
as I checked in case something of mine slipped under it upon leaving the hotel.

I was in a loft room and there is no way of controlling the temperature upstairs in the loft so don't expect a comfortable sleep in the warmer months. The AC couldn't keep up with the summer heat, buttons where busted off the dvd player, and pleasantly the hotel scheduled construction outside my door early one morning so I got to wake up the 2 hours of hammering.

Oh and the garbage under the chair had a receipt, it had been there for several months.

For being in the heart of the village this a disappointment for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_2ourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We must apologize for the unfortunate experience you had while staying us. It definitely sounds like what could go wrong did during your stay. The issue with the cleanliness of your room were discussed by our management team and then addressed with our housekeeping team.

There have definitely been some hot weekends this summer and during those the common areas of the lodge are warm just as you mentioned. As one of the oldest properties in the building we have had some challenges in that regard. Fortunately the Whistler area features many great lakes and parks where visitors can find respite from the heat during those hot summer days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Property: Blackcomb Lodge
Address: 4220 Gateway Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best address in Whistler! The Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas, art galleries and night life surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is located just a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bedding configurations designed to accommodate both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing