We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Restaurant”
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Ranked #21 of 188 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Locally inspired cuisine set in a casual bistro atmosphere. Chef Nicholas Cassettari combines his classic training, top tier experience, and world travels with the best of B.C.'S bounty to create the fine flavours at Alta Bistro. Service is casual and prompt in the dining room and bar. The wine list is French focused, with the best of B.C. As well as international selections (many by the glass) with Enomatic machines dispensing fine and eclectic selections to pair with Alta's cuisine. Mixologists behind our bar craft some of Whistler's finest cocktails. The cozy bistro atmosphere is lively and welcoming. Reservations are a must.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The restaurant decor was very nice but casual. The food was fabulous. I savoured every bite! Fun chatting with the waiter. A memorable evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    122
    45
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had such an amazing meal here! The only menu option is a three course meal for $29, but it was beyond our expectations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaHVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing interms of food and service”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently visited Whistler to start our ski season. My husband visited trip adviser and choose this restaurant based on other reviews. We were not disappointed, quite the contrary we were blown away. Incredible food and presentation, but our server went above and beyond in terms of describing the food and discussing wine pairings with my husband. He even provided samples of his suggestions before we ordered the wine. The meal exceeded our expectations-innovative with blending of flavours and textures -the wine pairings complimented each course. A definite restaurant of our choice for our next visit

Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in Creekside and visited the Alta Bistro on our first evening. There was a great choice of food and probably one of the best meals Ive ever had. The choices were unusual yet amazing flavours. If you are visiting Whistelr this has to one of your top of the list restaurants.To me this place offered fine dining at great value prices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank 729MrsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I visited the Alta Bistro with an out-of-town guest from Toronto on October 27, 2012. The last time we were in Whistler, we walked by the Alta Bistro after having had an average dinner at Quattro, read the menu, peeked inside, and knew we'd have to eat there the next time we were in the village.

What we didn't know was that the Alta Bistro is so good that you need a reservation. The owner said that they ususally fill up 2 weeks in advance. Instead of being disapointed, we felt even more strongly that we needed to eat there. We chatted up the owner, who is kind and generous. We told him we were dying to eat at the Alta Bistro and that our friend had come all the way from Toronto to eat there! He moved some chairs around, gave us a spot to wait at until some folks that were finishing up left, and then squeezed us in at the bar.

The bartender is a real gem. A treat to watch and very dedicated to making amazing and creative drinks.

The food is superb. Creative, local, fresh, delicious. Just the right amount of food.

We had an outstanding experience. Every dish was perfect. ALL of the staff were kind, attentive, helpful, and efficient. We very much appreciated being accommodated with no reservation.

In all honesty, after trying the Alta Bistro, I will never eat anywhere else in Whistler again. Next time I'll make a reservation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hayestm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing