We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Small Luxury Hotel”
Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2007

My wife and I have stayed in many Small Luxury Hotels. The Adara is by no means a Small Luxury Hotel. I can't imagine how they received membership in the Small Luxury Hotel organization. No room service, no one to assist with luggage, no turn-down service, filthy windows, thick dust everywhere. 3/4 of the product for sale in the in-room basket was missing. I could go on........... No one seems to care. Small Luxury Hotels, you had better see what's happening to your BRAND at the Adara.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank landelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 680 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights recently.
Although it seems the most modern for what is up there, and I believe it probably is, I was not that impressed.
It is obviously an older hotel that has been renovated.
ie. Old doors painted over (noticeable), Older door handles, Older stair railings.
Now this sounds a bit picky but when you are going for modern those are important as they stick out like sore thumbs.
My guess is the carpet was also leftover.
To me it felt a bit grimey, like a renovated staff accom. or dorm house.
The snack box looked like it had been picked over and not replenished also and the mink throw on the bed and sofa, although a nice accent for your home or display suite is a bit grotty in a hotel that god knows what is in it. I know for a fact those are not cleanable very easy, maybe by dryclean and there is no way they do that daily.
The lobby was very nice and cosy....next to a nightclub.
No dining or lounge.
Staff very friendly.
Reasonable Price.
They are oddly enough in the small luxury hotel book, but when I glanced through there were other hotels I have stayed at that don't belong in there either, so I won't be trusting that book for reference.
Bring slippers
I would stay there again maybe, if I could not find better.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

The Adara is wonderful, elegant and very creatively decorated.
Loved the ambiance, no restaurant but that is ok, lots of great places to eat, just steps from the main street. This hotel has thought of everything from ear plugs incase its too loud and a sound machine and a comfy bed to sleep in, great place to spend the weekend…..
Would go back in a heart beat…

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeadlyDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

My wife, and our dog stayed here in July for our anniversary.
I must admit, we came away impressed. But I agree, with the last reviewer, there is room for improvement.

The staff, first and foremost, was excellent. It's a small staff, and they do it all. They work hard, no doubt about it, and do it with a smile on their face. They really impressed us, by leaving dog treats in our room, and having a bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival.

The rooms are decent size, and clearly have been remodeled as noted below. The fireplace is basically just a glorified nightlight, and doesn't give out any heat. The bed was awfully comfy, and the room was dark, so it allowed us to sleep in. There was also a cool little IPOD stereo clock, which allowed us to play our own tunes.

The hotel is a great location, right off the Village stroll. That's good because it's quick to get everywhere, but it's also bad, because if you like sleep like I do, it can be very loud. Thankfully, the fan blocked out most of the noise. But they did have a 'noise machine' and earplugs in every room. So, that can't be a good sign, especially during the peak winter season.

Overall, we were pleased, and can't say enough about the staff. I agree that with just a few minor touchups with the interior lobby, and rooms, it could be a world class boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank etz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Loved this hotel -- the most design-conscious hotel in Whistler. The lobby is really great, like design hotel in a major city, and the rooms are FANTASTIC -- we had a 1-bedroom loft suite with suspended fireplace and large balcony/patio. Midcentury modern furniture, super-modern shower, super comfy overall. On our first night in Whistler we skipped the nightlife and stayed in instead, having cocktails in our room, playing checkers in the lobby, and just enjoying the great design hotel. The staff, which is very small, was also really nice and very helpful booking activities, etc.

I do think they could dial it up a notch -- the lobby is really great but they should make it a bar/lounge instead of just seating. This hotel needs a cool little loungey bar! The pool is very sad, like the pool at a Motel 6, and with a few dollars in upgrades (and poolside cocktail service!) they could make it a groovy pool scene. And there is zero room service in summer.

Overall, we absolutely loved this hotel. I do think they could invest a bit to make it a world-class design hotel, but even without those few missing things we loved our stay and would stay at the Adara again in a heartbeat. We plan to go back to Whistler to ski this winter and will do just that!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottmichaelmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed at the Adara for one night over the weekend. Just seemed like any other run of the mill hotel with fancier furnishings. Took previous advice and asked for a room on the quiet side of the building. That was very helpful as you really couldn't hear the noise from the bars...however, the noise from the neighbours was another story. Walls are paperthin. You'll need earplugs...which they supply. If you're into a nice hot soak in privacy, it's disappointing not having a tub, but they do tell you that in advance and there is a hot tub if you want the trek. Great location...close walk to everything. Would recommend an upper room if you can get it, as this is a low rise building and 2nd floor rooms don't have much of a view. Even so, we could see Whistler if you positioned yourself "just right". Beds are comfortable. Turn down service was nice. Elevators are extremely slow and rickety. Overall stay was okay, but for the money I'd try somewhere else. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank auntiedonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We felt that this being the newest boutique hotel in Whistler Village that we would have a special experience.

The website is easy to understand. We found the hotel with no problem. And check-in was easy.

I read another members note about the noise and requested a room on the 3rd floor. Thank you for the tip. We requested a loft bedroom, which put us on the 4th floor and the Bar's noise was lessened.

We are both industrial designer and take even the smallest detail to heart. When the Adara Hotel took over the location, they kept the old doors and stair rails. Which, for us, ruined the "boutique" feeling.

Beds were comfortable and in the lobby the Cheese and Wine in the afternoon were refreshing. But I don't think, for the price, we will not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kmarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $94 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing