We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at the Whistler Village Inn + Suites for the first time in March 2013 for 5 nights.

My first experience not good. The person on the front desk was busy talking (not business) to the young woman cleaning the reception lounge when I entered and he seemed more interested in resuming his conversation than dealing with me. Very unprofessional.

The hotel consists of two separate buildings: the Powder Lodge and the Keg Lodge, the latter has the pool and the former only an indoor jacuzzi, though guests can use both. I stayed in the Powder Lodge.

On the ground floor by the entrance there are ski lockers and guests (are supposed to) receive a key when checking in. I was neither told of the lockers or given a key but had to go back later to reception to ask for one. Whereupon I received the key but was told that there was a $5.00 fee if I lost it. Again, this did not seem very professional. (on the second day I had to return to reception because there was a problem with my key and the person working at the desk at that time was very helpful and professional).

I opted for the "superior loft" at an extra $16.00 per night, which was well forth it. The unit consisted of a living room (with a murphy bed) plus full kitchen, bathroom on the landing between the floors and loft bedroom on the second floor. There was a flatscreen TV with DVD player in the living room area plus another TV in the loft. Though disappointingly no HD. It's disappointing because I always believe that a hotel should at least offer services comparable to what you have at home. HD TV is no longer a luxury but is now just standard. However, my disappointment was somewhat eased by the fact that WiFi is now free at the hotel.

The common areas of the hotel looked nice, new and well cleaned. My room was on the second floor, so it was faster for me to take the stairs rather than wait for the elevator. However, there was always an odd odor in the stairwell.

My room seemed a little worn, particularly the carpeting and the bathroom. The kitchen was equipped for simple meals, though a newer frying pan would have been helpful. There was a full stove and oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and mini-fridge. No dishwasher. I left the dishes for housekeeping but also left an extra tip.

The bed and pillows were comfortable. Though even on the third floor I could hear the front door slam every time people entered or exited the building. The closing mechanism is probably broken so the outer door does not close slowly but instead slams shut.

Shower had good strong water pressure, always a plus.

The hotel is centrally located within the village, about a ten minute walk (at most) from the gondolas for Blackcomb and Whistler, with all the restaurants and stores within close walking range.

With the murphy bed the unit sleeps four but it might be cramped for four adults. It would be good for two people who are not sharing a bed or for a couple with small children.

I was not expecting luxury and I was not disappointed. If visiting Whistler with my wife I'd opt for something a little more luxurious but for a ski week by myself or with a friend Whistler Village Inn + Suites is adequate.

Room Tip: Even if solo spring for the "superior loft". The extra $16.00 t0 $20.00 a night is worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    393
    248
    107
    56
See reviews for
309
341
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I guess for the price of accommodation in whistler this place isn't too bad - two queen beds with a small balcony. Bathroom is is in need of some repairs but the room itself was comfortable and cozy. The noise outside during the night was a challenge but can't blame that on the hotel! Good service at the front desk and really nice warm fire to warm up after spending the day in the mountain

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ecosnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in August of 2012, coming up to ride our bikes.

Last time I stayed at the Whistler Village Inns was in 2008, and in four years things have changed, and not for the better.

Between the constant construction noise, the room not being very clean, and constant issues with the front desk staff, we're not going to be staying here again. They've also gotten rid of the breakfast in the morning with waffles, and when you're riding all day long waffles are much appreciated.

There are other properties in Whistler. Mind you they might cost a little more, but you'll be happy you spent the extra money for what you get in return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibtattooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Room was nice - not huge, but it had a small balcony with a view of the pool and hot tub. That was money. Room was clean and not worn at all. Comfortable beds and plesant desk staff. free coffee in the lobby. Location is great - 2 minute walk to the gondola's. I will stay here again (soon I hope)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gluecipher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great time at whistler. always awesome. i love this hotel. i love skiing and snow boarding. For sure do the lessons at whistler, they have the best teacher instructors from all over the world. Always best to go when there's a lot of people, makes boarding fun, of course I nearly got run over by several beginners. they were saying "cowabunga!" and falling laughing. hilarious dude. lots of international flavor. the best! My wife thought the place was a bit "rustic".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George98888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed Feb 25th thru Mar 2nd in one of the "hotel" rooms. Floor seemed to be redone recently. Fresh paint in the hallways and room. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and free Wifi. Overall no complaints and very happy with what we paid for. Understand this is not the Westin or some other high end resort in the Village. But neither is the price. The rooms were cleaned every time we came back from skiing. In fact, one day we accidently left one set of credit cards & $100 is cash on one of the beds. To our amazment the cards and cash were left under our pillows. NOTHING TAKEN. We were very surprised in these days for credit fraud and such. I would recommend this place to my friends/family for an econmical place to stay.

Room Tip: The bar right next to the hotel lobby is nice. Underground parking is tight but your car is out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#12 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Village Inn + Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Village Inn + Suites

Property: Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Address: 4429 Sundial Place | Whistler/Blackcomb, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Village Inn + Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Value & Choice, Whistler Village Inn + Suites has it all!Whistler Village Inn + Suites puts you in the in the heart of Whistler village. Shops, restaurants, nightclubs and the Gondolas for Whistler and Blackcomb mountains are all less than a two-minute walk away. Relax in any style with a choice of hotel rooms, lofts and suites with balconies overlooking Whistler village.Only minutes from championship golf courses and abundant outdoor adventure, to get the most out of your Whistler-Blackcomb experience, the Whistler Village Inn + Suites is where you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whistler Village Inn + Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler Village Inn + Hotel Whistler
Whistler Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing