We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski trip to Whistler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ski trip to Whistler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Long weekend with family. Enjoyed every minute. Holiday crowds in hotel and on lift lines were tolerable, even at peak times. Concierge service was outstanding before and during stay. Mountain view room view was OK.. Not worth upgrade since we spent most time out of room and clouded in most of other times. Ski valet ($8 per pair per night) was nice but should be included for guests. Valet for car ($34+ per day) was not worth it especially since we did not use the car during stay. Pool was small and didn't 'feel clean'... Way too much chlorine! Location in village was very good ... <1minute walk...far enough away that noise was not an issue. Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Small but adequate kitchen. Not much from for family with lots of stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    603
    215
    80
    61
See reviews for
659
634
66
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is not the Four Seasons that is close by but it is a much lower priced option that gives you quick access to the village and the gondola at Whistler. The staff was polite and helpful the rooms are nice sized and attractive. I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite with a nice view. It was secluded and quiet. The bathroom was nicely done and modern. The restaurant has a nice breakfast buffet and the bar is a fun place to hang out before dinner with live music during the evening. The hotel sits right inside the village making it easy to walk to the shops and restaurants. The gondola is a two minute walk out the door and the hotel provides a ski valet for a fee. The spa is not exceptional but I've found that to be true at most ski resorts. They have an indoor/outdoor pool and both indoor and outdoor whirlpools. The gym is nice and looks right out onto the outdoor whirlpools which makes it a little uncomfortable for the people soaking in them. Overall, this is a great hotel for the price and its location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hallways will be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Every staff member we dealt with was very friendly and helpful. They all seemed sincerly happy to see you. Even staff you would pass in the hall would stop to say hello and wish you a good day. We used our Starwood points, so that made it great value, but we were still treated to great, friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stripesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was very nice & clean & the cooking facilities were excellent in the rooms. It was not a long walk from the hotel to the lifts as there was no snow in the village therefore could not ski in ski out. We hired our skis from a different company as reading Westins details we thought we had to pay $8 a day per person to store the skis in the hotel on top of the hire price but we think now it is only if you do not hire skis form them.However the ski rental company we used was very good (Affinity). There are plenty restaurants, pubs, bistros for all the family, some a bit pricey but that's Canada. Will certainly be back to Whistler & The Westin

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the slopes. As if ,like me, you get injured al least you can watch the sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall a great choice for Whistler - right in the village.

Pros:
- Location - easy walk to lower Village and nice stroll to upper Village
- Great staff - super helpful - found a fabulous running guide for me Black Diamond Fitness
- Large rooms w/ fireplaces and little kitchens
- Dog friendly! And I mean friendly - they were loving our on 60 lb Golden Retriever

Cons:
- Spa - less than average service that was expensive - with tip included on the front end
- Slow service in restaurant and bar - way under staffed for the amount of guests on multiple occasions
- Fine dining restaurant is awkward and totally open - feel like a lobby

Room Tip: Some rooms are timeshare ownership and seem to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our 8th trip to Whistler and first time at The Westin. Perfect position, ski in ski out, great Ski valet service, I felt almost embarrassed to hand my ski's to the staff at the bottom of the slope every night! The hotel spa was excellent too. Rooms comfortable, cleaned daily and plenty of room. Staff were helpful and the restaurant though a little pricey provided excellent food and a very good vegetarian selection. Its easy to knock Whistler but its still the best ski resort around for me and I will be staying at the Westin again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJones9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our first visit to Whistler so lets start from the beginning:

The trip was organised by Select Ski, an operator we have used before and who I cannot recommend highly enough. Janine Nathan, who heads up the company, can organise everything at prices lower than you can arrange yourself online but tailored to your own individual needs and wishes, including very short notice purchase of BC league ice hockey match tickets in Vancouver for five members of our party who just fancied a different experience. If you want to ski North America save yourself a whole lot of hassle and let this company do it all for you.

Flights are flights but at least we had a choice of carriers, either Air Canada or BA.

Private transfers from Vancouver to Whistler recommended and avoided any delays/hanging around airports when tired from travelling.

Arrival at the Westin: First impressions, nice lobby, helpful staff, concise and useful information and rapid access to the room. We stayed in a two bedroom connecting suite being a family of five and it was perfect, comprising of two units with a connecting door between them. You therefore get two entrances, two full bathrooms, one room with a really comfortable massive bed, a two ring hob, full oven, microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher and pull out sofa bed. The other area has the same kitchen facilities and lounge but also has a small dining table which easily sits five, the pull out in a separate lounge area, a small balcony and a double bedroom just off.

We managed to cook full Sunday roasts, steak dinners and all our breakfasts with no problems at all. Daily housekeeping, provided by Emily was courteous, friendly and efficient and a real bonus to the trip and as far as I could see the staff timed their service to when you were out.

The pool was great and our kids really enjoyed it and the gym was small but well equipped. Sauna and steam rooms nice but only one outside hot tub-possibly the only negative comment for this hotel.

Restaurant really good with a nice atmosphere but eclipsed by the bar which gives great service, really good food in a laid back but still quite upmarket atmosphere. The valet ski service is phenomenal meaning that if you're a 'valet dad' like me then all your work is done for you. Also linked to the ski rental outlet meaning no walking around picking up/switching out gear.

I bought my wife and daughter a massage in the spa for St. Valentine's day and they both said that it was the best treatment they'd ever received.

More mundanely there is a laundry on every floor and free shuttle to any where in Whistler to get groceries etc.

Bottom line: great location, very convenient rental, valet ski service, very nice shared areas, great rooms and superb customer service. More expensive than some other locations but very much worth it and comes in at great value for a family skiing together.

Room Tip: Double Deluxe suite is as described and actually two connecting units. We found it great for a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seandwyer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort and Spa, Whistler for your ski vacation. It truly was a delight to read your review and share this valuable feedback with my team. We appreciate your comments for our hardworking staff and for personally acknowledging Emily for her caring and helpful demeanor. Thank you for sharing such a detailed review highlighting all that our hotel has to offer to guest looking for a relaxing getaway. We will be sure to share this review with all our associates and congratulate them all for exceeding your expectations and creating a loyal guest. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing