We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed at the Aava from 12/20/11-12/23/11. Best rate in Whistler for a family of four during the christmas holiday. The location of the hotel for the rate can't be beat. Across the street, up a few stairs, you are right in the middle of Whistler Village. A 5 minute walk ( with a toddler) you are at the lift. The bed was comfortable and clean. Easy to relax and get a good night sleep. Free Wi-fi, works better on upper floors than lower floors. weak signal on first floor, strong on the third floor. Rooms where avarage in size, two full/queen beds. First floor room a bit large than our third floor room. My children love the tub to relax after a day in the snow. Very large deep tub.

Like the convience of having lockers to store ski and snowboarding equipment when not
in use.

If you are worry about noise from the village don't worry, only noise came from the people staying at the hote. lOur room was on the first floor, there were lot's of young people staying there, lot of late night party. After expressing this to the clerk we where move to the third floor where it was quiet. They move all our stuff, even putting our food in the fridge for us, while we where on the slope. Not a peep was heard the remaining time.

The staff was wonderful!Even though everything was walking distance, with 2 young kids and the ski gear, 2 min walk can feel like an hour. The staff was nice enough to shuttle us around, gave us recommendation to save money. The free parking coupon was beneficial, parking is $20 a day.

The white spot restaurant on the same lot, was affordable, cheaper than some breakfast chain, and convenient. Offer an additional 10% off for staying at the Aava.

Only draw back, no microwave in the facility. The clearance in the parking lot is very low, and parking is tight fit. My SUV barely made it through the clearance.

Room Tip: Asked for a room on higher floor to get better wi-fi signal. They will honor tripadvisor parking co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaiifor1sttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

Heres another business that pushes you to rate them on Tripadvisor because they understand the affect that positive reviews have on their bottom line. If they where not pushing people to give them positive feedback on this site (they have a sign on the front desk asking you to do so) I don't think their score would be so high. I am leaving this review to help balance out an over-inflated rating.

** DO NOT TAKE YOUR GIRLFRIEND/PARTNER HERE FOR A ROMANTIC WEEKEND AWAY. **

Two reasons:

1 .. It's really a budget hotel in disguise as a 'new contemporary boutique hotel' -- no, no, no. When we stayed there it was packed with families and kids -- the noise level is terrible, expect to be woken up at 8am with some screaming kids running down the hallway.

2. I booked a two night stay for my girlfriends birthday and called ahead to have flowers, champagne and chocolates put in the room, at my expense of course.. the lady also promised a discount spa package. I didn't receive anything on check in and sure enough the flowers/chocolates never made it inside the room despite my constant efforts at discrete communication by phone and email.

By the time the damage had been done the guy I spoke to tried his best to fix the problem but it was already too late, our hotel certainly did not make our trip to whistler feel special at all.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cytae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review "pentae".

Our apologies for the disappointing visit and the oversights that you had encountered during your stay. As you had identified, our team had missed some of the details of your reservation requests prior to your arrival, and regrettably were unable to recover your amenity requests that you had pre-arranged for your girlfriend. I appreciate your recognition of Hartman and his efforts to correct our oversight - he is one of our finest for sure!

We do appreciate the opportunity for guests to provide feedback through many channels such as Tripadvisor and others, and our staff and management teams take great pride and ownership of all feedback; both positive and constructive to reflect upon, and when required, implement change or adjust procedures in order to always improve upon every guests' experience.

Travelling during the Christmas Holidays is a difficult time to enjoy the property and the entire resort in a truly private and romantic manner; and yes you will definitely be travelling with a few families and many children, who are also enjoying this period on school and work holidays in their own way!

To clarify, we see no need to wear a disguise at Aava. We aim to provide "true mountain value" in Whistler, combining modern style and attentive service. With almost 90% of our Tripadvisor guests ranking us "Very Good" or "Excellent", I definitely think we are on the right track, and we are certainly not "pushing" for those comments by inviting our guests to share their positive experiences.

I regret that you did not enjoy a similar experience this visit, and hope we would have the opportunity to invite you back in future to enjoy the property to the level for which we are more often recognized.

Regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
1
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great hotel for what you pay. In terms of the room, every amenity you would find in a nice 5 star hotel you could find in Aava. If you are not one who would care for extra services such as gym, spas, (Aava has a small gym and Jacuzzi tht gets REALLY crowded) restaurants or cafes in the hotel,, but care more about the room, Aava is an excellent choice for what you pay. Only drawback is the VERY thin walls as you can hear footsteps, people talking as they walk by right outside your room. We heard in a few instances of a few drunk parties right outside our room (but quickly ended). Overall good hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I booked last minute and didn't know what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised.
The room was really nice, it had robes for the hut tub, and a mini fridge for keeping drinks cold. all the staff was friendly

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife and I decided to make a quick jaunt to Whistler to finally see some snow after a rainy Christmastime stay in Vancouver. We called the hotel on Christmas Day to make a reservation for the following night; the staff on the phone were super friendly and offered us a very competitive rate relative to similar class hotels nearby. They also provided good advice for the room choice; I would indeed recommend to any potential guests to consider for a reasonable extra cost the superior rooms on the top floor as the vaulted ceilings give a sense of greater space. The hotel is modern (albeit in a somewhat cold and impersonal way), impeccably clean and situated within easy access off the Sea to Sky highway and just steps from the main street of the Village. It has a spacious underground garage for secure parking. The reservation staff were also very helpful in booking for us ahead of time a splendid nighttime sleigh ride and fondue dinner package that was the highlight of our short stay. All in all, we could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room for extra ceiling space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Clean room. Modern decor. Enough said.

I booked this hotel in an early bird special. If you can get it, this is a great place to stay at least up to a week.

Accommodations were very nice for the price.

Only one problem: Could be a bit spartan if staying more than a week. Try to find room in your budget for a place with a kitchen if staying at Whistler a bit longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank 3EdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Aava for three nights, checking out on Christmas Day. We had a suite for the three of us with one adjoining bedroom. The rooms were clean, confortable and quiet and the location was perfect for accessing the village by multiple routes. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hotel. The hotel is not the 'destination resort', the village is, and we found this to be the perfect place to stay without paying 'destination' rates. The only possible criticism would be that the lighting could be better placed and possibly brighter but that's an insignificant matter. We plan to go back to Whistler and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaG914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#2 of 49 in Whistler
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $122 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing