We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer dreams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams

Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River of Golden Dreams (RGD) canoe and kayak tour offered by Whistler Eco Tours (WET). The RGD has had canoes paddling down it since 1914. This is Whistler's original tour and is a can't miss when visiting Whistler. The river levels vary depending on the time of year due to snow melt, so please be prepared. Always best, safest and most informative to take a naturalist guide with you. WET offers Private Guided Tours, Guided Tours and for those who are experienced Self Guided Tours. You may take the journey in a canoe, kayak, double kayak or a SUP.We at strive on customer service and have the best trained and qualified guides, the best equipment and the best tour. The tour is 3 hours door to door with free Hotel pick up and drop off.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Summer dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just a perfect river to canoe down in the summer, gentle and winding through sun and shade. In a couple of places the water was so shallow that we had to jump out and push for a minute but that was not difficult.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Grahame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keenan M, Owner at Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments. The River is great fun all summer but the water levels decrease as the snow melts from Rainbow Mountain up above. The river runs high and fast earlier in the season. July in 2013 should be perfect levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“canoeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Canoeing
currently too low to be fun
At high water make sure that you portage around the railway bridge there isn't enough clearance to take a canoe under it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J_M8644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keenan M, Owner at Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
In October there may not be enough water left to paddle. In the early season, May and June yes there is a portage to get around a low railway bridge. We always advise to take one of our experienced guides to help you when the water is high. Always best to be safe so you can truly enjoy the River of Golden dreams without getting wet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“paddle happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thia would have been amazing but the water level was too low so we had to bump our canoe along! It was still fun though and the green lake is really green-in a good way!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LorGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keenan M, Owner at Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for the review. Yes the River does become quite low later in the summer. It is best to paddle a little earlier in the summer. Green Lake is a glacier fed lake with lots of silt on the bottom which reflects the sun causing the beautiful green colour you see when you have finished the river and paddle to our private beach at The Edgewater Activity Centre on Green Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not the most challenging or interesting canoe trip. The river is very narrow at times and views are restricted so there is not much wildlife to see. All in all a bit disappointing I've navigate much better rivers and there are a lot of other things to do in Whistler.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keenan M, Owner at Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your write up. The River Of Golden Dreams is not the fastest nor the most challenging river for an experienced paddler, though in high water around the end of June it can be. This river is one for a casual paddle with gorgeous mountain views. Great for families or people who are looking for a nice paddle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More Difficult than it Looks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having spent many summers in Whistler cycling, hiking and playing tennis, we finally took our family down the River of Golden Dreams. We had seen other canoeists meander down the river as we cycled along the bike path, and it always looked so relaxing - I envisioned enjoying a light picnic in our canoes with lots of scenic photo ops.

We went in early July last year. A very capable and knowledgeable rep from the rental agency gave us a 20 minute lecture about safety, what to expect (portages due to high river), and what to do in the event of a capsize. Hmmm...this should have been our first clue. Previous experience paddling on Lightening Lake in Manning Park made me feel confident that I could handle a J stroke on this river, so I took the stern in one canoe with my teenage son up front for power.

Alta lake was beautiful in the sunshine and the first part of the river was fine. The portages were challenging and I was thankful that my husband and son could handle hoisting the canoes in and out of the river and on and off the carts. We couldn't have done it without their strength. The river between portages was deceptively still on the surface with a very swift current below...and countless "S" curves. The canoe would be driven by the current into the far bank of a curve and into the bush/scrub and overhanging trees. My son and I had to work very hard to figure out how to use the current and our combined strength to manouver the canoe through the turns. No time at all for picnics or photos. We didn't capsize, but lost a pair of sunglasses and were tangled in the bushes several times. The current also drove us into river rafters and I got good at saying "Sorry", "Coming Thru!", "Novice Canoers!!" "LOOK OUT!!!".
Almost 3 hours later, we made it to Green Lake, covered in sweat, river water, and absolutely exhausted. No picnic, no photos, and if there was wildlife...who had time to notice?

If you are looking for an idylic, relaxing, nature-watching trip where the canoe is "gently guided by the current", this is not the trip for you. Be prepared to work hard and fend off branches, or time your paddle for when the river is not so high. Fortunately I enjoy a good workout, but was disappointed not to have experienced what I envisioned for our family outing on the "River of Golden Dreams".

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Azuredreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keenan M, Owner at Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your review. Whistler Eco Tours offers a Private Guided Tour where our experienced guide will be in your canoe with you. This way you can relax a bit more and enjoy the scenery. If you are still looking for some guidance but want the independence of being on your own in your own boat then a Guided Tour is best. The River of Golden Dreams changes levels as the snow melts so check with us to see how challenging it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams also viewed

 

Been to Whistler Eco Tours - River of Golden Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing