We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was good ... and then it wasn't so good ...”
Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2011

we first stayed at the adara back in sept.2008. it was a really nice hotel. the interior was posh, up-to-date. the staffs were attentive. we were more than please with the hotel. so we thought we would go back again .... and my ... how things have changed.
when we went back again in aug.2010, not only did the hotel seemed a little run down, they seem to be really under staff.
room wise, they kept it the same. we had the loft suite. absolutely love the loft suites, with the little roof balcony. if it wasn't for that, we wouldn't be coming back.
we're going back again this year(aug.2011), only because we have a few nights left at the hotel. hopefully they've hired a manager by then, and hopefully have hired more staff.
i sincerely hope that adara can come back around as it once was ...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4122, Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

We would like to thank this guest for their honest feedback. During the fall of 2010 the hotel added several upgrades to the guestrooms including flat screen TV’s, PlayStation 3 and new art. Common areas have been refreshed and several new amenities added.
We look forward to welcoming these guests back in August 2011 and are confident that we can exceed their expectations and win back their loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Adara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 650 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to go to whistler for the night, last minut. We booked through expedia and read some of the reviews on expedia and trip advisor. They were mixed reviews. We were a little skeptical to say the least.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomes by the front desk staff ( Matthew). He was very friedly and helpful and informed us upon checkin that we had been upgraded from the one bed king delux to the one bedroom loft on the third (top) floor. We were thrilled to hear this.

Upon entering our room we were amazed by the upgrade we recieved. The rooms is amazing with mountain and village views with our own balcony on the second level loft. There is a fridge. Microwave, fireplace and even a playstation 3 to name a few.

The bathroom is large and includes a nice rain style walk-in shower.

I don't know why other people have had a bad experience here but all I can say is good things from the Adara hotel in the whistler village. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We made our reservation with the Adara based on prior trip-advisor reviews (at one point they were ranked 4th). By the time we had checked in the hotel had dropped to about 27th. We stayed for 4 nights and our room was never vacuumed or swept and our sheets were not changed. When we asked about this - the hotel staff stated that the hotels policy is to clean rooms every 4 nights. The hotel is located above a bar so our room was noisy. We paid about $230 a night - other hotels nearby had similar rates but unfortunately we chose the Adara.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowsaltlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Traveled with a group of friends for a 3 night stay at Adara. The locations is great, and the room is nice, though issues lied more with the staff. Upon check in we were told that we would have an early check in, when we arrived they said the room was not ready. My friends wife is pregnant so they got the room quickly sorted. We stayed in the two bedroom suite which is good value for the money. Our bose dock system did not work, I informed them to perhaps replace it, they never did that. The next day, no one came into clean, and we were told that in order for the cleaning staff to clean up the room our pet had to be out. That is fine, but let us know in advance. Overall, the room was just ok, and I don't think i'd stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asd_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4122, Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

We would like to thank this guest for their comments, we value all feedback that helps us to improve on services and amenities.
Our check in time is 400pm, we do our very best to have all arrival rooms ready by this time. Should the rooms be ready prior to 400pm we are happy to have guests check in and get settled as quickly as possible. However, this is not always possible as a result of departure times and the number of guests leaving.
The request for a new dock station did not fall on deaf ears, as you can imagine items such as these are costly and the hotel doesn’t always have a replacement on hand. We apologize for the inconvenience.
The hotel is “Pet Friendly” and upon arrival guests are asked to complete a pet registration form which clearly outlines the hotel’s pet policies and pets being left unattended in guestrooms. These policies are not meant to be challenging or inconvenient but to protect guests, pets and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I enjoyed our stay at the Adara. The location is fantastic, right off the village stroll and about 2 mins from the Gondolas. This hotel felt intimate and welcoming. The lobby had hot apple cider, chilled lemon water and coffee in the morning which was nice. I quite enjoyed arriving back through the heavy red doors after a busy day.

The hot tub has a nice view of the ski hill and was empty while we were there. The hot tub is right beside the door and changing area which is great for those cold view seconds when it's time to go back inside!

We stayed on the 3rd floor and had no issue with noise, we were on the ski hill side. We very much enjoyed the sexy bathroom which had a nice walk in shower with a rain shower.

We met some exceptionally nice and friendly staff. The wireless internet worked well in our room. We ordered breakfast from Ric's which was delivered on schedule but was a tad disappointing.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JumboBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2016

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We arrived and wanted to check in early they said our room was not ready but they were checking other people in. When we finally got checked in we were given a room with two double beds when we booked a room with a king bed. We went downstairs and had to wait 15 mins to get the right room. No one ever offered to help us with our bags and parking was $20 a day plus tax. The room was really dark and felt dirty. The shower head also had mold on it. The microwave was dirty. The walls were all banged up. The girl at the front desk was rude and hard to understand. The extra comforter had a big stain on it. There is also a noisy bar next door. There are so many more hotels in the area within walking distance that looked a lot nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4122, Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

The Adara Hotel is a quaint, intimate hotel with just 41 guest suites. Due to the high occupancy during peak season it can be challenging to accommodate “early” arrival requests, but we do our best to have all guests settled by 400pm which is check in time. For those guests that aren’t able to check in “early” (prior to 400pm) we offer to park their vehicle and store luggage.
The hotel follows a routine maintenance schedule to ensure all rooms are in good condition, but occasionally walls are damaged by luggage and normal wear and tear. It is obvious that the hotel is in the process of fixing the damage noted in the photo as the drywall has been patched and paint needs to be applied. The alpine water has a high mineral content and does leave deposits on showers and tubs, but this is definitely not mold and the mineral deposits are removed regularly.
We value honest feedback and comments from our guests, but we do appreciate the opportunity to address these concerns during a guests stay. We cannot correct problems or provide a positive guest experience when we have not been informed of our shortfalls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I was nervous about staying here, but figured it was only one night and there are mixed reviews about this place and I found a good deal for it, but you definitely get what you pay for...

The thing nobody mentions in the reviews is that the hotel is located RIGHT above Buffalo Bills, a Whistler nightclub. And I don't mean that Bills is up the hill... I mean that it is in the same building, downstairs from the hotel rooms. My room was right above the bar and it was LOUD... the bass thumping until about 2am. Now that I've stayed there, I took another look through the other reviews - not only is the nightclub not mentioned, but the management response to one review glosses over the potential source of noise.

The management says "The Adara Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village, amidst the hustle and bustle of many restaurants and bars. On occasion the hotel guests may hear the buzz of activity and patrons of the local bars as they close at night."

Based on my personal experience, this is potentially misleading to the Adara's clients who read these reviews. While people on the street can be one source of noise for sure, when I stayed there it was raining the whole time so people in the village were not the issue. The issue was lack of soundproofing that resulted in being kept awake until about 2am.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goodto10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager4122, Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

We regret that this guest did not have an enjoyable stay. The hotel is located in the heart of Whistler village and like many hotels in Whistler, there are restaurants and a nightclub in the hotel. Many guests feel that this is part of the charm of Whistler, everything is centrally located and easily accessible. As I’m sure this guest can appreciate we respond to both positive and negative reviews honestly so that readers can make their own choice based on fact.
We have the commitment from the night club owners to help reduce any boisterous noise from their patrons as well as a serious investment in sound proofing and a restricted volume level has been established.
We strive to provide a positive guest experience to each and every guest and respect honest feedback, it is the only way we know the need for improvement on our services and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $97 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing