We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we never had to leave Whistler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We wish we never had to leave Whistler”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had the good fortune to spend a night here for a very reasonable rate, compared to alternatives in Whistler. Our room was very clean. This place was built for the 2010 Olympics, so imagine how new and clean it is. The decor is kind of modern compared to other ski hotels, but who cares? The back window looked out over the golf driving range next door and behind it was Whistler Mountain. Nice view. We had been traveling and site seeing for days, so this was a nice break to just look out and watch the golfers of all skills levels practice hitting balls. Our king bed was very comfortable and the room had a frig and HDTV. With provided bathrobes this place would serve as a romantic getaway.

If you've ever been to Whistler, you know how much is going on here, even in the summer. It's light until 9PM and there are concerts in the park on Friday and Saturday nights, plus all the night life in the bars and restaurants. Can we live here?

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room. Then, you can watch the golfers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    704
    213
    55
    20
See reviews for
409
704
92
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012. Hotel is only a 1 minute walk into the main street in Whistler. Very friendly staff at reception. Rooms are a good size and modern, also had a view of the golf driving range. White spot over the road is a good place to eat for 1 night. Although it may be quiter than other restraunts in Whistler, it makes up for it with fantastic burgers at a good price. Only problem was that the pool and gym are small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James-nh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Aava Hotel! We loved it so much that we extended our trip to stay another night. The staff were all extremely pleasant and very accommodating! We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Aava was great! Allison was really helpful with a last minute booking and staff at the front desk were great with answering questions etc or directing us to where we could get answers. The pool and hot tub are a bit small and I can see how those get crowded in the winter but we didn't have that problem given that we were there after a long weekend in the summer.

The room (king suite) was great, very spacious. We stayed in the suite with the soaker tub and it was perfect for letting go of all that wedding stress. The bed was very comfortable and even though we were on the side with the road, we heard very little traffic noise. We also appreciated the younger vibe at the hotel! Other ones we walked into at Whistler had staff in uniform looking so somber but the Aava folks always seemed to be in a good mood.

The only downer was that the hotel has no restaurant attached. There is literally a White Spot right next door but neither of us are big fans of the chain so we walked up to the Village each time. It'd also be nice if a microwave were in the suites just so we could reheat some of our dinner leftovers or make a quick breakfast.

Room Tip: Take a look at the floor plans and talk to staff! Both are great resources.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good location (1 min walk from the nearby whistler golf course and 2 min walk to the dinning area of the village). Clean room. Friendly staff. The only drawback is the small bathroom. The counter can barely fit two people's toiletries.

The photo about the pool is a bit deceiving. It's much smaller than what it appears to be. I don't swim so I don't care tho.

Oh another downside is parking costs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backspin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the modern Aava hotel for two nights during our visit to Whistler. The rooms were extremely spacious, clean, modern with comfortable beds. Large bathroom with a powerful shower also in the rooms.

The hotel has a small outdoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi facilities.

The hotel staff provided useful tourist information and discounts for our trip up to Whistler.

The only problem we had was on our return when we were charged for a room we had already paid in advance with Hotels.com. We have been told that we will be reimbursed shortly by the hotel who admitted their mistake. Check your bill carefully on check out if you have paid in advance!

Overall this is a hotel that offers fantastic rooms for good value.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Property: Aava Whistler Hotel
Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing