We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for our needs not deluxe”
Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Adequate for our needs not deluxe”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This small hotel near the center of the village meet our needs for lodging on our Feb. ski vacation. It was a convenient 5 min. walk to the Blackcomb and Whistler Gondolas and right across from the Village Market/Liquor Store and the Convention Center. It was quiet and clean and we had a loft suite but no kitchen facility. We did have a small fridge which worked out good for having breakfast in the room before hitting the slopes. The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are so many in the area to chose from. Had a delicious brunch at Elements, Blenz coffee shop is hopping for cafe and snacks, Quattro's is a high end dinner restaurant that we enjoyed. Don't miss the waffles at the Crystal Hut and the Irish Pub for beers and pub food. Whistler is so great we are going back next winter for a longer stay but opted to rent a condo this time and there are lots of options to do that.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okemospike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    199
    85
    41
    40
See reviews for
138
264
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

When I heard about the Adara hotel I thought it was going to be great untill we got there. The hotel seemed very run down and the staff working the desk were very rude. The rooms were out dated and the sheets were full of stains. To top it off they put us in a room right over a bar witch kept my kids up all night. they also didn't tell us that there was a 20$ over night parking fee. I highly recommend never staying at the Adara hotel.

Tania

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdaraManager, Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
The Adara Hotel is a retro style boutique hotel. The design is intended to look vintage with mirrored glass night stands, floating fireplaces and orange accents. In the fall of 2010 we added several upgrades to our guestrooms in including flat panel TV’s, PlayStation 3’s and new artwork. We diligently work at upgrading our product to ensure we are keeping with industry standards.
The hotel offers a valet parking service and the costs associated with parking at the hotel is noted on our website and is explained to guests at check in by our staff. Alternate parking options are available in Whistler with most coming at a higher cost.
We apologize that we have not met this guest’s expectations and have addressed their concerns directly with our Hotel Team to ensure they are not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed July 1, 2011 with my two very young children. The AC unit is wired to turn off and on to regulate room temperature -- making it incredibly noisy. The entire system stopped working at 2:30 A.M. resulting in the room temperature rising to 28.5 degrees C. I got the system going again but was up all night worrying that it would kick out again and the kids would be toasted. The general lack of concern for basic maintenance was further evidenced by the fact that the reading lamp knob had fallen off, and was never replaced, rendering it unusable. Management never acknowledged my note describing the mechanical problems in the room. The pool and hot tub were both in good shape. But there are so many great hotels in the area. Why stay here? Finally, unlike many hotels in the area they neglect to mention that there is a nightly parking fee of $20.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammy154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdaraManager, Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
The AC units in our suites can be regulated on an automatic setting or they can be regulated on a manual setting, allowing guests to turn on and off as needed. Our Guest Services Team have been trained on our cooling and heating systems and would have been able to assist this guest at his request. If our staff cannot resolve maintenance issues they are empowered to relocate guests to alternate suites and in extreme situations alternate hotels at our expense. The missing lamp switch is not reflective of our lack of attention to maintenance as it was also noted in our log book and we were awaiting parts to quickly repair it.
The hotel offers a valet parking service, the costs associated with parking at the hotel are noted on our website and are explained to guests at check in by our staff. Should a guest not wish to valet their vehicle we suggest alternate locations, however the vast majority of parking options in Whistler come at a higher cost.
We are sorry that this guest did not have a pleasant stay with us, but we can only action concerns when we are made aware of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I have alway thought people who write reviews to complain may just have a bit too much time on their hands or are overly critical...in this case I would just feel bad if someone else's weekend was ruined without fair warning. At the time of booking this hotel was rated top 10 on this site in Whistler now it is down to 30 which is likely a sign of how quickly things change or how inaccurate it may be. We booked a weekend for our anniversary and called in advance to make sure they knew we had an infant traveling with us. They moved us to a king room which ended up being right over top of a very busy bar, every room in the hotel is right over the bar, and even with the windows closed it was as if the entire collection of stags and staggettes in Whistler where in our room. The room was tiny, the carpet was covered in dog hair, the rooms were old with a strange retro decor. The only good thing that happened was they let us have a refund on the next night. So with no sleep, and our little one we set out to find another place to stay to salvage our weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ourfamily48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdaraManager, Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
The Adara Hotel is a funky boutique hotel in the heart of Whistler Village. Our trendy retro style decor is unique and enjoyed by many, however we understand that our style does not appeal to everyone. Room types vary in size from cozy Superior Suites to spacious One Bedroom Loft Suites.
This guests comments regarding cleanliness have been addressed with our housekeeping team to ensure we are maintaining a high leave of service.
Although the hotel does everything possible to address noise concerns it can be challenging to eliminate the busy sounds from the Village Stroll. Our location is steps away from restaurants, night clubs and lounges, hard to beat but not necessarily for the guest looking for total serenity.
We appreciate the comments from this guests, it helps us in striving for excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Good location in the village. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size, well equiped and nice beds. Could use an update but considering the price and location a great value. Village was quiet and it was shoulder season so I am sure that was reflected in the price. Don't expect the Four Seasons but this hotel offers good value in the hear of the village.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kram0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed for just one Saturday night to get out of the city.
Our rate was $89 for a double queen room, seemed quite empty when we were there which might explain the great rate

Very warm even with the AC cranked.
Room was plain but had some funky accents
Lobby/check-in area was very small
The tap in the bathroom was automatic which means there was no way to adjust the temperature (to get a cold glass of water) and made brushing your teeth a real challenge.
Good location

I probably woudn't stay here again, nothing was terrible, I just think I could do better for a similar price.

Room Tip: email the hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed here on the 26th May, 2011. I thought that the rate was pretty good, of course I suppose that May is not peak season. We booked thru Expedia and was happy with the deal. The room itself was great, a large room with a comfy bed, decent tv, I pod doc etc. We did feel that the communal areas (corridors) were not particularly warm and appealing and in honesty could do with a bit of decoration. We only encountered one member of staff, she checked us in, parked the car and then checked us out the following morning. She was still in duty at lunchtime when we collected the car and left. My lower mark on staff is not based on her attitude or ability (she was great and friendly). But clearly she was tired and looked overworked. The covers were on the pool and the hot tub when we arrived and still there when we checked out. It felt like they didn't want us to use the facilities or maybe there were too few staff?

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingCarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
1,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Property: Adara Hotel
Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing