We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistler Village Inn + Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great location and a nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a nice hotel right there in the very center of the village, all the activities are in walking distance and amazing views are never far off. The shopping ceters and restaurants are literally at 2 mins walking distance. So location is clearly a winner.

The check-in was pretty smooth and the staff was quite helpful. We had to switch the rooms and there was no issues. We got a 2 floor apartment for 4 people. The room was clean and spacious.
We did have few issues with the heating , for first couple of hours, it did seem a little cold specially on the top floor since the heater is on the room below.

But apart from that, we had an enjoyable stay here for a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxedVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    387
    246
    106
    55
See reviews for
301
336
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile



Stayed at Whistler Village Inn & Suites for one night for a quick gateway.

A few points:
Conveniently located in the village and within walking distance to gondolas , exculabir and restaurants. staff is friendly and free coffee / tea at reception area i think thats nice gesture esp if u come from skiing or snow boarding or even if u arrive in the early morning.

If you want a nice rest and quite sleep, this is not your ideal place as the insulation is really poor quality. the sound travels from floors even a slight walk. KEEP THAT IN MIND!!!

This hotel requires upgrading.

Am i gonna stay again "No" i will explore my options next time.

Good luck!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel and it is in a fantastic location, central to everything. There is even a spa to soak in after a day in the slopes.
Issue: We are on the bottom floor and it sounds like there are elephants above us!!!! It took me hours to get to sleep as they were walking around till midnight! Don't go here for a relaxing stay unless you can get on the too floor !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole_jarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I travelled to whistler with friends and stayed at this hotels for one night - I wish I could have stayed longer - Whistler is beautiful, even in the low season. We stayed in a room with a loft - which was awesome, although may not be suitable for people who aren't so keen on getting up and down stairs to get into bed! The room was beautiful with plenty of space and a small kitchenette. However, 3 friends travelling with us, were in a very small room with 2 pull out, very uncomfortable beds, so I would possibly advise booking a larger room if there are more than 2 people travelling.

Wifi was also available free of charge in all hotel areas.

It wasn't too cold at the time I was there but the room was suitably heated for the temperature outside. The hotel was very central to everything that we required - restaurants/shops etc.

I would definitely stay here upon returning to Whistler!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had booked with a groupon. My understanding was that the Fri/Sat we booked were the final dates of the groupon. When I checked out I was dinged with $35 for one of the nights as it was a blackout date. When I questioned this I was told the website for the groupon had it wrong and they had later changed the dates. I did not know that. The woman checking out beside me had the same issue, but they creditted it back to her as she complained that she booked her room the same day she booked the groupon, whereas I had booked after the dates had been changed on the website. When I originally viewed the groupon it said the dates were included and that's why I ended up buying the groupon. Didn't think i should go back and see if the terms and conditions had changed! That's not good business practice. Buyer beware!

The place is a bit shabby and probably better for younger groups in their 20s.

The worst part of the service, however, was that we had very little heat and the room was downright cold. The small heater is completely inadequate given the high ceilings. I called down and had to convince reception that no, I wasn't looking at the air con, it was the heater, and had it full blast for an hour and a half and still the room was cold. She kept telling me to wait another 15 minutes and explained that the building was built in the 70s so the heating system is baseboard. Asked if we could switch to another room but was told they were all full. Finally she offered "we could look at loaning you a space heater but I think they're already all booked out for tonight". A-ha! So this is a known problem. We did end up getting a space heater, thank god, and throughout the weekend saw numerous guests walking space heaters up to their room or returning them. I didn't like that a space heater wasn't immediately provided knowing guests were having problems. The space heaters provided are the cheap type that suck energy like crazy, which is completely contradictory to the sign in the bathroom asking guests to respect the environment by re-using towels. They also made the room very dry. I hope with this review the hotel will consider upgrading their heating system as it is in desperate need.

On the positive side, I appreciated that pets were allowed ($28/night) and the bed and bed linens were comfortable. Organic toilettries. Internet included and worked well. Also appreciated that on check out we were advised we could continue to park until 4 pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhistlerVillageInn, General Manager at Whistler Village Inn + Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for writing to confirm that our beds and linens are comfortable, that we have organic toiletries, free internet that works very well, and complementary extended parking. I also appreciate you taking the time to write about the other less than positive issues regarding your stay with us.
On your first point that coupon you purchased was not valid for your entire stay; we provide coupon companies with rooms rates and dates for specific periods. They then sell the rooms based on that agreement. You purchase the coupon through a third party and not directly from the hotel. These rates and dates are programmed into our hotel reservation system and cannot be booked for the dates that are not valid for the coupon. When a person tries to book a room outside of the valid dates they are told at the time of booking that the coupon is not valid for those dates but as a hotel courtesy the value of the coupon can be used as a credit for dates with higher rates. If the terms and condition of the coupon were not clear I suggest you contact the third party coupon company and inform them of your concern.
I am not aware of which room you stayed in. I do know that when you were in Whistler it was a very cold for Whistler. Whistler and all of British Columbia were experiencing an arctic outflow. This is a rear weather condition that happens once every five to ten years and blows extremely cold north wind down from the arctic. The heating in our rooms are adequate for this cold weather. The situation was that all our rooms have fireplaces and many guests were using their fireplace for the ambience it creates. Because the exhaust flue of many fireplaces were open in extremely cold weather; the heat from a number of rooms was going up the chimney and not adequately heating the room. This phenomenon has never happened in the years I have been at this hotel and was discovered due to the unusual weather conditions and after you had checked out of the hotel. Many other homes and hotels in Whistler experienced the same problem. The heaters were the best we could do under the circumstances. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.
The Whistler Village Inns & Suites has five different room and suite types. They vary from spacious superior mountain lofts, one bedroom suites and deluxe hotel rooms. We cater to all age groups and provide excellent value and service in the center of Whistler Village, and a two minute walk to the main ski lifts for both Whistler and Blackcomb mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Enjoyable stay with friendly staff in a location near the Village Stroll and the lifts. Rooms are clean and comfortable, if a bit Spartan, but they exceeded our needs so we were happy. Parking is a bit tight but seems likely everyone can fit in. Would recommend if you're looking for affordable accommodation in a good location.

Room Tip: There seems to be a bit of inter-floor noise so request a top floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

So i checked in, and about 4 hours later some drunk dude opened the door to my suite and barged in. Not only was I in a bit of a shock but when I called the front desk they said they accidently allocated the suite to 2 different guest so we had to get that sorted out. Really? Are they still using some kind of paper filing system to register guests and mixed things up... someone's smoking something at reception for such a royal screw up to occur.

I also have the suspicion that the hotel is make of paper mache - you can literally hear guest flatulate 2 floors up and anytime someone flushes the toilet in the building it feels like an earthquake. It's low budget, low quality and semi clean at best. The only real bonus is that it's in a killer location - right in the village and close to the slopes. If you can handle getting down and dirty, go ahead and stay here since it's "affordable" for Whistler. Otherwise, I'd strongly consider other options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Village Inn + Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Village Inn + Suites

Property: Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Address: 4429 Sundial Place | Whistler/Blackcomb, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Village Inn + Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Value & Choice, Whistler Village Inn + Suites has it all!Whistler Village Inn + Suites puts you in the in the heart of Whistler village. Shops, restaurants, nightclubs and the Gondolas for Whistler and Blackcomb mountains are all less than a two-minute walk away. Relax in any style with a choice of hotel rooms, lofts and suites with balconies overlooking Whistler village.Only minutes from championship golf courses and abundant outdoor adventure, to get the most out of your Whistler-Blackcomb experience, the Whistler Village Inn + Suites is where you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Whistler Village Inn + Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler Village Inn + Hotel Whistler
Whistler Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing