We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor cleanliness and deficient service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glacier Lodge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor cleanliness and deficient service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment from Dec 26 - Jan 2. We feel that we paid for location which is good for kids-skiing, but the rest was awful (mind to say that the rates to stay here are quite high!):

1. Cleanliness: Our main bedroom bed had a feather cover/comforter that had never been washed - aired - cleaned... it looked nice, but when you get in bed you would immediately get hit with different body smells....disgusting!!! and as you would warm-up the bed...the smells would be stronger. As for the pillows: the same but a little stronger smell....
2. The linens of our beds were stained and had holes......
3. The towels although we were provided with plenty, were so old, it is ridiculous to describe...used to be white,,,,now cream and thin.
4. Shower curtain had a heavy old- mold smell...
5. Front Desk Service. They are helpless..no effort to help you in anything, they just throw simple "no's" followed by "it's a policy of the hotel", and other nonsense answers. We think with my husband that they are minimum wage-paid young students that come from Australia and all they want is to Ski and make a little money to survive....they have zero training in hospitality or care about the guests well-being or returning to the Lodge..
6. Pool. They advertise it, and have it. It is nice but the transition from Lodge to outdoor pool and back in winter time is not-human friendly. The bathrooms to change are really dirty,,,the day we went, the women's had wet paper in the shower floor, and my husband told me that the men shower's floor was frozen and icy....
7. They have 2 washers and 2 dryers per floor (where I was), and a bill change machine; but if you don't have quarters no-one at the hotel will help you!...or at least try...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cami_maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    42
    20
    17
See reviews for
76
49
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We checked in a few days before Christmas. Everything was smooth, staff were helpful, above and beyond even considering they modified our non-changeable reservation as courtesy (on account of a snowstorm and nasty roads). It wasn't the Chateau for amenities, but a nice pool with two immaculate hot tubs. Comfy beds.

Room Tip: Ground floor room didn't have a view but it was quiet and I slept great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie_Hummus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Late October 2012 was a great time to get away from the rat race, and the Glacier filled the bill...the hot tubs, the heated pool and the quiet but good service from staff were appreciated. Within walking distance of everything except traffic noise...I will return with the family.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms on facing outside have a really large deck for evening relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I would have to say that booking this whole trip was very frustrating. The trip advisors didn't seem to know very much. We pretty much had to do their job for them. The hotel itself was fine but trying to call the front desk for an extra towel was almost impossible. The line would ring and ring forever. The phone in the room had terrible reception and you couldn't hear the person on the other line nor could they hear you.

I am open to being contacted by the booking company should they wish to discuss the "lack of customer service" further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank rhondab930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights, staff were very helpful and friendly and the car park was a secure underground but well lit one.
Our room was well kitted out with bath and shower, full well supplied kitchen. Pull down bed and cable tv. I could imagine it to be quite cosy in the winter months due to there being a fire in there as well as air-con for cooling down.

We used the pool and hot tub which is easy to get, perhaps that area of the facility could do with a spruce up but that would be it.

Laundry was fine.

My wife used the Hidden Day Spa and found it to be very nice.

Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbowarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked this Place for A last minute off season trip to Whister. Room 114 was small and dark. It smelled of mildew. The bedspread/duvet was stinky and caused allergies to flare. Tub had black mold and was missing tiles. Price was good, pool was nice and staff were helpful. Sheets and towels were clean. As in other reviews - parking not included but third night free.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquaman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#22 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Le Chamois
Le Chamois
#27 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marquise
The Marquise
#28 of 53 in Whistler
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Property: Glacier Lodge
Address: 4573 Chateau Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler Glacier Lodge Boutique Hotel is found along a cobblestone pedestrian walkway leading to significant Whistler Village landmarks and many shops, restaurants and pubs, and just across the street, a small grocery store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Whistler
Glacier Lodge And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing