We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great LOFT room, A little gem in Whistler”
Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This is a great little gem. We stayed August 1-4, 2008.

Firstly thought the drive up to Whistler was challenging, we took over 6 hours, due to accidents, construction and I don't what else. The average drive should be no more than 2.5 hours from Vancouver.

On arrival the hotel clerk was sympathetic. This helped. She checked us in to one of their loft rooms with a fantastic view of the mountain. I have traveled to many countries and always have stayed in some great hotels. Never have I stayed in a loft room before. I LOVED THE LOFT CONCEPT AND THIS ROOM.

All the accoutrements of a hotel room but on two levels made this room feel spacious.

The housekeeping staff and front desk staff all were very pleasant always asking about our stay. They gave some great recommendations for food, which was very close by.

Would highly recommend this hotel. We were traveling with out two toddlers and they also loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happywanderer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 703 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

The Adara Hotel in Whistler was good enough for us, we liked it! We had a loft room. I wouldn't call it a luxury hotel though...

The Good Stuff:
-GREAT location!!
-cool decor
-comfy beds, good sheets and blankets
-loved the shower head
-great bath products
-oversized underground parking for people with big trucks

The not so good stuff:
-definitely had the feel of an older hotel that had been "glossed over"
-carpet felt yucky
-NO BATH!
-small bathroom
-no room with a king bed AND a balcony-had to be either/or
-no restaurant
-small reception area
-old, scary, creaky elevator
-peeling paint, low quality renovations

We liked the Adara, but in my opinion, it seemed like a three star hotel that was trying to be a five star hotel (does that make sense?) We would have been just as happy staying in the Best Western across the street. But the location can't be beat, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Good hotel, but not the best :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BrownBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Wow... so this is not your typical 'mountain' hotel.

I found Adara online and booked through their website (got an amazing deal!) and stayed in one of their loft suites. The loft was super spacious and ultra modern - highly recommended. I especially enjoyed the little patio just off the bedroom!

Staff were great and offered wonderful activity and dining suggestions. Hotel amenities were limited, but there was a really nice outdoor pool and hot tub.

There's not much I can fault this hotel on... apart from the fact that the rooms seem to be showing some 'wear and tear' and that there's no restaurant.

Adara is now totally my 'go to' hotel in Whistler.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Snowbound_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Fantastic location, a few hundred feet from the village center. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in - including my own. Cool amenities in room (mini bar/fridge with glass door, French press coffee maker, sound machine with several choices, i.e. white noise, waves, rainforest, etc.), iPod clock radio, plus the 'standards' : hair dryer, microwave, kettle. Really, it's just about all there. Also very nice soaps, shampoos, etc. in the bathroom.

Located adjacent to at least one night club (it was rockin'!), but Whistler is that kind of town so I wouldn't imagine that's a problem and they do supply ear plugs. Almost cheesy interiors - room and hotel in general - but still very nice. Not cheap, just slightly 'cheesy'. Oh yeah, it's 'boutique'!

Pet friendly - perhaps almost TOO friendly. Saw a few pooches but no kitties.

Only real issues I had was I couldn't figure out how to turn off the heater/air-conditioner. Even if the room was the right temperature, I could not find a switch to actually turn the unit off ('off' switch did not work so kind of noisy and always blowing). Also, no coffee scoop (whatever), and couldn't tell if water bottles outside mini bar were complimentary or $$$. Parking somewhat costly. Okay, it was valet but I'm still not accustomed to paying $21 (with tax) to park, yet it appears that 'free' overnight parking in Whistler is pretty much extinct these days, around the main village at least. That said, once parked you don't have to drive anyway since the location is central to virtually everything.

We booked through the resort's central reservation system and did get the best deal, though did not know which property we had actually reserved until payment time (online). It was considerably cheaper than all the other websites I checked after, including the hotel's.

Oh yeah, small pool (inground, but the same size as in my own yard), and hot tub outside. Probably get pretty crowded, but at least the hotel does offer them.

In the winter you wouldn't be able to park closer to the lifts than this...so, overall, if the price is right, I recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

what a great little find!! we booked a room here over the internet from the hotel's own website for $139! a bargain! this place is a 4 star gem. a little luxury boutique hotel with great service, awesome location a few steps away from whistler village. gorgeous decor and great facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sleeplessinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

The service was excellent and the rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bobbyjoeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Went to Whistler out of season (middle of May) to see what it's like before committing to a winter holiday there.

The Adara promised more than it delivers. The reception is cool with a funky design atfirst glance but then you realise that is it's sole prupose. You could not possibly imagine anyone using as an informal get together space. There is no bar, no restaurant and vey little in the way of atmosphere. Staff were very underwhelming - maybe cos it was end of season and they'd had enough but hey - that's not my problem!

Got a good rate and would certainly not want to have paid more than $160-180 for it.

The room again looked great but there was no storage space for anything. God knows where you'd put your bulky ski wear! Had a fake fireplace which was cute and an enormous wooden shelf system for the flat screen tv but that was about it. Very comfy beds and great bedlinen yet again. (European hotels take notice - why are the beds so lousy everywhere???).

The room has blinds which don't fit the windows properly and no curtains so at daybreak you get big chinks of daylight streaming inot your eyes. Easy to solve but not well thought out. Had the feel of a budget hotel given a boutique style makeover (rather unsuccessfully).

On the positive side the location is excellent - the hotel has a very central position in Whistler Village itself. Whistler was just big and sprawling - not very picturesque really. I'm sure the mountains are great but give me Val D'Isere, Courchevel or Meribel in France any day of the week...

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DickieMLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,806 reviews
0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $174 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing