We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty Sheets, Dogs Everywhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dirty Sheets, Dogs Everywhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were greeted in a lovely lobby by the front desk person, as if were were in a 5 star hotel, then.......arrived in our room. We had purchased a Living Social Escape package so the hotel probably saved their better rooms for their full paying customers. We were on the back corner of the hotel with a window view of other hotel roofs, and a patio with a view of another hotel.

The room was dated with mismatched furniture. It looked like they went to a garage sale to furnish the room. The walls were freshly painted, probably painted last year when the Olympics were held at Whistler. The television was very old. There was no iron, nor ironing board in the room, a feature that is generally standard in any hotel with three or more stars. The bathroom was small and dated. The patio was very dirty and patio chairs were so filthy that we couldn't sit on them.

Our package came with dinner at the hotel restaurant, Ric's Grill, and again, the service was good, but the quality poor. We were given three choices: sirloin steak, peppercorn steak strips with pasta, or salmon. When I asked to have a little bit of peppercorn sauce for my sirloin steak, the waiter said, "I have to charge you for that." He was clearly embarrassed to have charge for it, but obviously had to follow management decisions.

The worst part of the room was yet to come! When we went to climb into bed at 11 PM, we discovered that the sheets had not been changed on the bed. YUCK! I called the front desk and a man came to change the sheets. He found a hair on the bed, which I hadn't even seen! He was nice enough about changing them, but said very little other than," I will let the housekeeping staff know."

Lastly, if you are not a dog lover, this is not your hotel! There are dogs everywhere. We even had one in our room! He was a tiny terrier that crawled under the divider on the patio and came in our open door. If you are allergic to dogs, or would just rather not have them in your hotel room, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIan, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at the Crystal Lodge. Although it is our goal to exceed the expectations of 100% of our guests we know there is room for improvement and thanks to your comments actions plans will be put into place to improve our product for all future guests. Regarding the specifics of your review, unless specific room requests are made at the time of booking our rooms are assigned without any preference of promotion or channel you booked through. Judging from your review I have concluded that you were in a traditional hotel room type. Although these are our most popular rooms, our deluxe rooms & suites offer guests significantly more floor space, a larger and contemporary bathroom, LCD TV’s, and more contemporary furnishings. I would like the opportunity to speak to you regarding some of the other specifics mentions and hope that you can reach out to me at ilowe@crystal-lodge.com to discuss. Kind regards, Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    765
    204
    59
    32
See reviews for
758
965
113
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in Whistler for several days. We booked a "traditional room" which shows to be a nice looking room on their website. Don't be fooled. I felt like I was staying at one of those low end motel chains. The room was decorated like it was the 1970's. The overall appearance of the room, left me feeling grossed out. The TV is an old style tv which sits inside an old cabinet, the AC unit looked like it had seeing better days, the ledge around the window looked warped and peeling, the lamp in the room didn't even work, the art work, the carpet, the wall paper looked like it had been purchased from a garage sale like 20 years ago!! The only saving grace in the hotel...... location was great, staff was pleasant. Either pay more for a better hotel, or stay at a 2 star hotel. Although they say it was a 3 1/2 star hotel (the lobby is very nice and looks like a 3 1/2 star) However, the actual room felt like a 2 star hotel... so save your money,. or pay a little more for a better hotel.

Room Tip: Room is nothing like the picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvtotravel4fun00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIan, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Despite being pleased that you have recognized our high standard of guest service at the Crystal Lodge, we are disappointed that our Traditional Hotel room type did not meet your expectations. We have plans in place this fall to address a number of the items mentioned in your review. Kind Regards, Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel was awesome! There were 4 of us and we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. There was plenty of room for all of us. The hotel staff was very helpful and knowledgable. The room was very clean and quiet. Location was excellent as it was in the heart of Whistler Village. We would definitely recommend this to families or couples looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileys2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIan, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We are delighted to hear that you and your party enjoyed your stay in Whistler and your accommodations at the Crystal Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We loved our stay at the Crystal lodge. First the location was perfect, right in the heart of all the action. The best restaurants were minutes away. The grocerey store was minutes away, as well as the shopping was right out the front door.
The rooms are large and very well appointed. This was the 2nd time we brought our little dog Oscar and we felt the staff went out of their way to make all 3 of use welcome.
My wife and I look forward to returning again in 2012 and we highly recommend the Crystal lodge to others.

Thomas & Marcie

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIan, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thomas & Marcie, we are so pleased that all three of you had an enjoyable experience at the hotel. Being only seconds from the valley trail yet in the center of the village it is nice to hear that our four legged guests appreciate our location as much as our two-legged ones. Regards, Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very comfortable room and bed with fluffy robes to use. Got a deal on hotwire for 90 a night but then they hit you with a $22 parking fee. Recommend staying here or finding a b&B in pemberton

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIan, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Linda, we are pleased that you enjoyed your brief trip to Whistler and your stay at the Crystal Lodge. We hope you see you back the next time you are able to make it back to Whistler. Kind regards, Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

With so many places to stay in Whistler and it being summer and all we figured no problem with getting a room. HAH! Book ahead! We pulled into the village and started with the 1st place we saw. The front desk just laughed (seriously) at me! How rude! So on to the next and so on and so on....Finally we came to the Crystal Lodge and the front desk was polite and helpful. We got a king bed, very comfy, on the backside which had no view(we were told) but it is quiet which I would rather have anyway.Who stays in their room in Whistler other than to sleep anyway? The staff helped us out on the dining dilemma with a hand drawn map! I only have 2 things on the negative..our room was HOT the air control temp really should be lowered. I read others have commented on this fact as well.The other is the 22$ for parking. Yikes! I know that is pretty much customary for the area but it still hurts, the front desk was kind about it and said just because check out was 11 am we could leave the car until we were ready to go on Sunday( even though we didn't) and that helped take some of the sting out.But overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FisherGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIan, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you very much for your insight into your arrival experience to Whistler. As much as I am an ambassador for my own hotel, I am even more of an ambassador for the resort of Whistler thus embarrassed by how you were treated elsewhere before arriving at The Crystal. I am pleased that your experience here was to your standards and that our staff was able to assist you with your accommodations and activity/ dinner bookings. We hope that The Crystal will be your first stop in the resort on your next drive from Washington. Regards, Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for one night just as a stop off after leaving Vancouver and it was really just to have a wee look around Whistler (sadly it poured with rain the whole time!) but this hotel is ideally located in the Village and our room was nice if the bathroom was a little dated and in need of an upgrade. Pleasant enough stay.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vrabbit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIan, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review despite only being in Whistler for one day. It is a shame that mother nature was not more kind as Whistler offers some of the best mountain vistas in the world. You will be pleased to learn that we are in the process of updting our bathrooms in our traditional rooms in order to bring them to the high standards of our deluxe suites. Thank you, Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Lodge Hotel

Property: Crystal Lodge Hotel
Address: 4154 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#8 Business Hotel in Whistler
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#11 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Lodge & Suites offers an unbeatable location in Whistler village, with a wide variety of rooms, lofts & suites, shops, restaurants and amenities to suit your every need. Just steps away from both Whistler and Blackcomb gondolas. The Crystal offers the most retail shops and restaurants attached to any one hotel in Whistler. Starbucks, Roots, Lululemon, Beacon Pub & Eatery, Wild Wood Pacific Bistro, Basalt Wine & Salumeria, and CanSki, to name a few. As a guest you will enjoy the benefits and discounts with our exclusive Crystal Advantage program. In addition to our location, rooms and services, you can also enjoy our heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, award winning 4 star service, complimentary wireless internet, heated underground parking, complimentary ski and bike valet. Your perfect whistler experience "at the centre of it all." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Crystal Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Whistler
Crystal Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing