We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great breakfast, great for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good value, great breakfast, great for families.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location if you are skiing, but a little far from the village if not.

The staff was great and quickly provided a high chair for duration of our stay when we inquired. The wall are a bit thin and you can hear people walking down the hall in ski boots, but the hotel was very quiet at night. Good-sized balconies and fully equipped kitchen made cooking easy. Also have a very good store off the lobby with many food staples.

The breakfast is a great value added service and the spread was beyond my expectations. Overall a very nice facility that I would return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    559
    193
    75
    41
See reviews for
577
434
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We've stayed at the Coast 4 times over the last 3 years and find it a decent priced option for ski in and ski out albeit with draw backs - the biggest being how far away from everything it is. While the ski in/ski out aspect is great, it is a long bus ride or 40 minute walk to get to downtown Whistler. The hotel itself is just okay - - - the rooms are decent, the pool and hot tubs work and there is a basic work out room but all the facilities are 5-8 years past their prime and the staff is variable - some are great, others are less than helpful. The breakfast is okay... but come early and don't expect much protein. For the money, its okay but there are better options on Blackcomb... while not ski in/ski out we reco the Club Intrawest as the go-to option.

Room Tip: During high season, get in line early for breakfast and snag a table in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleChris001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

If the Ritz is your style this hotel is not for you. It is for the average family that enjoys skiing and spending time together. We had a one bedroom suite with a complete kitchen: regular size refrigerator, m/w and stove. Large dining table. Our son had the sofabed living room with fireplace as his bedroom. We rearranged the living room/dining table and it worked great for the week and never looked messy.

This was our first time to Canada. Flew into Vancouver and Shuttled (Pacific Coast) to Whistler. It took the Shuttle almost four hours to get to our hotel. The shuttle stopped in Vancouver and then at every hotel in Whistler picking up and dropping off. Plus, the bus was old and not comfortable. We took a taxi to the airport and we will rent a car next time.

What is great about this place. ALL PERSONNEL WERE EXTREMELY NICE EVERYWHERE WE WENT.

DOG FRIENDLY. I loved seeing all dogs; even had dogs treats in the lobby. Not just small dogs, all sizes. Our room had a sign, if you need dog bowls call the office.

Breakfast is included with room, did not need anything else. Our rental skis and lift tickets were waiting for us at the hotel. In the morning just go downstairs in your ski boots, grab your skis walk less than one minute outside, put on your skis and ski down to the lift.

Hots Tubs (two), heated pool and fitness room. Not to mention the hotel is just a beautiful structure that blends into the mountains and trees.

Shuttle to Village: FREE. Easy. Very easy. Seven minutes down to Whistler Village.

Village: Whistler Village was home to the 2010 Olympics. It is the nicest Ski Village we have visited. Large, many shops, restaurants, and a great playground for the kids.

Oh yes the Skiing? Well, we probably will not ski anywhere else. These mountains: Blackcomb and Whistler has something for everyone.

Kids: A dream come true; whoever designed this location must have had a lot of kids. It is the most kid friendly place I have ever skied. Large enough that adults need not worry about them getting in their way.

Room Tip: We were Not Slope side, our room was 143 which was the bottom level. We had to go up one level to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently returned from an early April spring skiing stay. Here are some tips we learned that might help if you plan on visiting.

Ski-in/Ski-out - This is best served if you plan on staying around Blackcomb. However if you want to ski Whistler it's quicker to take the shuttle down to the Whistler Gondola in the village. Otherwise you'll have to take 2 chair lifts and the Peak to Peak gondola.

Breakfast - While the continental breakfast is okay it can get quite crowded. They could use a few more waffle grills. Plates and utensils go quickly. Consider bringing your own plate down, load up and eat in your room. Busy times seem to start after 7:45am and the dining area is small.

Dining - Consider having food delivered to the hotel to avoid waiting in lines, shuttle schedules and walking about. While in the village stop by some of restaurants to see if they deliver. Many families ordered pizza and ate in the dining area of the hotel. It's also cheaper.

#5 Upper Village Shuttle Bus - Not sure how they operate during the peak winter months but their schedule is unpredictable. Picking up at the hotel was fine. Picking up in the village was awful. They do not follow the scheduled times. The worst part is having buses come around displaying "Out of Service" while parking across the lot. With families waiting they would suddenly light up saying "5 - Upper Village" and come over. This is after waiting in the cold 30 to 40 minutes! To add to the horror you can only pick up the #5 at the far end of the village near the Whistler Gondola. So after walking around the village you have to walk all the way back!

Lunch on the Mountain - You can find cold sandwiches labeled "Day Old Special" for about $4.50 if you want to save some money. There's a good selection and they taste just fine. Fresh sandwiches are double the price. Otherwise two slices of pizza, one bowl of chili and two sodas can cost $30! Pack your own if you can!

Fresh Tracks Breakfast Buffet - If you plan of doing this consider taking a cab/van for about $10. The hotel will tell you to walk across the trail and ski down. However, it's a bit confusing and walking in snow with ski boots carrying equipment was dreadful. Take a cab! Also see if there's a limitation on seating. It's located in the Roundhouse Lodge and it's not very big. Leave early as the folks in the village will easily line up before you.

Barbecue - If you plan on doing this be sure to reserve a time (as there's only one) and make sure it works. We planned on using it but we discovered it was broke.

Walking to the Village - I've "heard" it's about 20 minutes to walk down to the few restaurants at the base lodge area. However, this is not in the village. You have to walk a bit further down. Also there's no walkway from the hotel. You have to walk in snow or mud to get down or up. Unless your a fitness guru take the shuttle.

Apres Ski/Whistler Village - Typical ski village. Lots of stores, bars and restaurants. If you plan on dining and don't like to wait plan on visiting before 5pm. Otherwise you will wait and wait. Not sure about reservations. Consider other restaurants that are not trendy. Walk around. There are lots of hiding places for good restaurants. See our reviews on this.

Groceries - Since all the rooms at the Coast have kitchens (as far as I know) you can purchase groceries in the village. There are a few places you can easily walk to. As for prices I didn't really see that much of a difference from the supermarket in Squamish. If you plan on purchasing a lot it might be best to do that in Squamish so you can have it with you when you check in. You might save a little depending on what you buy. The Coast has a little store located next to the front desk for simple things like eggs, bacon, milk, etc. I'm not sure how much they cost.

Overall - Our stay was pleasant and staff was very friendly. The hot tub and pool were nice. The gym looked okay although we didn't use it. Dropping off the skis at the ski shop was convenient. The only problem we eventually had was the location. The hotel is in the Upper Village which is a bit far from all the stores and restaurants. After a long day of skiing and dining in the village it's a bit disappointing you can't simply walk to your hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcmwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Coast for two nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was nice and clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. This hotel has free wi-fi but the signal was too weak in our room to be useful. The free breakfast is a very good added value and can be very busy at times.The staff is very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 437. it is located right above the entrance and you can hear the sliding doors o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank BenYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights before Easter and enjoyed our stay quite a lot. We had booked a kingbed-suite for 4 (three adults, one teenager), so two of us had to sleep on the sofa-bed, which was a little creaky. We only had two bathrobes at first, but when we asked for two more, they were supplied immediately.
The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of different foods, so everyone will find something to their taste. At certain times, it can be a little crowded though, but you can always take your breakfast up to your room.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Safe deposit boxes are available at reception. The free shuttle service into the village, which runs every 10 to 15 minutes, is very convenient because this hotel is very remote and it would take very long to walk to the village and (especially) back.
Ski equipment can be rented directly at the hotel, and skis can also be deposited at the rental place when you bring your own equipment.
The only downside is that the walls and ceilings of the hotel seem to be paper-thin. You can hear children running through the hallway at the crack of dawn or grown-ups coming back late at night, and there is also the occasional dog barking in the middle of the night.
All in all, we would always stay at the Coast Blackcomb Suites again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeVee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This property is the perfect place if you want a ski in/out accommodation. Access to the main village is so easy via the free bus service or by skiing the right trails. I can't imagine a better place for the price for a family to ski and stay. I will look, but probably not stay in another hotel at whistler.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptlattitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Property: Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Address: 4899 Painted Cliff Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#18 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Blackcomb Suites is located ski-in, ski-out on Blackcomb Mountain, and offers a unique lodge-style setting. Complimentary continental breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and daily housekeeping are all included in your Coast Blackcomb Suites stay.Relax in the largest outdoor pool and hot tub of all Whistler hotels. Whether skiing in the winter, or golfing in the summer, our studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom hotel suites provide the ultimate in comfort and luxury for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Blackcomb Suites At Whistler Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing