We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget conscious hostess and her world famous breakfasts”
Review of Golden Dreams B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Dreams B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Whistler B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Our hostess was out for the day when we arrived, and we were greeted by her son who was desperately trying to get out and leave us to it.
The breakfasts were indeed different every day but other guests we met were less than happy it was a Vegan breakfast, because cakes were offered for the most important meal of the day (we are told by those that know). If you like lots of fruit, berries, oats and yoghurt with a smothie or two thrown in (literally of well ripe fruit) then breakfast is recommended, but if you expect a hot breakfast with any form of meat then you will be disappointed.
The room we had was the bear room which was far from bare and was not as big as the webpage made it look. The bedding could have done with upgrading as it was old and full of catches. We even found a pair of ladies underwear under the bed which we did not own, and were not told that the Sherry (that looked as if it had been in the decanter for years) on the repro tallboy was for our use.
Very conscious of having to take your shoes off before entering upstairs and we never heard the noise of a hoover for the 8 day's we were there, probably as we left our shoes off but saw plenty of dust.
Even though there was the implied use of a kitchen, we only dare make a coffee and prepare our own packed lunches as we were advised to make sure our own food was left in our own rooms. Evidence of well matured peaches and other things that were past their use by date which we were told were used in cooking for us( well, if it smells I suppose I could have been forgiven for being extra specially careful of e-coli etc) and not to throw anything away. That surprised me as the hostess said that she found things in her fridge that she said had been there for months.
The guests rest room, full of memorabelia and family photographs, books, magazines etc. The tv was something else which we could not master but that made me grateful to stop my husband crashing out in front of it.
Comments made about the hot tub being on all the time humming getting through any open window (which you had to open as there was no Aircon) and disturbing your sleep I totally adhere to.
Whistler/Canada had a special deal going, stay two nights and get 3rd free, we were not offered and only got a "to go" breakfast on our last morning as the hostess was on holiday. That consisted of a jam sandwich without butter, 4 very ripe apricots and yes, 4 cakes that were defrosted the previous day contrary to Ann's "home cooked food" and was shop bought.
It is a fair way from the Village that is separated into sections. Budget conscious people should be aware that it is not cheap and varies which shop you go to. Everyone was welcoming and the beer was fascinating, varied in price and would recommend a pitcher in Brew House which was by far the best "pub" we had been to in Canada.
This is not a hotel, if it were we would have made a bigger fuss, but you felt humbled in Ann's presence at times.
Watch out in the ground floor bathroom. If you have mobility problems you will not get into the shower easily. It is inside the bath, with three steps up to the top edge of the bath which if slippery would be difficult to climb. The showerhead is situated as such that you have to bend backwards to get your hair under it, not easy for older people.
We made the best of our accommodation and I feel, not my partner that I would probably not go back there and recommend it to people not on a budget who would take my comments as a personal, honest experience. If I had been a mystery shopper, I would probably not have given it a 5 star rating, more like a 2 star.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenDreamsHostess, Owner at Golden Dreams B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

It's funny how some guests appear to be having a wonderful stay and write complimentary remarks in the guestbook. Then after they leave and from the comfort of behind their computers write up negative remarks!

Our CREATIVE NUTRITIOUS breakfast is raved about and different day as widely advertized. Perhpas these mature/senior English guests expected a typical greasy English breakfast in Canada? I alternate daily from a carbohydrate based (waffles/pancakes) to a protien based (Eggs Golden Dreams with smoked salmon) hot breakfast along with a starter of fruit/yogurt/ housemade granola etc. Healthy west coast style for sure!

Some duvet covers/ linens have now been upgraded and replaced, as needed.
If a decanter of sherry is in your room, it probably IS for you to sip on. Dugh?

Yes, shoes off in the carpeted areas of home. Simply manners.
Like really, were you here every day, ALL 8 DAYS so that you never heard the hoover?

Keeping your non-perishable personal food items in your guest room is appreciated. Refriegerated items are welcome in guest kitchen.
Yes, occasionally I do purchase store bought baking as back-up.

Wish you better luck at your next B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2009

Ann has lived in the area for a number of years & it shows. She has great ideas on what to do & where to eat. Make sure to ask her where the dinner deals are for every night in Whistler Village.
Ann is rightfully proud of her breakfasts. The 2 we had were very good & well presented to the point where on of the other guests took a picture each morning before eating it.
The atmosphere is relaxed & you have an outdoor patio with couches, chairs a BBQ & hot tub to use.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

You won’t go wrong at Golden Dreams. Ann and Terry (a local ski instructor legend, by all accounts) have clearly been doing this for years. There’s an air of laissez-faire – it’s relaxed, the kids are all right, and you’re well looked after. Soon after arrival I was chatting away to Terry who offered me a beer as he painted the balustrade outside, their kids and mates bounced on the trampoline in the garden, and the world weary dog nuzzled up for a cuddle. It’s that kind of place.

The house is set up with the owners’ area at the front and the guest bedrooms at the rear, with easy-come easy-go access. Our room was the Rain Forest Room, with accompanying earthy tones. Lavender chintz, it wasn’t. It was adequate, clean and relatively spacious though a little dark, with a private bathroom across a hallway.

There was a huge guest kitchen, though I was initally unsure as to what we could legitimately “raid”. We only wanted teas and coffees – no worries in that regard. Ann’s breakfasts were excellent – classic Canadian fare with some interesting variations. They were served at the dining table adjacent to the kitchen, where we met the other guests from downstairs. The first morning we met a pair of Vancouverite lovebirds, seemingly barely out of High School, the second was a classic B&B encounter. Fascinating French Canadian and French visitors, willing to engage in good humoured debate about the world in general. Great fun.

Ann (it’s all about the deal!) suggested two great places to eat, including an excellent and moderately priced pizza/pasta place in the village, and the extraordinarily cheap early night at the local Fairmont, the chain of 4/5 star luxury hotels which seem to populate every tourist hotspot in Canada. Ann and Terry were there as well - always good to see the hosts practising what they preach.

All up, a great place to stay in Whistler, though don’t even try and book for during the Olympics. They were booked out a long time ago. A car’s ideal, for it’s a little way out of the village centre, but I heard Terry saying the bus shuttle service was frequent, and parking won’t ever be easy, despite the huge day lots on the edge of the pedestrian precinct. They got full very quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I stayed at Golden Dreams October 6-7th 2008. The room and bathroom were very clean, breakfast was different every morning and Ann the owner and hostess was very helpful.
It is not in the middle of the village but it is a very nice from from the B&B to it and there are buses too. I would certainly recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinaJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed at Golden Dreams for two nights 18th/19th September, during our journey across to Vancouver Island. Our host Ann was friendly and well organised. She gave us much valued advice on making the most of our brief stay. We walked into town on the first evening,using one of the many trails created for visitors. Later in the evening we used the guest lounge, made ourselves tea/coffee and talked to other guests and to Ann - one of the advantages of a good B&B! Our room (the Wild West Room) was comfortable and spacious with a feather bed - we slept very well. After a wonderful breakfast we used the discounted gondola passes from Ann, and travelled to the top of Whistler and walked back down to the top gondala station on one of the ski routes. The views were very impressive and we saw black bears from the gondala and met ground squirrels and marmots on our walk. Another sociable evening and a great breakfast and we had to leave, sorry that we were not able to stay longer. We would recommend Golden Dreams to anyone wanting a conveniently located, well appointed and well run B&B.
Nick & Debbie Plant

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wombatmiddleEngalnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Usually, B&B tend to be a little "home far from home".
Definitely not his one.
Maybe it's just me, being a sole traveller for one night, or maybe just unlucky with a bad day, but completely contrary to the warm recommendations, this was definitely the coldest hospitality in 27 years of travelling around the world.
First, place is way far out of village. Unless having a vehicle, paid bus (unlike the village free shuttle) gets only every 30-60 minutes.
When finally got there, wasn't even offered a glass of water until asked for... , but instantly ordered to take of my shoes..
Room reasonable and clean, but whole evening until very late, there was no one around to address problems or questions.
Breakfast was OK but though previously noticed about being diabetic who cannot handle sugar, breakfast was a french toast with jam. Okay, mistakes do happen, but when referred, the hostess just tried to scalp the poor toast of the jam ... A bit of bad taste for 120$..
Instructions about Gondola operating hours were wrong, and for treks, I was just handed a map.
Definitely not a place to recommend to any friend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oronp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenDreamsHostess, Owner at Golden Dreams B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Our advertizing states that we are "JUST ONE MILE outside Whistler village." I believe that this particular guest decided to walk, in the heat august, with a huge back pack instead of springing for the $8 taxi fare or the $2 bus fare. Consequently, he arrived, exhausted, overheated and therefore, ill-tempered.

All guests enter onto our ski-boot proof stone floor (heated in winter!), but are requested to remove shoes when going upstairs on the carpeted section of the house by a polite sign on the stairs. Simply manners really.

Our private hosts quarters are clearly marked just inside the guest entrance. If assistance is required a simply knock on the door usually finds assistance.

Please forgive me, if I was not reminded, of your dietary concerns - even if previously informed. This could have been addressed when we discussed the breakfast time preference.
I recall that this guest felt like he was at a restaurant where he could "order" what he wanted for breakfast, even after the hostess has planned the menu of the day.

Happy that had maps on hand for our local trails and DISCOUNT PEAK 2 PEAK adventure lift passes. Sorry that this was not an ideal stay for you. Better luck with future B&B stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

In june we spent 3 days and nights in Golden Dreams B&B in Whistler - British Colombia. The hostess Ann gave us a warm welcome, showed us our "Western room" where we felt like real cowboys. And there was also a hottub on the balcony. The 3 breakfasts she made us were excellent! She really wanted to spoil her guests. Their dog Sam is just adorable. All the elements like a very clean room, bathroom, delicious breakfast, lovely hostess, only a 25 minute walk away from the city Whistler in a very green environment, made this holiday fantastic for us!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Moppieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.8 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,780 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Dreams B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Dreams B&B

Address: 6412 Easy St, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range: $207 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Dreams B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serving Great B&B memories for over 25 years! We've collected the best B&B secrets: with our true west coast hospitality, inviting "THEME" rooms with cozy featherbeds, private guest living room with wood fireplace and especially our signature breakfasts with homemade jams/syrups. Plus even a former National Ski Team coach in-house! Feel pampered in our outdoor hot tub and savor a wholesome breakfast with nutrition and organics in mind. Just one mile to ski lifts, village restaurants, and shops. DISCOUNT ski passes and equipment rentals. Great trailside location! Our motto: "May those who arrive as guests, leave as friends!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Dreams B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing