We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and only minutes walk from Gondolas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Whistler
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We wanted to stay in an affordable hotel as close to the gondolas as possible and were very pleased with our stay at the Listel.

Location - you can take a short cut through the Crystal Lodge passage way and you will find yourself on the Village Stroll in less than a minute. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the gondolas. We hired our snowboards from Whistler Blackcomb school and left our gear overnight at the Carleton Lodge storage which is free of charge of you rented your gear with the school but the hotel also stores skiers/boards for you.

Room - we had a double queen room with plenty of space. The decor needed a bit of a refresh including the table lamps but the room was clean and the beds comfy. There was a fridge to store your own drinks or food from the grocery store and a kettle to make tea or coffee. The bathroom was a good size and we didnt have any issues with water pressure or hot/cold water.

Staff - we didnt have much interaction with the front desk but they were perfectly friendly at check-in and check-out times.

Breakfast - this was complimentary and included a range of cereal, porridge that you could heat up in the microwave near the door, precooked waffles that could be toasted, bread, bagels, muffins and pastries; as well as yoghurt, fresh fruit and the usual fruit juices and coffee/tea. Ah yes - they had hard boiled, peeled, eggs that were handy for egg sandwiches. The eggs were kept in the fridge and I saw some guests heating them up in the microwave. If the breakfast is not to your liking then there are plenty of places nearby to have a hot breakfast instead.

All in all - we both liked staying so close to the action and would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 983 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a good find for us as we struggled against the ridiculous whistler/Blackcomb mountain run website to find affordable accommodation and so I happened on a newspaper article from 2010 that recommended the Listel for budget conscious travellers. Not at all disappointed in my choice as this hotel has all you need to enjoy a ski trip to whistler. Below is my four point review:

Location - if you want to be closer to the lifts you can pay through the nose for a shorter walk of 50m but there is no need as at this location you are in the heart of the village with 30 sec walk to shops restaurants and supermarket. I ski and dread walking far in ski boots but it took less than 3mins to walk to the whistler gondola. The hotel is also one of the first drop off points for the airport bus which is great.

Room - the decor is tired but when the lights are out and you are sleeping from a hard day skiing and an even harder night drinking who cares. We took a twin room to have our own space and not have my partner wake me up and this was a good choice. Mattress was comfy and the sheets were clean the fridge was empty with no minibar but it is not that sort of hotel and let's you stock up from the supermarket. All the usuals are included such as safe etc.

Bathroom - a good size but had maintenance issues such as the shower rail about to fall off the wall. The baths need upgrading as you cannot have a decent soak as the head end is square shaped and makes lying in it awkward. Water temp was good as was pressure and basic cleansing products were in dispensers rather than individual bottles, for this hotels star rating you can accommodate this I guess. For the lack of a decent bath there is an in-house jacuzzi spa on the ground floor to ease your muscles however you do have to walk past through the lobby and past a kitchen entrance way which cannot be changed so almost full clothing or trackies are required! There is also and individual sauna for males and females but in male the door did not close and no water bucket was present to generate heat in the sauna.

Service - the staff are pleasant and attended to every request made of them even taking to task some noisy neighbours in an adjacent room who made a ruckus after 11pm. Don't listen to their advice on the recommendation for mountain misty pizza however as its crap flavourless food albeit lots of it! They possibly could improve on breakfast which is a freeforall and badly managed other than that an overall good place to stay for number of stars and you bank balance.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quidproqwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Listel from th 17th-27th March, 3 families, 16 in total. We were all on the 2nd floor next to each other, check-in was quick when we arrived.
The bedrooms have 2 queen beds, fridge, kettle and coffee making machine. The rooms were lovely and warm. Free wifi.Rooms were cleaned everyday, fresh towels if needed.
Breakfast was served from 6.30am to10.00am. There was the usual cereal, waffles, bagels, bread,cold eggs, youghurts, fruit and cakes. Food was replenished regualary, its just a shame there were only 2 toasters which were very slow for the amount of people at breakfast, no hot food supplied.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, ski's/boards were locked up overnight, you requested them by your room number at reception, we did this when going for breakfast so by the time you finished they were in reception.
The hotel is in a great location for the village and the slopes only a minute or two away.
The hotel has the best restaurant in Whistler the Bearfoot Grill, unfortunately we didnt eat there we just had drinks at the bar, it has a lovely ambience, a pianist was playing the night we went in, the bar staff were very friendly and knowledgable, it also has the famous Belevdere Vodka ice bar in this restaurant.
The hotel also had a hot-tub which was lovely after a day on the slopes, we had it to our-selves on a couple of occasions it was open until 9.30pm. Saunas were in the male and female changing rooms (not mixed).
Check-out is 11am, we checked out earlier and put our cases in the luggage room in reception. We ski-ed until lunch, then went back to the hotel, we used the changing room facilites for a shower, towels were provided. Hair dryer.
Overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel and would go back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne1967_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location of this property is convenient to village lifts and restaurants...on par with the Westin and Hilton locations. Desk staff was polite and helpful. These were the only good touch points for this facility.

Room: Crowded due to two king size beds taking up substantial space. Bathroom had mildew in the shower grout and the shower valve switch was stuck on open. The beds had lumpy mattresses and housekeeping did not make-up my room until after 3pm one day.

Continental Breakfast: Provided in make-shift dining area. All juices, coffee, fruits, breads, waffles, toasters, milk, refrigerated items, silver and plates are located in one corner of the room....all of which restricted access to only a few people at a time. This arrangement resulted in too many guests vying for the same space to access food... confusing and sometimes hostile.

Sauna: Management neglected to fire it up one afternoon...no one could use it until after 6pm. Graffiti had been carved into the wood paneling.

There are other hotels at the same price point (e.g. The Pinnacle) which are better organized and substantially more comfortable than Listel...only they are a bit further from the slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peripatetic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeMckinnon, Front Office Manager at The Listel Hotel Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Peripatetic12

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your recent stay. I appreciated your positive comments regarding our Front desk staff. I was however very concerned to learn of your other experiences as you described and wanted to offer my sincere apologies as clearly this level of service is not acceptable. I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your feedback further with you.

Regards
Joe Mckinnon
jmckinnon@listelhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here during Christmas so the prices are very high, otherwise on normal days it should be reasonable. Good location, helpful staff. The view from our room was nice, I forgot the room number though. Nothing special about this hotel but I dont mind coming back here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jepoyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good location, quiet but still an easy walk to the lifts and village. Rooms are a good size, warm clean and comfortable.Plenty of variety for breakfast before a day on the slopes Very helpful staff nothing was ever a problem, parking available under the hotel with a drop off and pick up zone out the front. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inflight07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed there for two nights in room 234. I had a couple issues with the hotel. First our door didn't close properly you had to pull the door to make sure it's shut. Second House keeping left our door open and left the garbage bag from the room on the bathroom counter. Thirdly don't use the glasses from the room unless you wash them first. Our cups were dirty and the house keeper clearly didn't clean them both days we were there. My sister forgot her journal on the table and hours after we left we called to retrieve it with them denying they saw anything.

After all the disappointments I complained because I was furious about the housekeeper not closing the door! I requested to speak to the manager or supervisor and the front desk stated they weren't available. I emailed the manager of the hotel and he has yet to respond to me. The housekeeper called and said she read the email and gave a sad attempt for an apology she honestly sounded more annoyed. Disappointed that the manager has yet to email back.

The fact that my room was left open and my belongings were at risk I would not recommend this hotel for that reason. Customer service is horrible starting with the management. They take no responsibility for their staffs actions!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanickerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeMckinnon, Front Office Manager at The Listel Hotel Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I am very sorry to read about the deficiencies that this guest experienced from the malfunctioning door issue to the housekeeping issue... clearly not a positive reflection on our hotel and definitely below ours (or any other hotels) standards, I apologize for the negative experience.

The deficiency with the guests door lock was promptly addressed when the issue was brought to the attention of the hotel staff.

Upon check out the guest did speak with a duty manager in regards to their dissatisfaction, and was offered a discount for the shortcomings experienced during their stay, which the guest accepted.

The Manager of Housekeeping did call the guest to personally apologize, I’m sorry to hear this guest felt the apology was not sincere.

Thank you for your comments. Your constructive feedback is valuable and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Whistler

Address: 4121 Village Green | Blackcomb - Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $122 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Whistler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Listel Hotel Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whistler
Whistler Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing