We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Whistler
Union bay,BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent 4 days skiing at the resort. Rooms were sub par for a 5 star resort. Old appliances dirty carpet and bathroom was antiquated and lots of dirt built up in shower stall. Was a very busy weekend and one elevator stayed broken for the duration, leaving disgruntled skiers in there ski boots and gear waiting to get up to there rooms on the top floors. For a hotel of that caliber it was not worth the top dollar prices we had to pay.

Room Tip: Check your room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastRevManager, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Alastair57,

Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your stay with us. It looks like your overall stay did not at all meet expectations and I am truly sorry that you encountered issues with our elevators and cleanliness. Being a 3.5 star property, the Coast Blackcomb Suites does take cleanliness very seriously; please contact me at brenta@coastblackcombsuites.com if you can so we can discuss the issues during your stay further.

Again, I am very sorry for your experience and our team has reviewed your feedback to ensure that this does not occur for anyone else.

Brent Arentsen
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    479
    173
    68
    36
See reviews for
504
365
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Overall, this hotel is above average. It is in the upper village area - a ski in/out. With a lot of snow, this would be a great ski in/out. We stayed May 1-3 and there is a 5' wide ribbon of snow that you use as the ski in/out -- very slushy in the afternoon, a bit dangerous to get back to your condo since it is so crowded. If the Wizard Express chair is running, you can catch download to the bottom of the chair but it is a steep 20 minute walk back up the hill to he condo.

Rooms are clean but a little small, secured parking is easy ($19/night now or $23/winter season), kitchen is a nice plus with the coffee maker and refrigerator. Free breakfast is included in the rate - boiled eggs (cold), yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, breads and pastries, and cold cereal. They also have a waffle maker - great!

Walls are a little thin - we could hear our neighbors as well as those upstairs of us. I asked for a non-pet room in my reservation and was accommodated -- it was nice that the request was noted.

Staff are friendly - very helpful if you need to make dining reservations or need assistance. Wifi was strong, but you do need to login every day to reconnect. With my ipad, that meant going to the Safari browser each time I left it for a period of longer than an hour - open the browser, reconnect, then I was good to go with the wifi.

Shuttle bus service to the village is only every 25-30 minutes. We drove down instead and parked in lot 4 - the free parking lot. A little far, a little inconvenient, but the village is great.

This was touted as a 4 star - that is not a true rating. It is great for families and a good ski in/out with snow but I wouldn't consider this a 4 star property as compared with the Greystone Lodge or Pan Pacific which is why I gave it 3 stars. Pricing was relatively inexpensive $113/night for a one bedroom suite for 2.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel - you can ask for a room that hasn't ever had a pet if you are conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catwoman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastRevManager, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Catwoman00,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you received our team's friendly service and that you were able to take advantage of our deluxe continental breakfast when staying with us.

I am happy to hear that you were able to get a good rate when staying with us as at the tail end of the ski season. The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler offers a fantastic ski in/ski out location throughout the season but as the snow starts to melt on the lower slopes, access diminishes accordingly.

Again, Thank you for sharing your experience and staying with us and everyone else on TripAdvisor.

Brent Arentsen
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Was our first visit to the area and couldn't ask for a better place...very clean, staff was amazing, absolutely loved the free continental breakfast which was included, it had a nice selecton and lots of choices. Free shuttle bus into the Village and back, makes it even more economical. Great ski in and out, swimming pool, hot tubs as well as a workout facility. Would definately tell all my friends to go stay there and i will be going back to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BG410_420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I and another couple have stayed in Whistler four years in a row, Wednesday through Sunday at the end of the Ski and Snowboard Festival. We were there from April 17-21, 2013. This was the second time we've stayed at the Coast Blackcomb Suites. The hotel is attractive, in a great location, and the staff has always been very responsive and friendly; we couldn't ask for better employees. The included continental breakfast is well balanced and plentiful. We were very pleased to see that the fitness areas (workout facility with treadmill, stationary bike, free weights, and other equipment), both hot tubs, and the swimming pool, were kept immaculately clean. The housekeeping staff did a great job looking after our room as well. It's a very family and pet friendly facility in a great ski-in, ski-out location. Public transportation on the free shuttle buses takes just under 10" to get to Whistler village. Nice facility at rates standard for the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great value - free breakfast. Ski right from the hotel down to the lifts.
It's a short walk to the Whistler Village right down the hill. You can take a free bus shuttle back to the hotel - it's the #5 bus which stops beside Whistler village.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Over the years, we have stayed in many hotels and condos in Whistler, but this has got to be the most lovely, practical accommodation we've seen in Whistler and is our new favorite. In fact, we've already booked to stay there next week when we go skiing again. It's beautiful, with spacious rooms, right on the hill, ski in/ski out. It's pet-friendly. We used the in-hotel ski rental service. The breakfast was great. The staff were kind and helpful. Can't say enough about the beautiful hot tubs and warm swimming pool, right on the hill. Excellent value for the dollar.

Room Tip: We liked the room with the view of the slope!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PirateSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Another great weekend at Whistler. This is our second stay at Coast Blackcomb Suites. The place is a great place to stay summer or winter. Skiing from the lodging is awesome. Included breakfast is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Ballardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.7 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#9 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 2,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#15 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 51 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#18 of 51 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delta Whistler Village Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Property: Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Address: 4899 Painted Cliff Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#18 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Blackcomb Suites is located ski-in, ski-out on Blackcomb Mountain, and offers a unique lodge-style setting. Complimentary continental breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and daily housekeeping are all included in your Coast Blackcomb Suites stay.Relax in the largest outdoor pool and hot tub of all Whistler hotels. Whether skiing in the winter, or golfing in the summer, our studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom hotel suites provide the ultimate in comfort and luxury for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Blackcomb Suites At Whistler Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing