We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a hotel but terrible Guest Services on the mountain itself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspens on Blackcomb
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location for a hotel but terrible Guest Services on the mountain itself”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I will never go back to Whistler Blackcomb for the simple reason that the lack of service by the Guest Services people of the mountain cost me hundreds of extra dollars. To date my requests for help with the problems has gone not only not helpful but just ignored. I will also not recommend the mountain to others because of the treatment I got there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review, but am so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with Whistler Blackcomb guest relations.

we do however hope that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aspens on Blackcomb.
Warmest regards
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    116
    54
    18
    18
See reviews for
136
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We just recently stayed five nights in unit 235. The accommodations were fine as it pertains to cleanliness and quality of bedding. I would stay at the Aspens again as we enjoyed the location in the upper village and the proximity to the slopes.
The disappointment was where unit 235 was located. We booked our room through Allura Direct. The description of the accommodations stated you would wake up to the view of the mountains from the bedroom and living room. The listing also made no reference to the specific unit (this was done post booking prior to arrival). We also reviewed the listings pictures that did not provide any indication as to what we would be facing (they conveniently did not show this).

In summary we were on the second floor directly in front of the only drive in entrance to the property. Directly to our right was the entrance to the property and directly to the left was the entrance to the underground garage. Every morning between 5:30 am and 6am we would awake to the sounds of large delivery trucks removing garbage, linens....etc....it was not once, but every day a large truck(s) would be right in front of the unit (30 feet). You would here all of the notice and the beeping and sounds of removing items and dumping garbage.

In addition as this is the main entrance every night when the bars close and people are taking cabs back to the Aspens or walking back from the bars you would hear all of the noise directly outside of your window (even with the windows closed).

On the booking web site there is clearly NO indication that you are situated right in front of the main hub of activity for deliveries and entrance to the property.

I would strongly suggest if you are entertaining booking at the Aspens you review the property map that shows where the units are located and that you do not book a unit that directly faces the parking garage or entrance to the building.

Upon further investigate I found other web site that included the unit number. I would suggest using one of these sights. The price appears similar or the same as to what we paid for a unit that is over looking the courtyard where the pool is located. These appeared to be great locations (and where most units are situated or others overlook treed areas).

Although the descriptor of this property on this allura direct web site was not incorrect it was a little misleading as we expected to be overlooking the slopes, not being woken up by garbage truck, linen trucks, and exposed to quite a bit of sound from cars entering the parking garage and people returning from the bars at night.

We will stay at the aspens again only if we could get a unit that faces the pool.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith P, Owner at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you found the linens, the cleanliness and convenient slope-side location of the property to be to your satisfaction.

However, as the owners of 235, we are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet all of your expectations.

The Aspens on Blackcomb is located on the slopes of Blackcomb mountain. Our unit, along with approximately fifty others, does face the entrance to the complex, and there is a view of the mountain and the ski runs that can clearly be seen beyond the entrance to the property.

Generally, for security reasons or otherwise, exact addresses for rental properties are not given in advertisements. Anyone who has ever asked about the location of the unit in the building has always been told exactly where it is. People concerned about the location often do ask for these details.

The issue of the linen truck arriving early has been dealt with through the building management and it now comes later in the day. Having stayed in this unit many times ourselves, this has been the only delivery that had occasionally arrived in the early hours. Garbage is picked up later in the afternoon.

As to the noise made by late night revelers returning to the building, this sort of noise can also be heard in the pool area since that is the other entrance to the complex. Regardless of your actual room number, their will occasionally be some disturbance in any such complex. Whistler is a world class resort community that caters to visitors who come to enjoy themselves both on and off the slopes.

As owners and frequent users, my family and I are proud of our home away from home. We have updated and renovated our condo to a style and standard of comfort that we feel anyone, not just ourselves, would enjoy. We plan to update the kitchen area and appliances this fall to make it as comfortable as we can. We have received many compliments and good reviews for our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

For a resort the size of Whistler-Blackcomb, there seem to be a relatively small number of true ski in ski out condos. The Aspens is a terrific location where you take your skis off an just a few hundred feet walk accross the courtyard and you are there. In the morning, there is no walking uphill, you walk accross a flat paved path and put your skis on a go right down to the lift. When you are ready to go into the Village, you can just walk down the ski slope and it is about a 10 minute easy walk from there.

The condos are a little dated and small, but comfortable enough. There were no dressers in any of the bedrooms I saw, just wire racks in the closet and the space around the bed was not large enough to lay out a suitcase. The housekeeping was more infrequent than I have had at other resorts, only one touch up every 4 days and you have to take your own garbage and recycling out.

There is a ski shop downstairs, which is really convenient. It would have been nice if there was a bar or little store to buy beer downstairs, but there wasn't.

Probably the most inconvenient part is when you go to the grocery store and you don't have a car, you have to take 2 different busses and it takes a very long time. I would probably just get a taxi the next time I do that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA-beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with ResortQuest Whistler, and all the amenities we have to offer to offer.
We also thank you for your informative information for other guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again.
Warmest regards
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our unit was a one bedroom suite. It was quite basic in terms of finish and furnishings but was fine and the location was very good for skiing. As the units are individually owned, I assume that there is quite a variation in the finish of the different units.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, and for choosing to stay with ResortQuest Whistler.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again.
Warmest regards
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I believe Intrawest bill this as 4 star accommodation, but it certainly is not that (3 star is accurate). We had a very spacious 1 bedroom junior suite - large bedroom and living area with gas heater and full kitchen. Absolutely no complaints about the rooms itself - it exceed our expectations. Disappointed that the 'king bed' we paid for was actually two singles shoved together. The hot tubs were always overflowing with geriatrics - reminiscent of a 70's swingers party. So we stayed away from them. Location is awesome being right on the slopes. Don't expect any assistance with luggage, and the ski locker / baggage storage is not very secure. No housekeeping even for extended stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with ResortQuest Whistler,
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the bed, but can only hope that you found it comfortable.
As we are a loge not a hotel we do not offer the amenities that most hotels offer, but that is apparent in the the nightly amount we charge, we also do offer a ski valet to eliminate any issues with ski storage.
With regards to the hot tub, we aim to be a family friendly lodge and so we cater to all ages.

I hope that this information helps you with any future stays you May book with us.
Thank you again for your review

Warmest regards
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
2.5 mi away
Legends
Legends
#10 of 49 in Whistler
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,280 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspens on Blackcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspens on Blackcomb

Property: Aspens on Blackcomb
Address: 4800 Spearhead Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspens on Blackcomb 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay at The Aspens on Blackcomb, a gorgeous Whistler resort with individually-decorated furnishings and the option of spectacular mountain views. Centrally located in North America’s top ski resort, you’ll be able to hit the slopes straight from your front door. The Aspens on Blackcomb is the perfect romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aspens on Blackcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing