We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The old bate and switch riip off!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embarc Whistler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Embarc Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The old bate and switch riip off!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

I bought into the Club Intrawest time share in 1995 for $17000 for the sole purpose of access to the best skiing in the world at Whistler Black Comb. I was falsely misled into believing they actually had a working getaway plan where they stated if there is a vacancy still open within two weeks of the reservation, for $80 you can get the room. The reality is there are no vacancies even when they already checked out! They save money on cleaning and utility costs and WE don't get what we paid for. The anual fees have doubled since the 90's , I now pay $1300 american dollars annual maintenance for an overbooked resort. Any one want to buy my Club Intrawest rip off time share?

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the outside walls of the complex if you want to sleep past 5am because the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 5SKIDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    106
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
137
86
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We were looking forward to a wonderful week in Whistler, but we were so disappointed with the studio room we were assigned that we left the resort after only one awful night, and paid for a superb suite at the Westin for the remaining six days of our trip to Whistler.

Originally, we chose a hard-to-book week at the Club Intrawest Whistler after being fooled by the highly rated reviews we read on this site. But the good reviews are very deceiving! When you look forward to a vacation for almost a year, and the actual conditions at the resort do not meet your basic expectations, then the entire experience is affected.
For us, we were extremely disappointed, especially when our concerns were not taken into consideration or any attempts made to rectify them...so we left....and we'll never choose that complex again.

To be specific:
We were given a Two-bedroom Bonus Week Certificate, and although it was low season for the week we booked our trip to Whistler, and the resort was practically empty when we got there, we were told that only a studio room was available.
* The room itself was microscopic (it's a locked off bedroom portion of the two bedroom unit). * You could barely walk around the small queen size bed.
* There is no spot to set any suitcases. They had to be placed on the floor blocking the door.
* The TV is tiny (about an 18" screen) set high on the wall opposite the bed, making it impossible to view unless you are plunked against the bed's tree-branch "headboard"....but there are only two small pillows which were not enough to make a comfortable cushion to lean against.
* It was very dark in the room and there were only two small reading lamps on either side of the bed....even during daylight with the blinds open it was hard to read. At night, the bathroom light was the only narrow light source.
* The "kitchenette" facilities were a joke. One two foot wide cabinet held a microwave & apt.size fridge, but there was nowhere to put groceries or dishes for preparing anything.
* One of the worst parts was that the only sink in the room was around the corner in the bathroom, so all food prep and dish washing had to be done amid the bathroom articles! Gross and inconvenient to say the least.
* Now, the BED .... absolutely one of the worst beds we've ever encountered around the world! The mattress was thin, narrow & short, skimpy, and lumpy....worthy of being dumped long ago! It was sooo uncomfortable that neither of us slept more than a few hours on it, and awoke with horrible back aches. Oh, and forget having any decent type linens or a comfy duvet for a snowy night's warmth. And the ancient quilted flowered bedspread gives you the creeps just wondering when it was washed last.

So after such a disappointing & frustrating night, we asked the desk clerks again to please change our room, but they were rude and very dismissive. That was the final straw, so we spent the day looking at rooms in multiple other hotels around Whistler.....all gorgeous & luxurious in comparison to the sub-standard one. Someone with authority should do the same to get some ideas on how to improve the Club Intrawest.
The Club Intrawest manager has commented on this site about others' low assessments of the resort by saying that he "would love to have the opportunity to serve you & your family again"....but obviously he has not addressed the features that people complain about. And note that there have only been 9 reviews on Club Intrawest Whistler the entire year!! I would like to know how many more people don't have the nerve to be honest about how awful the rooms are.

Whistler is an incredibly beautiful locale, but our week's vacation there wasn't enhanced at all by the deplorable accommodations at the cheap & nasty Club Intrawest.

Room Tip: Don't settle for a Studio room whatever you do!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sweetwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubIntrawest, General Manager at Embarc Whistler, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear sweetwise,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the opportunity to reply to your comments about your stay at Club Intrawest - Whistler. It is certainly with great pleasure that as per your request, I will address every one of your comments.

First of all I would like to start by addressing that, after reviewing your previous five contributions on TripAdvisor, it seems that you try to use this valuable tool to try to do everything possible to ruin establishments reputation. I still cannot see your valuable review of the superb suite you stayed in at another hotel in Whistler. But please do not take me wrong, as it is also good to know that fellow travelers have the opportunity and free will to decide whether or not to consider any reviews. I believe that after anyone makes a statement such as being fooled by previous reviews, it becomes openly disrespectful to those travelers who took valuable time to provide all of us with very valuable feedback.

As per your request - let's be specific:

As a timeshare owner you know that not all resorts and locations around the world have the same value. If you are given a two-bedroom bonus by a timeshare exchange company that is not part of the Intrawest Resort Club Group (which was your specific case), chances are that you will not get the same type of unit that you have on a bonus week. This is simply due to the fact that Club Intrawest Locations have usually a much higher demand and value than that of other resorts. You were very well aware of this situation prior to arriving.

I can only guess that your perception of low season in Whistler was based on what you saw around town and in the adjacent hotels; fortunately in our case, we were very busy and occupied during the night you stayed with us. I agree with you that Studios are far different in size from a two-bedroom, therefore your disappointment, which I totally understand. Still our Studios are of great size; remember those in 5-star properties in Europe? Those are indeed close to your description of microscopic.

I am sorry to say that there is enough space to place your suitcase, unless you were traveling with more than three. All Studios have enough and ample space above the dishwasher machine. However, I must tell you that foldable luggage stands would be beneficial in those Studios, and we will gladly look into it as a result of your candid comments.

The TV is definitely not a 42 inch. Based on Member's feedback that I've been gathering lately, the size is comfortable to watch from the bed, which comes indeed with two comfortable pillows; there is one more in the closet, and you can always request as many as you wish from Member Reception, available 24/7. The Tree Branch Headboard is a signature at Club Intrawest - Whistler, I am sorry to learn you did not enjoy it.

The lighting in every Vacation Home has been carefully revised to ensure we provide with a comfortable setting to all Members. It really is a surprise to hear that your Studio was dark even with the blinds open. During day time, Studios are well lit and particularly bright.

Our Studios feature what it's called a Mini Kitchen, which has a microwave, bar refrigerator, coffee maker, dishwasher, dishes and utensils for two. In none of our pieces or website we advertise a kitchenette. I guess you were misled thinking about the information you received from your bonus week certificate.

I am sure many travelers agree with you about the inconvenience of doing dirty dishes in the bathroom sink. Therefore we provide a dishwasher in every Studio. It is a small one that conveniently fits the dishes of two. We even provide the soap for it. It seems you also missed this feature.

I do not know how much you have traveled around the world, but it seems not enough to say our beds are the worst. If a 10 inch thick mattress is thin for you, then I -and fellow travelers- have no option but to agree with you. When you refer to narrow and short, well I guess your measurements of a queen size bed differ from ours. The mattress we feature is a Serta 266, which I invite you to take a look at the reviews of it on the Web. All duvets, linens and bed spreads are professionally cleaned.

Again, thank you for providing us with the opportunity to reply to your honest and well-thought comments. It will be a pleasure to have the chance to seeing you again in Whistler and to provide you with the opportunity to better serve you.

Sincerely,

Pablo Contreras -Rodríguez, Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Staff are great, rooms are cozy ! Wether your in a studio or one bedroom lodge they are all amazing. We always stay here and would never stay anywhere else. Friends of ours have a time share here and we are now considering the same.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubIntrawest, General Manager at Embarc Whistler, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear milanie,

Thank you very much for providing the travel community with your feedback about your wonderful experience at Club Intrawest - Whistler.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Pablo Contreras-Rodríguez, Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We visited Club Intrawest through an exchange with Interval International, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very spacious accomodation, friendly staff, good location (a few minutes' walk from the centre of Whistler village). The kids loved the games room and outdoor heated (hot!) pools - and the ability to choose the evening film in the cinema!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo_Contreras_R, General Manager at Embarc Whistler, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear shargs,

Thank you very much indeed for providing your valuable review regarding your recent stay at Club Intrawest - Whistler.

It is certainly a wonderful facility for families and we are glad to hear you and your little ones took full advantage of it.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,

Pablo Contreras-Rodríguez, Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Whistler BC is a fantastic place! We've been here at least 5-6 times staying at different properties.

Club Intrawest is located just a few minutes from the village. We stayed in a Studio and frankly it was rundown. For example, the door molding strip was just hanging in a 4 ft strip from our door. We had to skirt it everytime we went through the door.

The mini-fridge did not work properly, for example the defrost did not work and we had 3 inches of ice accumulating. The icemaker was also on the blink.

Bed was very uncomfortable and clearly the cheapest they could find!

There are many other properties nicer to stay in whistler. Maybe because this is a timeshare, and that people are already locked in due to a membership, that they don't have to work as hard. Also, because Whistler is such a high demand area, my opinion is that they take visitors for granted...

Bottom line, look elsewhere for a better lodging experience

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank King06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo_Contreras_R, General Manager at Embarc Whistler, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear King06,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable review regarding your perception of Club Intrawest - Whistler.

Your comments are not taken lightly and are highly appreciated. We will continue striving to work hard in our Vacation Homes to ensure they are kept in top shape as usual.

The Club Intrawest - Whistler Team appreciates your feedback, and we would love to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Pablo Contreras-Rodríguez, Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is our first time to Whistler and it is fabulous. The drive from Vancouver is breathtaking. Upon arrival at this resort you are greeted by wonderful front desk staff who are patient and accommodating. Anything we have requested has been attended to with enthusiasm by all we have met.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was my first experience in Whistler, BC. I was concerned that because Whistler is a skiing destination, a summer vacation would be lacking. I was pleasantly surprised. There were as many activities going on that were extremely entertaining. Bike racing, mountain views, farmers markets, were just a few of the many activities. i stayed at the Intrawest property and was satisfied. Then beds were extremely comfortable but the furniture is aging. The amenities were great especially the in house movie theatre. The THX sound system really made it an enjoyable experience and with the Fairmont and Four Seasons hotels next door, good food was always accessible. The weather was FANTASTIC so don't let the fear of rain turn you away. The weather here was mountains above the eastcoast hurricane season and we were blessed to have chosen this time of year. Just a great time for all in September!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Whistler

Property: Embarc Whistler
Address: 4580 Chateau Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Club Intrawest - Whistler)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embarc Whistler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class mountain resortClub Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. Just a short walk from the slopes of Blackcomb Mountain, Club Intrawest – Whistler features beautifully appointed mountain lodge style Vacation Homes. Full kitchens, oversized balconies, in-room washer/dryer, Jacuzzi tubs and complimentary wireless internet access are just the beginning. Enjoy a family pool environment, an adult pool environment, eucalyptus steam room, BBQ areas, private movie theatre, games room, fitness center and more. Venture out and Whistler/Blackcomb is right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Embarc Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Whistler Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing