We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Table 19 Restaurant...hit and miss” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicklaus North Golf Course

Nicklaus North Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This par 71, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Design course winds along a gentle valley floor offering you a spectacular setting as your golfing skills are tested to the fullest. Located in the resort town of Whistler with stunning views of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, Nicklaus North stands out as one of the great courses in North America and is one of a few rare golf courses in the world bearing Jack Nicklaus' name.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
259 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Table 19 Restaurant...hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The food is good, the service not so much. Have been here over the years, then name changes often, the view is always spectacular! Makes up for the service...turtle pace!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    16
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great course. Spectacular views including Green Lake. A floatplane landed right behind us in the lake. Beautiful clubhouse and dining area overlooking the lake. Good pace of play. Very women friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LCXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

A group of 12 of us were in Whistler for 3 days and played all 3 courses. I was playing with a bad back so admittedly was a little slow. The the golf cart GPS system was giving us distances as much as 20 yards inaccurate causing at least 3 wrong club selections leading to lost balls before we figured out it couldn't be trusted. After about 5 holes we were a hole and a half behind the group in front of us. At that point the player assistant spoke to us telling us the manager said if we didn't catch up quickly we would have to skip a hole. I found this an extremely aggressive message for a first warning. Our group are all experienced enough golfers to know we are expected to keep up. A friendly reminder would have been welcomed but we came to play 18 holes so be threatened like that without a warning or asking why we were slow really put a damper on the day. We did our best to speed up and eventually did catch up to group in front in the mean time had a second threat, from the manager delivered by the players assistant that we would have to skip a hole. The best part of the day was the cart girl Pamela. She almost made up for the jerk of a manager who put a serious damper on our day. We were not impressed so rather than spend our $1000 of post game food and drink at the golf course we spent it in the village. I don't believe in rewarding that kind of guest service with additional business. Next time I golf in Whistler it will be at The Chateau course. Much better course and everyone there was nice to us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bodoskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike Z, Manager at Nicklaus North Golf Course, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Bodoskier,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Nicklaus North Golf Course. Firstly, I apologise for the aggressive manner you feel you were treated with, we train our Players Assistants to work with groups to ensure all of our guests enjoy a reasonable pace of play, and threatening to move a group is not our protocol. If you would be so kind as to provide me the date of play, I will be sure to use this information to allow us to train our team more effectively.

As for the GPS, our system is new this year and we are constantly looking for feedback on the system and doing our best to update information on an as needed basis.

Please feel free to contact me at asmart@golfbc.com should you wish to discuss further.

Regards

Andrew Smart
Director of Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hire clubs were new Taylor Made, the only complaint we were a 2 ball and they put us behind a 4 ball so we were waiting on every shot.
Jim Mc

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular Golf Course and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The scenery here will take your breath away. Some of the most majestic holes you've ever seen. You'll never forget this experience. The restaurant is amazing. Incredible cuisine and the nicest staff I've ever encountered. Nicklaus North is first class all the way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dewey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZ6868, Manager at Nicklaus North Golf Course, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you dewey25 for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate your kind words and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We are blessed with a great location (course and restaurant) and hearing/reading these comments help give our entire Team positive reinforcement that we are doing a good job and exceeding many guest's expectations. Thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Nicklaus North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicklaus North Golf Course also viewed

 
Pemberton, British Columbia
Pemberton, British Columbia
 

Been to Nicklaus North Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing