We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackcomb Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Two couples spent an overnight at Blackcomb Lodge during Thursday of 4th of July week. I have skied Whistler, but never visited in the summer. We did not want to have to walk or shuttle bus into the Village. We chose this hotel because it had the least expensive rates (mid-week) for a property right in the Village using the Whistler website. We called the hotel directly to reserve.
The hotel was great value for our 1-night stay. Two rooms, both upgraded from a hotel room to a large studio with sofa-bed and kitchenette. The hotel is directly on the Village Stroll where all the restaurants and shops are located. Always a happy, mixed crowd of families, tourists, dirt bikers and summer skiers strolling and sunning just outside the door. Having read Trip Advisor, we asked for rooms on the quiet side. Less of a mountain view, but no noise from the street. We were warned at check-in that 100 young people were staying for a summer ski camp. The front desk quickly responded to some rowdy student noise around 10pm, and we heard nothing after that. Underground parking was $16 per night - typical for Village properties (parking costs more in the winter). We were denied a late checkout (past 10am) because the hotel was completely full for Friday night. Understandable, and we were allowed to continue parking all day at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Rooms have windows that open, so AC (window units) can be turned off if desired. If you don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for spending the time to post a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you found your stay with us to be of 'great value'. We are also glad to hear that the front desk staff were able deal with any issue caused by the large group of ski staying with the ski camp.

Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 492 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

For a budget hotel the price is too steep. I booked the cheapest room for 1 person and it cost me $114 a night! You get basic amenities and the upside was the service was excellent! I would stay there again if the prices lowered.

Room Tip: There is a noisy side a non noisy side. Ask to be placed on the non noisy side unless you want to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for spending the time to post this review. We are sorry you felt that we were 'well overpriced' and a 'budget' hotel but we are glad to hear that you felt you received excellent guest service. We feel that price is actually very competitive compared to similar properties in the area and similar markets like Kelowna, Banff, Jasper and Vancouver.

We are not a full service hotel like say a Four Season property (and don't claim to be) but we also don't feel we are a 'budget hotel' with our great location, full kitchens, pool facilities and great front desk service.

Guests booking returns stays and longer stays than 1 night do receive discounted rates so hopefully we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellingham WA
1
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel was well located, rooms were great and with the off-season pricing, ridiculously cheap. The frustration was dealing with obnoxiously loud parties in the village lasting until 3:00AM on both a Monday and Tuesday night. I'm sure the walls were made of paper at that point and ear plugs of no help. And the non-functioning hot tub. And the front desk agent that gave me a blank stare when I asked for any assistance upon finding the battery dead on the car as we were attempting to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is unfortunate to hear that you found the stay frustrating due to the outside noise from the Whistler village night club patrons. The location of the Lodge truly is a double edged sword at times with its great convenience to everywhere in the village and its proximity to several night clubs, pubs and bars.

We recommend guests looking for a quieter stay ask for a room on the non village side at time of booking and this will help ensure they get a much quieter room.

Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier Resorts for your Whistler accommodation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. The location was excellent and we couldn't have asked for better service. All the staff are super friendly and very helpful. We needed to change to a larger room and it wasn't a problem at all. Our ladies' weekend at the Blackcomb Lodge was fabulous and we will definitely book rooms here for future celebrations.

Room Tip: South side quieter but more fun on village side for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thanks for spending the time to post this review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We are quite happy to hear that your group had a great time while staying with us. It is also nice to read the great comments regarding your experiences with our staff.

We are pleased to say that since your visit we have finished repairs on our pool area and now the hot tub is fully functional!

We hope to see you guys again in the future!

Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier Resorts for your Whistler accommodation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked an online deal for two separate weekends, including the May long weekend. The staff was polite but when we asked for a late checkout on the holiday monday, we were told that it was not possible because they were booked up for that night. Really? AFTER the long weekend? Room was dated, although clean. The beds were not particularly comfortable. Not up to the usual standards we have come to expect in Whistler, for no great discount. The lodge is also right in the middle of the village. It was noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepcovesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We are sorry that you found your stay with us a little disappointing. The May long weekend was a very busy one for us and even on the Monday night the hotel was near capacity. We try to accommodate guest requests for later check out when we can but on days when the lodge has a big switch over like that Monday it is not always possible.

We are happy to say that since your visit in May we have finished repairs on our pool area and the hot tub is now fully functional!

Thank you for staying at The Blackcomb Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

It's always nice to be in the Villiage when going to Whistler which this lodge gives you but the lodge is very basic and does not impress. Don't expect much other than a bed and TV, you probably also will get more noise here than most other hotels in the villiage because it is right at the end near the pubs/bars. Go if you can get a deal and if you're young and dont mind the noise, otherwise maybe consider something else.

Room Tip: not sure of anyway to get a prime room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsimtcu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NewWestminster
1
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Staff (all from desk to mgr to security to housekeeping) If I could say any more about a super positive attitude & attentive to detail & asking if they can do any more . Wow !!! They helped a friend who needed a room on the Sat & they gave the same rate as mine (a pre book special) and they helped with a heavy bag (while opn a break & I was struggling & they stopped & helped on there time . the only bad thing was the hot tub was not working . Again a 5 out of 5 is my rate for your hotel & higher for service 7 attitude Ralph Burnaby BC

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for spending the time to post this review of your recent stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We are very pleased to read the glowing comments you had regarding all of the staff you encountered during your stay.

We are excited to announce that the hot tub issue of having no jets is being worked on this week. We hope and expect to have a completely functioning hot tub by the beginning of next week!

Thank you again for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier Resorts for your Whistler accommodation needs. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#19 of 49 in Whistler
982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.5 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Address: 4220 Gateway Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range: $89 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best address in Whistler! The Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas, art galleries and night life surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is located just a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bedding configurations designed to accommodate both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing