We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cool!”
Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2008

After reading some reviews, I had mixed feelings about booking here but there is no doubt in my mind that I booked the coolest place in Whistler. This hotel is really hip and stylish. Everything seems new and clean. The beds are so comfy and the sheets are ultra soft. The location of this place is great too! All the staff I encountered, from the reservations guy to the front desk agents, were incredibly warm and friendly. My only complaint is that I stayed here on a holiday weekend so the village was packed with noisy college people. I will definitely come back to Adara but I think I will avoid Whistler on long weekends from now on...

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank B_Walker_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 686 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2008

We booked the Adara through Hotwire for a three night stay. Hotwire said it was a 4.5 star hotel. I'd barely give it four stars. Down bedding and robes don't make a 4.5 star hotel.
The staff was friendly, but the young woman receptionist never followed up on our requests. One night we asked for extra towels to be delivered to the room and they never were. When we were getting ready to check out we asked her to have the bellhop bring up the luggage cart in 10 minutes. We waited 30 minutes and then brought our bags down ourselves. The male employees were much better at following through.

The halls and doors desperately need painting. The shower is only partially enclosed and leaks onto the floor (hence our need for extra towels).

Adara looks like an older hotel that was partially renovated into this boutique hotel, but still needs work.

Location was good - 3-4 minute walk to the gondola. Ski check in the lobby. Valet parking $20/day. Be careful when they bring your car around - the morning we were checking out, we were surprised to see that the car was already there when we went out to breakfast. Nice touch, except for the fact that it was left unlocked.

I never knew there was turn down service since we never got it.

I'd say the Adara was worth what we paid through hotwire because of location, but wouldn't be worth the regular price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wrigleyallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed at the Adara for three nights over Easter weekend. Having stayed at most of the other 4 and 5 star hotels in Whistler, we wanted to see what this had to offer, and being part of the Small Luxury Hotels group, my expectations were pretty high. I want to like this hotel more than I actually do, because it tries to be different, but the reality wasn’t as slick as the brochure, and I left feeling a little bit disappointed.
What was good:
- The hotel is very stylish, with a beautiful lobby area and some nice design touches in the rooms. The furniture and décor are not like any other hotel you’ll stay at in Whistler.
- Despite being such a small team, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. They arranged to have our skis waxed and sharpened for us the night we arrived and were ready and waiting for us the next morning.
- It’s in a fairly central location, not far from the lifts, nightlife and all the other action in the village.
- Gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom and complimentary bottled water offered at every turn: at turndown, by the hot tub, at check out.
- Valet parking that isn’t highway robbery, like most other Whistler hotels.
What wasn’t so good:
- We’ve stayed in a lot of one-bedroom apartment style accommodation which usually sleep four people as our loft suite here was advertised. However, despite the split level with the main bedroom upstairs, it was terribly cramped for four. The upstairs bedroom has minimal space besides that for a bed and there’s not a lot of storage for luggage and ski equipment anywhere.
- The kitchenette area of the room is really just a large bar to prepare hot and cold drinks – why provide a microwave if there is no crockery or cutlery? We didn’t even have a sink. You can’t prepare or eat your own breakfast or snacks here which you need to when the hotel has no restaurant or room service.
- As other reviewers have mentioned, the upkeep is a bit lax. The furniture needs some TLC and the walls need a fresh coat of paint.
If it was in a lower price bracket, I might be more favourable towards this place, but for the rates that are charged here, there are better hotels in Whistler that can provide more space, better facilities and slicker surroundings for the same money. This place is really only for those who put style above everything else.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank LikeItIs-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We did our research for our 4 night stay in Whistler, the first week in March. I always look at the "bad reviews" to see what shortcomings a property might have, or moreso..what 'expectations' hotel guests have.
The Adara is a great boutique style hotel, with clean trendy rooms, with plenty of perks like free wireless internet, fridge, coffee, tea, bath accesories..etc. The younger style staff, were awesome, with great attitudes, and smiles and always willing to go the extra mile for any request. I think you really have to read the reviews to understand folks expectations of a property. This hotel, is geared for more the couples, 20,30,40 something crowd who like to be in the 'midst' of the action. Its a great location. There is a great club/bar downstairs that sometimes has music going on to the wee hours..which might not be some folks cup of tea..but it made us feel like we were where the action was..and we loved it. We stayed in a one bedroom loft suite, so I can't say how the smaller rooms rated, but our's was awesome. Great housekeeping service.. One thing I'd agree on, is the nightly turn down service..is sporatic..on a four night stay, we had it only once..but so what, chocolates and water..do you rate an entire experience just on that? Anyway, great time..no real negatives at all..pluses being: location, staff, rooms..all great. No restaurant..but as posted earlier..this isn't some business trip..get yourself out of the hotel and into the village..Exploring whistler village is the only reason to stay in the village..go to albuquerque to eat in your hotel room ! :)

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BigRed23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

I just recently returned from staying at the Adara Hotel In Whistler with several friends from Washington and Detroit and the Adara Hotel MADE the stay! Everyone in the group couldn't stop talking about how great everyone at the hotel was.

The trip was planned only a week before we met in Canada, so i found the Adara online, and was a little wary after reading some of the reviews. But, all of my worries were for naught.

We arrived on Friday morning at 10 am, ready to drop our bags at the hotel, when Colin informed me that the room was already ready and that they would take our stuff up to the room immediately. We prompty made a quick change and hit the slopes.

We returned around 4 pm where our boards and skis were stored for us at the door. At that time i was informed that there would be a wine and cheese reception at 5 pm in the lobby... of course we had to be there.

We came down at 5 pm to meet Brady (the sales guy, as it says on his card!), and he prompty filled all of glasses with wine. We thought the reception would be a one glass thing and out, but we were having so much fun, that two hours later we were still getting our glasses filled and eating chees. At this time, Brady mentioned that there would be complimentary massages for everyone... who couldn't use one after a day on the slopes. So, One by one we got a 15 min massage. How could this get any better? Brady then talked to us about "Fresh Tracks," where you pay an extra $15 and go to the slopes 2 hours early before everyone else, get fed a huge breakfast at the top of the mountain, and then hit the slopes with fresh poweder. We promptly bought tickets.

what else can i say? The hot tub was great (on the roof). the beds were fantastic... ipod players in the room...

Oh, here is an example of the service. After we decided to do fresh tracks, one of our group realized that she needed to get her skis before 8 pm so she had them in the morning (she was renting). Molly and Brady told us not to worry and they would get the skis for her... which they did, and they were there for us in the morning.

We slept great, had a wonderful time, were greated by name everytime we came in and left.... I am staying at the Adara every year now.... Thanks Brady, Molly, Kiana, and Colin!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BrentP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

I recently spent three nights at the Adara over MLK Day weekend (a U.S. holiday). The hotel was nice, but not what I expected for nearly $350/night.

First, the good things -- our room was a great size and configuration (1 bedroom loft suite) -- just what we needed for a gear-laden ski vacation. The bed was heavenly, the shower was warm and plenty strong, and the toiletries were lovely. We loved having two TVs, a fridge (no grumbling from the hotel about sharing this with the mini-bar!), a microwave, and a teakettle. We used all of it! We also loved the extra down comforter for the couch -- a huge treat on the cold nights.

Now for the things that I didn't enjoy. The facilities were small and cozy, which was lovely, but I found the furniture throughout the hotel to be rather low-quality -- clearly design was favored over quality when it comes to sofas, end tables, lobby furniture, etc. The "floating fireplace" didn't kick off much heat -- next year, I'm going to look for a room with a gas fireplace that's more real.

All of this hipness and those big rooms had the unfortunate effect of attracting a very young, VERY loud, very drunk crowd of American college students over the weekend. Every night was a disaster either for me, my husband or both of us. We should have known to be worried when we saw the earplugs by our bed after our turndown service arrived on the first night! And the turndown service was spotty at best -- they came the night we arrive, didn't come the second night, and came the third night but didn't do much other than leaving chocolates behind (no water, no towels, no cleaning, etc.).

The staff at the Adara was uniformly pleasant, professional and helpful -- huge kudos to them for keeping things together. But really, they should have stepped in to control the parties on our floor MUCH earlier (I believe they did remove the offending group -- 5 rooms worth -- the next day). And really, allowing so many people under 21 in such a large group is just asking for trouble -- I'll carefully read the group and age policies on other hotels in Whistler before we go next year!!

So all in all, I recommend the Adara for couples (not families) traveling to Whistler mid-week or on an off-week (not on or near a holiday). I'm sure you'll have a great time -- and take advantage of any special you can find!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l0ve2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

This place was awesome. Small enough that the staff is still capable of dealing with everything very quickly, unlike experiences at the Fairmont and other massive hotels in Whistler. The location is great, right in the village and across the street from the Whistler Heli-Ski Powder hut. Nice place, rooftop hottub, great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,798 reviews
0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,465 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $123 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing