We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very noisy at night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel as a great location and has a nice tiny swimming pool. Other than that, it is not worth staying: we could not sleep all night because of the noise outside the hotel, and also inside. It was around midnight when young people started talking really loudly in the hallway and it lasted and lasted...It was cool during the night but be had to close all the windows and balcony door and turned AC on. AC is very old and noisy, so we had no proper sleep at all.
Last year I stayed in another hotel , 7 min drive from Whistler, and it was so much quieter there. Next time I will definitely prefer to stay in a hotel which is not so Whistler village centered.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LusciousFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, General Manager at Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. We feel one of our hotel's greatest aspects is it's location. We are very central but away from the main village stroll which has all the nightclubs and bars. Therefore we would hope that all of our guests have a peaceful nights sleep. We constantly maintain and inspect our AC and other room amenities so please rest assured that we have fixed the AC.

With regards to the guests talking loudly in the hall please know that we have a very strict check in policy with party groups and we try to enforce a no party policy. We are sorry that your nights sleep was interrupted.

If you do choose to stay with us again please call us directly and we can offer you the best rate at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
1  Thank Goforminitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely hotel, lovely clean room, comfy bed, lovely location, friendly helpful staff BUT the double glazing is extrmely thin and the drunken youth culture is alive and kicking in Whistler! They were shouting and screaming in the street until 5:00am so got no sleep. We stayed one night Sat 11th Jul - if you want quiet might be best to stay on the outskirts or ask for a room that doesn't overlook the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the street if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChantalMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
2  Thank MichaelSaw58
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Summit Lodge in July 2012. This hotel is a great choice if staying in Whistler. Rooms were big and bright, service was good and the location to all of Whistlers amenities was perfect. As whistler goes, this was an excellent value.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank wayanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Summit for a week during Spring Break & if you're traveling with children it's exactly where you want to be. The bus station is maybe 1 block away, the sushi restaurant next door is super yummy, with the grocery store nearby & a fully equipped kitchenette you can seriously get more bang for your buck! Family breakfast every morning & then pack up and head to the slopes. It's perfect for families traveling with children. The hotel staff was always helpful & courteous. Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed. Practical, beautiful, updated & comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went to Whistler for a 3 night short summer getaway and stayed at the Summit Lodge.

We have gone to the Akumal resort in Mexico in the summer every year for the past 6yrs, but this year we decided to go to Whistler with our son's suggestion for a change. We chose Summit Lodge for our lodging because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

This Lodge was situated in a very good location in the Whistler Village north, within walking distance to the heart of Whistler Village but far enough away from the noisy village area. The marketplace with the IGA, liquor store, and several restaurants was just a half block from the hotel. Parking in the basement is a bit of a challenge because of the tight space but as long as your car is not a big Van, it should be OK.

Early check-in was a breeze, and we had access to our room right away. Our 3rd floor room was not very big but spotless. It was a neat and quiet room with a pool view. There was a small clean kitchen equipped with the usual appliances and kitchen utensils. Good enough to make our breakfast every day for our stay. There was a small pool with a Jacuzzi & Sauna for enjoying the summer sun and relaxing. There was a fireplace in our room and we enjoyed it every night even in the middle of the summer. We loved that fireplace!

The front desk personnel are face of the hotel and they need more friendly attentions to your guests. The many guests were trying to use coffee machine at the lobby but it was out of order and your staffs knew it but there was not posted an “Out of order sign” almost 1 and ½ days. In our experiences, like this finer details are what makes or breaks the positive experience of our holiday at the hotel/resort.

We spent our time on both Whistler and Blackcomb Mountain hiking and enjoying the spectacular panoramic views from the mountain peaks. Young people were enjoying the summer skiing & snowboarding at the top of the mountains. We found tiny, beautiful wild flowers like Western Anemone, Mt. Heather on the trails and saw some wild animals like Hoary Marmots, Mt. Squirrels, Chipmunks, etc.

Whistler is more like Banff National Park without the hot-springs. You can enjoy hiking, golfing, ski/snowboarding, mountain biking, etc. You can even enjoy swimming in the nearby lakes in the summer.

There are many restaurants in Whistler Village and they charge the visitors 4/5-stars prices for lunch and dinner. However, the service was 3-stars at best and the food served was more like 2½ to 3-stars. The restaurant “La Bocca” in the heart of the Whistler Village served me Beef-ribs in a bowl (yes a “BOWL”!). This was the first time in my life I had to eat Beef-ribs from a bowl. Shame on them! We tried six restaurants in total during our 3 night stay and found only the “Earls” restaurant in Whistler Village had acceptable service, food and price for us.

Check-out from the hotel was one of the easiest I’ve ever experienced, just return the card keys, get my receipt and go. I printed out the “Free Parking Offer” coupon from the Tripadvisor website and Summit Lodge honoured it without any trouble. Without the coupon, it would have cost $20 per day for parking.

In conclusion, Great place to stay in Whistler! This Lodge was located within walking distance from the busy Whistler Village center, while at the same time being quiet during the night.

Room Tip: Ask your room higher floors & facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Junior9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#2 of 49 in Whistler
2,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel

Address: 4359 Main St, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Business Hotel in Whistler
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#8 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $141 - $999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quaint and quirky Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel in Whistler offers something that you'll be hard-pressed to find elsewhere in this award winning ski resort. Returning from your exhilarating day on the mountain to a deluxe hot chocolate happy hour, complimentary snowshoe rentals, and a few other secret surprises, Summit delights in spoiling all their guests. As well, you'll have an option to indulge in their in-house spa for an authentic Indonesian massage that promises to get your body prepped for your next day's adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lodge And Spa
Summit Hotel Whistler
Summit Whistler
Whistler Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing