We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great skiing terrain with the right weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Mountain

Rainbow Mountain
Ranked #54 of 92 things to do in Whistler
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tired of fighting the crowds at ski resorts? This snow-covered mountain is so isolated, you'll need a helicopter to get there.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great skiing terrain with the right weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rainbow is the broad peak directly North of Whitler Blackcomb ski resort. In winter, it can be accessed from two different trails but only by very fit and determined backcountry skiers. Snowmobiles can also access and play in the lower areas East of the mountain, and different helicopter services will take you to the top for a surprisingly reasonable charge (it is just behind the Whistler heli port). I recommend Blackcomb aviation every time for their skilled staff, reliable service and reasonable rates and policies. Be sure you know the avalanche and weather conditions before trekking up to this mountain, it's alpine areas can be very dangerous in low light or unstable snow!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Long but very rewarding hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rainbow mountains hidden gem is rainbow lake. it's at the top of rainbow mountain. This lake is the mail source of drinking water for Whistler.
This is by far one of the best and most rewarding hikes in Whistler. It's an all day hike - if you're doing it mid summer you'll have plenty of daylight to work with. I started off about 9.30am. We got down at 8pm. My friend and I did stop plenty of times along the way to take photos and for lunch etc. We also continued on to hanging lake - around the back of the lake and over the next ridge. We allowed 1 1/2 hours for this. The hike it's self is quite vertical in some parts. The trail the majority of the way up is in great condition - only a few broken planks to walk over. The last 3rd has some great boardwalks over some marshland.

We encountered a bear on the trail so use caution as always. Cougars have recently been spotted in this area also.

Hanging lake has a campground also which is worth a nights stay. There were rest rooms about 1/2 way up the hike to rainbow lake from the ground level and one at the lake. Use common sense when not using the restroom - dont go close to streams or the lake.

Lost of wildlife around the lakes too. Birds and marmots on the far side of the lake amongst the rocks. A deer or two lower mountain.

I uploaded a couple of photos for you to see but you'll have to do the hike to see more :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 1123410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice trail with views over to Whistler mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

A long trail but the lake is fantastic. Being in the alpine is great in Whistler..

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank 450sarahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The top of Whistler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We took a flight to the top of this mountain. The view went on for miles! We were in the clouds and walking on untouched snow! Great experience! Cold!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Xraykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Mountain also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Rainbow Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing