We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A View of Whistler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistler Blackcomb

Whistler Blackcomb
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.92*
and up
Blackcomb Mountain Winter Snowmobile Tour
Ranked #1 of 30 Nature & Parks in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whistler Blackcomb is consistently ranked the No. 1 ski resort in North America with over 8,171 acres of terrain. As a true four season resort, Whistler Blackcomb offers skiing and snowboarding in the winter and downhill mountain biking and alpine hiking in the summer. Guests can even enjoy summer skiing/riding on the Horstman Glacier in June and July. At Whistler Blackcomb, there is something for everyone all year long.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A View of Whistler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Whistler and Blackcomb mountains are a true majesty in British Columbia. The two peaks share a view for miles over what seems like an endless landscape. As a skier, I reached these peaks by ski lift. On the way up you will experience a drop in temperature, and wind-chill at the summit does cause the journey up to be a bit less fun in the winter. Thick gloves and hand warmers are recommended. Despite the harshness of conditions the trip is very worth it.

The trips down from the tops of these mountains are designed to be skied by almost everyone but they are a bit challenging. The conditions make skiing or snowboarding a bit more difficult. Also, pros enjoy dropping of the peak from wherever they choose, and occasionally cutting off those who stick to the marked courses.

Whistler Mountain is a better location for long distance down-hill skiers. Routs that fit almost every range of ability run from the peak all the way to the base, at either Whistler Creekside, or Whistler Village. Blackcomb Mountain is a directed a bit more towards speed and skill, as its routs tend to be shorter, steeper, and more interwoven with trees. With two full mountains to choose from the will be something to suit the way you enjoy skiing no matter what.

Eating and lodging are not a problem anywhere around these mountains. If done wisely, lodging will not be a major expense. All the hotels are accommodating and friendly too. Both mountains have a wide variety of places to eat both on and off the mountain. In my experience finding a quick meal was not the problem, but the overcrowded restaurants and “huts” were problems. The food came fast, but seating did not.

All in all, the trip has been worth it for me. Just looking off the mountains has made this clear. I cannot describe the view with words, and pictures do not do it justice, so I will not spoil it for you and instead just offer my insight and hope you experience it for yourself.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanDuever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,256
    447
    89
    35
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Whistler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

What's not to love about skiing in Whistler Blackcomb? This was our second visit to the resort and despite the snow base being low for part of the time, the grooming team did a fantastic job of creating great runs. The lift arrangements and catering on the mountains were first class and the friendliness of everyone from liftees to other visitors made our stay perfect.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SMB0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodgeville
Level Contributor
243 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Over a Mile of Vertical and No Altitude Issues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

As a skier prone to altitude sickness above 11,000 feet, Whistler and Blackcomb remove that issue while providing the largest vertical drop of any ski area in North America. Excellent runs of all types are here. From the "Blow Hole"--an expert's expert run, to long touring runs, these mountains have it all. Of course, there is the risk of warmer weather near the base--but not this season so far.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul4ejjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something for everyone, and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned to Whistler after 15 years away - this time with sub-teen kids in tow.
The place has expanded beyond recognition, with many new facilities funded by the 2010 Olympics, not least a new highway that makes getting there and away a breeze.
In spite of it being peak season, we only saw a single lift queue the entire time - and that was on a family slope that we quickly avoided.
There hasn't been much snow this year, and it's to the facilities' credit that the whole of both mountains was fully skiiable, thanks to snow blowers and careful management.
As you'd expect in a resort so large, the ski schools were outstanding, and the kids had a small group of peers who were about the same level as them. They had a great time, and by the end of the week we were all skiing together as a family. So that box is now checked!
Great views, great food, legendary Canadian politeness.
One last plug: our entire trip was booked by http://vipmountainholidays.com/ who truly lived up to their slogan. Every detail was anticipated and handled before we arrived, and we just kicked back to play.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janos_HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“To surprise my grandsons...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I decided to surprise my son and his boys by turning up at Whistler without them knowing of my intentions (different flight etc) and what a super break it turned out to be. Its a wonderful place to ski and as the boys had lessons in skiing and boarding their comments were very favourable too, and became pretty good in both disciplines (ages 17 and 18). I loved the slopes but kept mainly to the red and blue runs but ventured twice onto the black, the black were a little too much for me (its an age thing!), very steep in places, but wonderful runs nevertheless. Watch out for the free guides, they were very good indeed. The evenings were always a delight if not a bit expensive especially beer prices!.
Would go back at the drop of a hat!.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistler Blackcomb also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Blackcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing