We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Sidecut

Sidecut
Reserve with OpenTable
Sidecut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 190 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Named for the curvature on the side of a ski or snowboard, Sidecut offers a modern take on traditional mountain cuisine. Situated in the celebrated alpine location of Whistler, the restaurant's sleek wood interior offers an inviting setting where diners can cozy up to the open fireplace or dine on our sun soaked patio. Enjoy dishes such as the Steakhouse "Sushi" Roll, Bourbon Birch Braised Belly of Pork, or prime-aged steakhouse cuts, cooked to perfection and inimitably paired with house-made rubs and signature sauces. Featuring a locally-sourced menu that evolves seasonally, the restaurant's farm- and ocean-to-table influence pays homage to British Columbia's diverse fare. To complement any meal, the extensive wine list features international labels as well as an exclusive selection of B.C.'S premier vintages. Here, steak is more than a meal. It's an experience.
WV
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The experience at Sidecut was fun and delicious! Our waitress made the experience interesting! She described the choices and was very helpful! They have incredible sauces that you can try with your entrees! The filets are outstanding!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Glmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    112
    50
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were expecting great things from Sidecut as many people had told us how good it was. Sadly we were disappointed, not by the food generally, but by the service and the sheer noise level.

We had a table very close to the bar where a party had been going on earlier and the people left were extremely loud and obnoxious with no thought for anyone else in the restaurant.

The service, for a five star hotel, was very poor. We were seated and left with no menus or offers to order drinks for a good 10 minutes.

One of our party ordered a caesar salad for starter and was very disappointed - 'lettuce on a plate' was how he described it. Very little dressing.

The steaks were extremely good and did live up to the hype we had heard. However, we would probably not bother to return.

The highlight of the evening was the magician who was visiting tables - he was extremely good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly9107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best ribeye steak we have ever had.”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Located inside the lovely Four Seasons Hotel this steak house is one of the best we have tried (too bad they don't have one in Las Vegas). A 32 oz ribeye with bone in succulent and tasty. Cream of spinach and wasabi mash was awesome. Great options for desert. Good service and attractive dining area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IolandaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

nice envioronment, great steak and not expensive at all! wine was also great.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Spotngrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“will convert the non steak eaters”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I don't normally choose steak as I dont like it much - however when in a steakhouse it is the wise choice.

Nice contemporary decor.

I asked for the "thinnest" steak - it turned out to be the ribeye - and it was amazingly tender and delicious. The chef adds a 'rub" to it that you get to choose which one. They also bring you an array of sauces with the steak, but why would you want to mask the amazing flavour with a sauce!

The salads and other appetisers were fantastic! Even the venison and I normally hate venison.

We sampled a bit of the huge "cowboy steak" delivered to the next table - I really didnt like this - $200 for a chewy raw piece of meat - it was awful - but the people who ordered it seemed to like it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fluffybinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidecut also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Sidecut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing