We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel to enjoy the mountains!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel to enjoy the mountains!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our first summer trip to Whistler and we really enjoyed staying at this hotel for 2 nights. Its located very close to the Whistler Village. The room was clean, not very big though. But we spent most of our time outdoors anyway. The hotel rents bikes for free during the summer which is great! The pool and jacuzzi were really good with amazing views of the Blackcomb mountain. There is a restaurant opposite to the hotel where we ate breakfast. It was pretty good. There are couple of coffee shops quite close to the hotel in the village, one which was open quite early in the morning. The staff were great and pleasant. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will be back here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Funtravel_rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Funtravel_rk

Thank you for thinking of us so long after your stay!

The Aava is a great choice for a Summer vacation - as you mention we provide free bike rental for our guests and we already look forward to doing it all again this year.

The restaurant that you mention has actually closed however we look forward to opening a new and exciting venture this Summer!

Hopefully we will see you back here again soon!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    701
    213
    55
    20
See reviews for
408
702
91
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is nicely appointed and generally very clean, modern and appealing. At check-in, we could not find anyone to help with our bags, so I grabbed a cart and schlepped them myself. Not a major issue, but I was surprised that the check-in process felt much like a low-key, solo affair.

Our one-bedroom suite was of decent size, and came equipped with a small refrigerator and a Krups coffee machine with complimentary coffee and tea. The furniture was pretty basic, but the bed and pillows were comfortable enough. The bathroom is small, but functional. However, the absence of a bathtub was a little disappointing for our tired legs after long days of skiing. The vigorous flush of the toilet generated a sound like the world was ending, but it certainly was effective. Several other reviews have mentioned the thin walls and the sound that travels from the hallway and neighboring rooms as a result.

The location is convenient to the center of Whistler village, especially with the grocery and liquor store effectively just across the street. However, the walk to the Whistler gondola is just on the cusp of being too far for tiny little legs with ski boots, so maybe not the ideal location for young children.

Parking is very reasonable at C$19/night, and the complimentary ski lockers were a nice benefit. Also, from 2:00 - 5:00 each afternoon, a Nescafe machine is available to crank out complimentary coffee and hot chocolate. A nice touch.

Overall, it was a good stay at a decent value. I would highly recommend the hotel for young hipsters, or couples traveling with no - or older - children. We felt a little out of place with a four year-old. If you have a large family with a bunch of young kids, you are probably better off picking a place in the village.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here before settling in to a condo for the rest of the week. Thank goodness we didn't plan to stay here any longer than one night.

All three of us (2 adults, 1 child) had a terrible night's sleep. Walls are paper thin. Ceilings creaked whenever someone walked in the room above us (we stayed on the first floor). This hotel needs to do something about the noise.

Would not recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HockeyBabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Location was good; beds were comfortable; complimentary ski lockers, locks and beverages in the afternoon were a nice touch; friendly and helpful staff; rooms could be more soundproof; parking was convenient and ample.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Aava 5 nights for a ski trip and were very happy with the clean hotel, friendly and professional staff and outdoor hot tub and pool.

Location: 2 minute walk to bars and restaurants and 5-7 minute walk to the Blackcomb and Whistler gondolas.

Staff: everyone who works in the hotel is super friendly and responsive. We had to change rooms twice (one was dog friendly and my husband is allergic to dogs and the other one had someone smoke in it) and the staff was very accommodating. They provide a free shuttle to the Scandinavian spa (highly recommend to visit) as well as overnight boot drying services.

Hotel and Rooms: overall, the hotel is very clean and well maintained. The rooms have good layouts and modern design. The only negative was that the mattress was way too soft for after a day of skiing. Outdoor hot tub and heated pool were certainly the highlight of the ski trip. The size and the temperature of both were perfect. It would be nice if they had a restaurant and a bar on premises but a 2 minute walk to the town was not a burden.

I would definitely come back to Aava for another stay.

Room Tip: If you are allergic to pets, ask for a room where pets are not allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The room are clean. The bed is comfortable. Very quiet hotel. The personnel are friendly. The view is not the best. But who stay in the room when you are in whistler!!! The spa and swimming pool look nice, but to much busy for us to try. With the room you get a free locker for your equipment.The room are clean. The bed is comfortable. Very quiet hotel. The personnel are friendly. The view is not the best. But who stay in the room when you are in whistler!!! The spa and swimming pool look nice, but to much busy for us to try. With the room you get a free locker for your equipment.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patoche31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Good location in the village with only a short walk to the shops and lifts. Room well presented and clean. Big drawback is there is no bar or restaurant in the hotel. I realise there is enough to be had in the village but us pensioners are knackered after a days skiing and sometimes just like to chill out in the comfort of our hotel without venturing out! Excellent front of house. Hot tub permanently occupied by youngsters surrounded by beers every time we looked. Put us off going out to use it. An enjoyable 5 night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryandsuescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Property: Aava Whistler Hotel
Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing