We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never come back again!”
Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We didn't plan in advance and had to book this place in a rush. The staff was nice enough to match a lower price that I saw from a website for us. When we first stepped into the room, we were surprised by the modern look of the design. At least we knew that this place had been lately renovated. But unfortunately everything after that was not memorable at all. We stayed on the second floor and was really disturbed by the noise from the night club downstairs. My dog was very nervous all night not only because of the club, but also the loud sound people make passing by our room. This was the most noisy hotel I have ever stayed in. If hotel is meant to be a place for resting, then this is not the one.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquairena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

I appreciate your review and we are happy that you liked our staff and decor. Whistler village is a fun and lively place, it can sometimes get noisy. There is a bylaw which addresses noise after 10pm in the village and our staff have been trained to deal with disturbances to insure that our guests have a pleasant stay with us. We provide white noise machines and ear plugs in all rooms. I'm not sure if they make them for dogs :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 680 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The beds are amazingly comfortable! The rooms are quite spacious however spoiled by the glaringly damaged roman blind which hung up on one side and down on the other, the top of which was also badly pulled out of the ceiling. The hotel didn't seem busy so i wondered why we would have been given a room with such a glaring fault. I would have thought that maintenance would have been done in the off season, ready for winter. The hotel is very centrally located in the village. The car was valet parked which was nerve wracking considering we had a hired car but there was no problem at all. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Onewithitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review and I am pleased that you found our beds comfortable. I have been told by guests who normally jump out of bed in the morning that our beds made them want to stay in bed because they are so comfortable. They are Sealy Posturepedic Pillow Top beds, top quality because our guests are worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at a few hotels in Whistler. The Westin is nice, expensive and large with a very corporate atmosphere. There are non stop conferences and a lot of hotel employees running around until you need one.

If you want relaxed, cozy and simple and easy with a touch of modern, then I would highly recommend the Adara. Rates are reasonable and staff really is friendly. They seem to keep the same staff so it is nice to see the same helpful faces when you return.

This hotel is run more like a quaint B&B than a large hotel, so you have to keep in mind that the front desk is more than happy to to help, you just might have to wait a minute while the help the prior guest.

Rooms are clean, modern and perfectly equipped for the weekend warrior who wants to cook and have company. Most rooms are loft style and provide outdoor balcony with privacy. Value is here, but dont come expecting all the services of a major 100 room hotel, rather think of it as an easy rental unit with a nice clean bathroom, friendly staff, comfy beds and really nice kitchen, the rooms I stayed in had 2+ TV's with several channels.

The hotel is minutes walk to all the fun night spots and super easy to access if you are biking or skiing thanks to its amazing location. I agree the pool and hot tub area could use updating, but if you have been to other hotels in Whistler you would know that they ALL do! I read the other reviews and honestly think these people should have paid 2x as much to get 1x more at the other hotels and not complain, as this hotel is best value in Whistler.

I never had a problem with the linens or the cleanliness, and I have stayed in several of their rooms. I also know they were going to repaint all the rooms during the off season so I think they are even nicer now.

I stayed the summer of 2012 and stayed with my kids. THIS HOTEL IS PERFECT FOR FAMILIES OR FRIENDS STAYING TOGETHER as the rooms have a PRIVATE LOFT area! My daughter loved the afternoon cookies and morning breakfast bars.


Anyway hope this helps!

Room Tip: Loft rooms are great value and have nice decks. They have a 2 bedroom loft that is great for familie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WORLDLYTRAVELER83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation. I agree with you that the Adara is the best value in Whistler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a room for one night (thank god) ... and as soon as we stepped into the elevator I should have turned around and walked away. The elevator was filthy and the carpets hadn't been vacuumed in days. It was the same the next day. There was no TV remote and they had no extras (the front desk told us to we had to do it manually) so if you wanted to watch TV it was like the old days. The bathroom was filthy and to make this even more impressive the bath robes hanging in the bathroom were so shabby that it was pointless even trying to wear one. In fact one robe had blood all over the sleeve and it was left hanging and folded nicely on the door...yuk!!!! The showers was gross and it pretty much felt like a cheap hotel in some 3rd world country. I was not impressed and the there was no manager on site to even talk to. Very poor hotel in my opinion especially for Whistler.... The breakfast bars and coffee were excellent thus the rating I've given it. Thats about it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless you don't care where you sleep ( or try to sleept). The noise was ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

All reviews are appreciated, even negative ones. They help to point out where we might have dropped the ball. We will try harder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for the first time recently and were quite pleased. We travel with our large dog and he was warmly welcomed by staff and the GMs very sweet dog. Our room was trendy and cozy, not at all run down as others have stated. The beds are incredibly comfy and the linens are nice. Not a huge fan of the shower style (straight down for. The ceiling) but that's just a personal thing. Only two issues we had were very minor and not worth complaining about... One was that we had a large work pickup truck that wouldn't fit in their parkade and second was that we used the hot tub in the morning and there was a film of dirt around the rim at the top of the water. Pretty gross actually, but the pool and lounge area were beautiful otherwise. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank fireyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again and be sure to mention that you are a returning guest when you call to book, the rate will be 10% better than anywhere on the internet, a thank you for your loyalty. Kate (my dog) will be happy to see you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Slow start at front desk room not ready, in hindsight i see why due to the sluggish unprofessional cleaning staff explained later.

Opened the suite door looked good with some modern touches, opened the sofa bed to chill out and pull the blanket up to our face to find dried blood and urine/sweat stain. The funny thing was that it did look like it had a circle on it to ensure housekeeeping removed it from circulation..... Manager was quick to bring a new one and did comp our parking.

No batteries in remote for tv in upper bedroom. Problem was you have to breach over a ledge, over the stairs to just reach buttons to change channel. Crap cable leaves limited options so just didnt even bother, starred a ceiling while my partner slept.

Next, grabbed towels from front desk, tiny face clothes basically...... On my way back to the room, had the pleasure of listening how hungover two housekeeping staff were from the night before. Fine with me, everyone has a hangover, but as business owner ths exemplifies poor professionalism at its finest...........To the hot tub... I went in first without looking, leaned back on the side to discover dirtt and grime everywhere along the edge. This topped it off and we just needed to get out.

Trust me when i say im an easy going person,with low expectations, but this was poor at best

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

I am truly sorry that your experience at the Adara did not meet your expectations. Thanks to your review we have had a much closer look at our housekeeping procedures and have made changes to our cleaning and inspecting system. It is my sincere hope that no guest will have to experience this again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was my first time to Whistler so I can't compare it with other hotels but for the price and location it would be pretty hard to beat. Right in the centre of Whistler village, it's on top of all the restaurants and activities. It's the little things that make a difference and having a pot of hot coffee and cookies in the reception was a really nice touch (they do have a french press and coffee in the rooms too). The service was good, the staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and were friendly, helpful and efficient and of course the hot tub and small pool were a welcome break after a day trekking around the mountains (ok so by that I mean a trip on the gondolas and lunch at Earl's but you get the idea). As a comparison the rooms are like the UK's Premier Inn with a bit of additional personality, clean and functional. A big plus for any pet lover is that they allow dogs. I'd recommend Adara for anyone needing a nice base but not necessarily if you're thinking of proposing or going on honeymoon.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are split level with the bedrooms on a mezzanine though sadly none of them have ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipaFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We are very proud of our hotel and the work that we do trying to insure that we exceed the expectations of our guests. All of our loft suites do have balconies looking at the magnificent Whistler scenery. I hope some guest to come to propose or celebrate a honeymoon as this is a very romantic hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $94 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing