We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Staff Underperforms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel itself is what you expect of a Hilton brand - clean comfortable rooms, amenities, etc.. However, the front desk staff, in my experience, had an attitude. You know the feeling when you go to a resort town and the staff simply take it for granted that you are there. I liken my Hilton experience to being at the local driver's license bureau trying to renew my drivers license. I typically stay at the Fairmont when in Whistler. Thought I'd save a couple of dollars by staying at the Hilton. I regret that decision. Will definitely not go back to the Hilton based on the front desk staff alone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Greg S,

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing encounter at our front desk. I am hoping you will reach out to me so that we can discuss the details of your visit to ensure we take corrective measures to consistently provide personalized and hospitable service in all facets of our hotel.

Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us to improve moving forward. We hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the quality hospitality you deserve the next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had a great time and location of hotel was the best. Service was good, bed was comfortable, but the room finishes were old and tired. Refridgerator would not stay closed and you had to run the hot water for 30 minutes to get hot. This was very inconvenient when trying to go to bed at night or take a shower in the morning....also, have these people heard of conservation in this beautiful country? The lobby bar and restaurant had the worst ambiance and the breakfast at the Cinnamon Bear was horrible for $26. I was also charged for a movie i did not order or view ($15.99), and I paid $20/night for a fireplace, but never recieved a log to burn after the first night. very frustrating. The staff was awesome and anticipated every need.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Diane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Diane U,
I appreciate you taking time to complete a review of your recent visit with us.

I’m sorry to hear that your experience seems to be rather mixed as we strive for consistency with all our guest visits. I certainly can appreciate the frustration you must have felt in dealing with some very basic expectations. I’m happy you found the employees to be accommodating and that this will give you some incentive to return to us for a more typical Hilton guest experience.

Sincerely,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spacious warm and comfortable rooms. Friendly and knowledgeable staff made our stay memorable. Being in the village and able to walk to all venues was great. Ski in/ ski out location was icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms were very clean and comfortable for the price we paid. Their were a lot of channels on the T.V.. Will definitely stay their again in the future. The rooms were also very quiet. Having to post a minimum of 200 Characters on this is ridiculous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Aaron S,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent visit with us.

It’s always rewarding to hear when a guest enjoys their time at our hotel especially when they look forward to a return visit. The snow if flying today so get your skis and snow boards ready. We’ll be waiting for you.

Warm regards,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A group of friends and I booked a suite, off a last minute deal website, and for the price we paid it was a great deal. The suite was huge, had a king bed, beautiful bathroom, lounge chairs etc.

The hotel amenities were pretty standard for a Hilton. However, the decor was pretty generic. Nothing was over the top amazing. The indoor sauna/hot tub and pool were very nice though, and offered a pleasant atmosphere.

The location is convenient, check-in was smooth, and there was ample parking when we went. I would definitely recommend it, at least during the Summer since that's when we were staying there.

Room Tip: If you are planning a day trip, or are able to leave things to the last minute, I would recommend us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terlaakl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Terlaakl88,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review of your summer visit to our resort.

I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the size of your suite and felt you received good value for the rate you paid. We really do have a convenient location close to all summer time activities and dining options.

With the snow falling today, I hope we can entice you to try a winter getaway with us either before or after the holidays.

Warm regards,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is very generic. Nothing really says whistler about it. Rooms were nice, clean and well equipped. Kitchen in the room had no kitchen towel. Sounds minor but they provide pots/pans cooking utensils and nothing to clean up. Hot tubs have no jets indoors or outdoors - so more like a warm bath. The tubs were full of kids and no plastic cups for adult beverages (No glassware allowed). Had to walk through the hotel in bathrobe to find a starbucks cup. No carts available to move your own stuff from the parking lot. Location is conveniently close to the slopes and hotel is very family friendly but for adult couples it was nothing special and very generic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear SkyTribe,

Thank you for taking time to provide a TripAdvisor review of your visit to Whistler.

I appreciate your honest input and apologize we were not able to fully meet your expectations for comfort and amenities. We do our best to provide quality stays to each of our guests and we will use your comments as we continue to work towards this goal.

I hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

On our recent Thanksgiving holiday we took a trip to Whistler and stayed at the Hilton. From booking to checking in everything went very smooth and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We had the Alpine suite which was very spacious, clean and more than we needed. This is a very convienient location to the slopes and all the restaurants and shops. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KanesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear KanesP,

Thank you for taking time to provide insights into your recent visit with us.

It’s rewarding to hear how all aspects of your stay helped create a memorable visit to our lovely resort. You picked the perfect location to kick off the 2013/14 ski season. As you noted, our location truly provides the utmost in convenience and is in the center of it all.

I hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back in the early New Year.

Warm regards,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa

Address: 4050 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Whistler Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Whistler
#7 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#13 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#16 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $128 - $1,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCING WHISTLER STARTS WITH HILTON Relax and unwind at the luxurious, award winning Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Whistler Village, host mountain resort of the 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympics Games. Named by Condé Nast as the 10th top resort hotel in Canada, the hotel is steps away from the chairlifts of the legendary Whistler & Blackcomb Mountains, and offers an array of world class restaurants, stylish boutiques, and buzzing nightlife at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Whistler Resort And Spa
Hilton Whistler Hotel Whistler
Hilton Hotel Whistler
Whistler Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing